We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't always get what you want!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“You don't always get what you want!”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

#1 - We booked our cabin six months ahead of time - a specific cabin based on the recommendation of the manager on the phone. It had everything we wanted, was the closest one to the ocean and we were very excited about out first Caribbean vacation. We looked up picture others had posted of the cabin and sent them to each other on high stress days. The number of the cabin became our lucky number and secret code. Imagine our disappointment when we showed up after a very loooong day of travel to fine that the cabin had been given to someone else the day before to solve a booking problem they had. They gave us another cabin - very nice but just not quite the same. After all the anticipation, it was a really big deal to us that we got the cabin we had booked and been promised. We were given a terse apology and nothing else. We tried to make the best of it but never really got over it.

#2 - Also - where the beach? I thought there'd be beach chairs on pristine white sand with ready drinks being offered. You had to drag a chair from the pool and place it on a very narrow piece of sand. We were told to walk about 300 yards down to another beach that was beautiful. Oh and don't forget to take everything you need because there's nothing there.

#3 - The staff at the bar was about as friendly as a cop giving you a ticket and slow on top of that. I expected the prices to be high, but with that I also expected service staff to act like they were glad to have us. I was told it was the Bahamian way. Everywhere else we went, in town, at the resort nest door, or across the bay - people were fabulous.

We will never go back to Exuma. I hear Nassau is pretty nice! :-)

Room Tip: It won't matter what you ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DL5578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    287
    173
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
148
246
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chastings9010
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week in the two story, two bedroom villa (unit 38) which we rented directly from the owner via homeaway. We had stayed there twice before and love it. Please see my review from several years ago for details about grocery stores, car rental, etc. The hotel has worked out the details with the privately owned villas so we were welcome to use resort facilities and even maintained a tab at the restaurant that we settled at the end of the stay. The location is perfect and there are moorings in the bay by the hotel, so you can rent a boat at Minns and be at Stocking Island beaches, St Francis for lunch, or Chat n Chill in minutes! We will continue to view Palm Bay as our home away from home in the Exumas!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chastings9010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nassau, New Providence Island
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Had a great time at Hideaways this week on a two-day trip to Exuma with some friends. The rooms were bigger than expected and the open concept kitchen and living room area were superb. Not to mention the outside porch where one could sit and have a meal while enjoying the beautiful scenery of flowers and trees on the property was a great option to have. I only take issue with the complimentary wi-fi not being strong enough in the apartment. The wi-fi signal was terribly weak and I could not connect sometimes on my netbook and when I could I still was unable to browse with any real success. To conquer this problem I recommend the hotel getting wi-fi signal boosters that can easily be plugged into the walls. This would eliminate the need for guests to go into the main lobby at the front desk to use the computers away from the convenience of being in their apartment rooms. Other than the wi-fi complaint everything else was great and I HIGHLY recommend Hideaways as the hotel truly went out of its way to make our stay enjoyable.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get a ground apartment if you don't like walking upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexx79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We have just returned from a week long stay at Hideaways! What a lovely place, The owners and the staff were all very friendly, informative and helpful. We have stayed in Oceanside 2 bedroom villa and had enjoyed it very much. Very clean, spacious, with 2 full bathrooms and the powder room, full kitchen, dining room and the living room. The balcony overlooking the ocean was wonderful place to be and relax listening to the waves.
The location is the best. Close to Georgetown and also not far from the airport, around 10 min drive. The hotel beach is nice, but we have discovered, just around the corner, wonderful Jolly Hall Beach, about a km long, and with hardly ever anyone there. The water was calm and the sand very soft. Shuttle service to town was a great feature, It goes a few times a day. Good way to get to the grocery store or even to the taxi boat that goes to Stocking island. The hotel has many accommodation categories and they are all wonderful> We have stayed on the ocean side and while you are close to the water and the beach, hill side is just across the street and has as comfortable accommodation but also spectacular views. So whatever fits your budget and the group you will enjoy it.
It is not an all inclusive so you have to prepare your food or visit some of the local restaurants. Splash is a great place to grab local specialty, drink, and pizza. But since we had a full kitchen we have cooked most of our meals. Some fresh food you can get from Exuma Market, but some of the dry food we brought from home. We loved Exuma, as the holiday destination since we love beaches, low key places and we enjoy meeting local people vs staying in big resorts.
Hideaway was such a great place to spend that long waited week of our family vacation and we will be back!

Room Tip: It is a good idea to rent a car and explore the island. We loved Little Exuma and enjoyed visiting M...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DandKMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierras, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I rented an oceanfront cottage at the beginning of June 2013. These cottages are lovely, spacious and have GREAT views. I also took advantage of the hotel's free shuttle to town, which is great if you don't wish to rent a car or take expensive taxis. Another plus of the location: In addition to the onsite restaurant, there are two bars and restaurants just next door. Hit Frankie Bananas' happy hour on Friday night for the free appetizers and discounted beers! Most of the staff at Hideaways are very nice, but the one exception is the front desk receptionist. She is abrupt, bordering rude. She knows her job, but needs to be friendlier and more helpful. Loved the slow island vibe of Exuma!

Room Tip: I stayed in the #10 cottage and #14. Both were lovely and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kaiwahini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I was just at Hideaways at Palm Bay First week in June .Right from arriving all the staff were pleasant very helpful, polite and go the extra to help out and provide anything you need or if it isnt right the owners will make it right which was nice because I locked myself out of my room at some unusual times but service came right away to let me in. Even when I could not open my room safe on my departure day I was told not to panic one phone call to the mangers had it taken care of within an hour told me dont worry about my misfortunes. The staff get to know you by your name, where your from and a good morning. Your just not a room number. My hillside room was more than I asked for or expected a nice view, clean one bedroom suite with full kitchen, living room and cold AC. Shuttle convieniant to Georgetown for groceries, meals,or dock to meet the water taxi. Tried some local flavor foods at different places were all good and at the Fish Shacks down the road great on a Sunday. Splash Bar N Restaurant was good food $20 bucket of cold beer nice. Pool tournament great way meet who is staying there also.Diving was all arranged thru Exuma Dive they have a nice big modern boat and was well run.If want all the benefits of all inclusive high end resort go to Sandals. If you a family run atmosphere, personal service and a great location with lots to see and do they will arrange it for you.Or just relax its that easy. Car rental nice if you want go Island exploring. Its was quiet there and so many nice beaches everywhere.Thanks to everyone at Palm Bay for making my first trip Exuma a pleasant one. Will return again.

Room Tip: Hillside nice views, or take a beach side villa if you want be close to water n Splash Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sportdiver15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jupiter, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

We rented an oceanfront villa which is not technically the hotel. So I can't comment on the hotel rooms. Our villa, which is owned and maintained by private owners, was awesome. We were supposed to be able to share the community amenities with Hideaway. We asked at the front desk about a free shuttle to Georgetown and the front desk lady said we weren't allowed to use it. I went in a few times to ask about other things, and she was not the friendliest. She would stare at the desk when we walked in.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank akaye2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#1 of 1 in Stocking Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
8.1 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#5 of 6 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 2 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing