We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Lovely”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Southwest
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really Lovely”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a 2-bedroom, 2 bath that was relaxing, spacious and convenient.
Restaurant is solid. Anita's Splash, which is a fruity drink, is highly recommended.
Enjoyed use of kayaks as well as really convenient shuttle to town.
Excellent, helpful staff.
You would probably figure this out on your own, but the beach that is a short walk to the left of the property (as you face the water) is amazing.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakshmi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your vacation at Hideaways Exuma.

We are glad to hear that we were able to fulfill your expectations .We will share your wonderful comments with team as we are certain that they will be glad to read such remarkable notes.


We can not wait to welcome you again to Hideaways Exuma, Bahamas

Best Regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma, Bahamas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    178
    51
    25
    11
See reviews for
157
254
25
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linkoping, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

I had a room on hillside and that suited me well. If you just want to relax and not be disturbed I think hillside is the way to go, drawback is that WiFi might not work there. The room was clean, good bed, bathtub and shower were fresh. The pool was clean and had perfect temperature (for me at least). The bar/restaurant is maybe not great but I had seafood pizza and beer there and I think that was quite ok.

There was a free shuttle bus to/from George Town, really good if you don't want to rent a car. Only drawback might be that the beach at the resort is not great, but didn't matter too much to me, there are plenty of that in the Exumas anyway :)

Would stay there again, and I probably will :)

Room Tip: Hillside was great for me.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjorn78_2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear guest,

First of all, thank you for share your feedback with us and the community of TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you enjoyed our service and facilities.

Thank you for the comment on the wi-fi. The complimentary wi-fi system covers the public areas of the property (e.g. lobby, restaurant, swimming pools, beach side, etc.) We now offer Hot Spots for in-room wireless internet. (a fee applies for this service).

Again, thank you for choosing Hideaways Exuma as your home away from home. Please, be assured that I will share your comments with our staff & management. We hope to see you back on your next vacation.

Best regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We booked this hotel through Expedia and didn't realize that the room that was booked was on the other side of the street, and up a hill so be sure you know what you are booking. There are tons of different buildings, as well as cute little huts on the beach. Even though we were a short walk from the beach and pool(only a few minutes) we still absolutely loved our stay here. I couldn't believe how wonderful everyone on the while island was!

The hotel has a bar/restaurant which is open until 11pm. There are also two hotels with bars and restaurants right next door. One of them, named Lattitudes, had great food. Another plus is we rented a boat for a few days and The Hideaways is one of the few hotels that lets you moor your boat overnight. The beach is also beautiful. Definitely one of the best vacations yet! I also recommend the 4 C's tour, It was the highlight of our trip.You get to swim with pigs, hang with iguanas, swim with sharks, and snorkel. Also stocking island was a lot of fun!

Room Tip: Be careful when booking a room. Expedia put us in a room across the street, away from the beach. Sti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Shari D,

We truly appreciate your review, it is really nice, and makes feel very proud of our entire staff!. Our top priority is to offer an exceptional service to each of our guest and it is very satisfying to read that this was your case.

We are happy that you utilized the overnight mooring for your rental boat and that you found it very convenient.

We no long offer any hillside rooms on Expedia and other online travel companies, so there will not be any mistakes in the future.

It would be an honor to have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma, Bahamas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As we entered the Hideaways, the people were so friendly. They answered all of our questions about Exuma and made every effort to make our stay relaxed and memorable. We rented a car which let us to all over. Exuma really needs better roads, especially to the beach Tropic of Cancer. "The Hideaways" wasn't affected by that because one of the best beaches on the island can be gotten to just by walking a short way down the beach. We loved Exuma because it was unspoiled by commercialism, and didn't have the crowds. The beauty and color of water was amazing. I think this group of islands is one of the best secrets of the Bahamas.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms which are not on the hillside, but are close to the restaurant and pool. The food...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent visit to our resort. Your feedback is very important to us it helps us know that we are on the right path in our efforts to provide outstanding customer service. Your comments and suggestions are always taken into consideration and acted upon in order for us to improve our service and facilities.

Once again thank you for choosing us as your vacation destination and hope to have the pleasure to serve you again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma, Bahamas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morganton, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The staff at Palm Bay were top notch! They went out of their way to be friendly and helpful! The condos were clean and laid out nicely. They offered good amenities and the shuttle was very helpful as a way to get into town. I would definitely recommend this resort!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GML7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Public Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure having you and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Always make us glad to hear the feedback from all our guests and to know that our efforts to serve and provide you with a refreshing stay, were worth it!

Once again, we appreciate your kind comments on our resort and look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future.

Warm regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Hideaways is the best on the Island!!! the staff is awesome, rooms are immaculate and reefs just off the beach were so much fun. It was so nice to have the shuttle into town, it made it so we didn't need to rent a car. We will definitely be coming back again soon I hope.

Room Tip: pick a room to the back of the property, we were by the pool, at times it could be a busy place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Dear Brenda,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our resort. We welcome and appreciate every piece of feedback we receive.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your visit at Hideaways Exuma.

We will forward your comments to the above mentioned department as your feedback is very important to us since it helps us improve on a daily basis.

We truly hope to have the privilege to welcome you back in a near future and to provide you with a memorable vacation experience.

Best Regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

My husband & I spent 2 days at Palm Bay after 5 days on a friend's catamaran.
We stayed in Villa #17. It was very spacious, clean & the shower was amazing!
The pool area was great and Splash, the restaurant, had amazing food, and the bartender, Anita, was truly a delight to be around. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SpanishFlyMichigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HideawaysPalmBay, Guest Relations Manager at Hideaways at Palm Bay, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and share your recent experience at our resort.

We are very happy to learn that your stay was a most pleasant one and we were able to fulfill your expectations.

We share all of our guests reviews & experiences with the Team at Hideaways, Anita will be pleased that you enjoyed her service!

We would certainly be glad to have you back for another round of a wonderful stay. We look forward to have you back at Hideaways Exuma.



Best Regards,
Beverly Brittain
Hideaways Exuma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#2 of 2 in Stocking Island
175 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 6 in Great Exuma
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 4 in George Town
302 reviews
12.0 mi away
Paradise Bay Bahamas
Paradise Bay Bahamas
#1 of 15 in Great Exuma
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are planning a trip to the Exumas, look no further than Hideaways at Palm Bay. Our beachfront resort offers you a variety of accommodations, ranging from studio, one & two bedroom cottages to one, two and three bedroom villas. We have it all for you here at Hideaways. Our casual, friendly, and peaceful resort offers you the opportunity to play in the sand on our private beach, or lounge by the pool with a drink in your hand from Splash!, the on site bar and grill. Hideaways was made for you, and our amenities and facilities were designed with you in mind. Offering in suite massage for pampering, complimentary water toys for entertainment, and gorgeous views for enjoying the sunset on our private patio, you will find Hideaways is filled ample opportunity for couples, families, and friends, all to have a great time away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing