We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third visit at Palm Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Houston
Level Contributor
186 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Third visit at Palm Bay”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

We wouldn't have come back if it wasn't worth it! We stayed in unit 37 (townhouse) again and everything was as expected. Bev is great at communicating prior to arrival and Mike and Sandi (owners of #37 found on homeaway) are awesome to deal with.
For us, Palm Bay is perfect. We like having a full kitchen (including dishwasher), full size washer and dryer, two and one half baths, balcony, wifi, etc. The biggest factors are always being able to keep a boat moored/docked right outside our rooms, having the shuttle into town and of course being right on the beach and overlooking the water. Onsite restuarant (Splash) is an added bonus and very convenient with great food (LOVE the conch fritters and sandwiches are great)
Car rental is across the street, additional great restuarants within walking distance, nice snorkling right off the beach and beautiful beach (Jolly Hall) around the corner.
Are there 'nicer' places? Sure. Are there less expensive places? Of course. Are there better locations? Doubt it! On an island like Exuma, we look for convenience, comfort and ammenities and Palm Bay always hits the mark!
We travel with our daughters and they usually bring a friend or two.
Have any questions, feel free to ask!

Room Tip: There are lots of choices but if going to Exuma, you gotta stay close to the beach or water. Traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    177
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
151
246
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

We just gpt back from Palm Bay and had a very good experience.

when we checked in the owner was up front and was very nice. He even walked us to our room. bHis daughter, Beverly, is awesome- so very friendly and HELPFUL! i emailed her many times beofre the trip and she waas so helpful, she even helped me get my car rental. They allowed us to check in early, which was helpful! The rooms are very nice- one bedroom and a sitting room/kitchenette with couch. Everything is very clean and comfortable. There is a small plastic table with chair that was nice to sit out on at night. We got a room on the water- which is 100% worth the money!
The view is gorgeous and they have kayaks for the guests to enjoy.

We ate in the hotel restaurant probbaly 4 times and I have to say, this was the one bad spot in our experience. The waitress' were not nice, almost surly in fact. Of those 4 times, I had one pleasant echange with the servers. I was a waitress myself, so I do know it is a hard job when you are slammed with lots of tables...but there were MAX- 2 other tables. They were not overtly rude- just pretty short with us. I also got this a few times at the front desk( NOT from Beverly!)

Anyway- Great place to stay- would not highly recomend Splash ( the restaurant )

Room Tip: Choose a room on the water!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gracie007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

The owners were so friendly and we had an oceanfront villa which was way to go. Had coffee on private patio in am and drinks there at night. Great to have free shuttle service every two hours to Georgetown. Location is great as close to fish fry shacks (can walk). Right on beach. 5 minute walk to one of the best swimming beaches on island as protected. Rooms were very clean and nice. Bar is nice to have if don't feel like cooking a meal in villa. Can tie up a boat right in front of place which is also huge bonus. Overall awesome experience and we miss it.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

First week of March 2012: we booked a 2 bedrooms appartment-Pineaple 36. That was great, 2 bedrooms and 2 batchroom on the first floor and kitchen, living room and washer/dryer on the second floor with balcony with direct view on the Ocean. The appartment was very well organized. Unfortunately, the weather was not with us and as we came to dive, we cannot do it for few days, my husband did only few dives. Renting a car is a must on this island, the hotel is very closed of Georgetown so it's very easy to drive there in few minutes. We went to wild beach (clear water, perfect white sand and nobody on the beach, that was great). We will come back to Bahamas and problably Exuma that for sure.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtraveler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 March 2012

The Hideaways, the beaches, the water, the people, the island - the most wonderful vacation ever! The weather was glorious, the gentle ocean breezes blowing thru the open windows, hearing the waves lapping on the shore at night - it doesn't get any better than this. We will be back! Such a wonderful island. The people are as impressive as the scenery!!

Room Tip: Room right on the beach are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Staff is SO nice and helpful. Rooms across road have issues-- noisy and a bit grim. Kitchens poorly equipped. Seaside bungalows seem the way to go. Food is just terrible in restaurant DO NOT EAT THERE. Breakfast however is very good. A shame the son in law is running eatery-- seems he knows little. It could be a real gem in Exuma.

Good beds-
Great location, clean, good shuttle to town- also an easy walk. TERRIBLE-- hear us- TERRIBLE internet service. HAs got to be improved before we could ever return

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rocko44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My family and I go to the Island of Exuma every year and every time we go we stay at Palm Bay! Palm Bay is very special to me not only did my husband purpose to me there but we actually got married at Palm Bay as well! We just got back from a 10 day stay and it was amazing as always! The resort is beautiful it's a great place to go and relax, my children had a fantastic time in the pool and on the beach! The staff is very friendly and accomidating, they work really hard to make sure your stay is perfect! I love the fact that villa's have kitchens so we have the option to cook in our rooms, if your not in the mood to cook they also have a beach bar that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner! I can't wait to go again next year to stay at Palm Bay and visit the beautiful Island of Exuma!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kassie_m31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
173 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
297 reviews
8.1 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing