We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Blissful vacation at Hideaways” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hideaways at Palm Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hideaways at Palm Bay
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Blissful vacation at Hideaways”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at oceanside cottage #10, the Windmill Palm, and it was perfect. It was nicely decorated and spotlessly clean. We were literally 10 steps from the beach, which had decent snorkeling around the 3 "Goat Islands". We were 50 steps from the pool and 75 steps from the restaurant. It was ideal for us. We didn't even bother with a/c since the ocean breezes were so close. The location is excellent, pretty much in the middle of the island, 7 miles from the airport, and the resort provides a free shuttle to George Town.
The staff is friendly and helpful. Definitely try the house cocktail, called a "Splash" in between the pina coladas and Bahama Mamas at the restaurant. "Splash" was created by one of the waitresses, the charming one who channels Betty Boop. Definitely plan and allocate for the all day tour with 4Cs--they'll pick you up at Hideaways and give you a fantastic overview of the stunning Cays up North--the highlight is a short snorkel in Thunderball Grotto, which is not to be missed.

Room Tip: Our preference was for the oceanside cottages. Literally right on the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kayaak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

530 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    169
    45
    21
    11
See reviews for
145
242
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I found this fabulous little hideaway in the Bahamas. It is such a delight to have something like this after having visited the Bahamas before I'm found parts of it being far more commercial than it was years ago. The staff was absolutely wonderful the room was perfect for our needs and there is no nicer water anywhere.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swilhelm15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

How does sitting on a balcony, overlooking the beautiful colors of the sea, watching the palm trees sway and being bathed in warm tropical breezes sound? Add in friendly people, a beautiful condo and you have Hideaways at Palm Bay. We stayed in a 1brm "Ocean View" unit #207,across the road from the office which was only a 1 minute walk away, in May '14.
Pros-
- Beautiful Jolly Hall Beach is only a 5 minute walk away.
- Free shuttle to town and back runs every 2 hours, 9 - 5.
- Fish Fry area, a group of local eateries with great food and authentic local fare is within walking distance (we ate at Charlies).
- Resort allowed us use of kayaks and snorkeling equipment.
- Island residents and resort staff (esp. Latovia) are extremely friendly and helpful.
- Stocking Island is nearby and reachable by water taxi from town and is worth exploring.

Cons-
- Do your research, the Bahamian government has no information locally available for tourists, they could use an information office in town.
- Prices in stores are high due to items being imported, just like other islands.
- We cannot think of anything negative to say about Hideaways, they even loaned us a cribbage board and deck of cards after we forgot ours!

We would definately return to Hideaways for a future vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamsja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a great time at this resort. We flew down with my inlaws and friends of ours to get married last minute. Palm Bay has everything you could want. It is close to everything. Our Villa was 32 I think and right on the Ocean. I rented a cottage for my inlaws and it was great as well. This is our new vacation spot. We plan on returning with a large group of about 25 at the end of February again this year and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madelynn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed in a villa on the beach #30 at Palm Bay Hideaways. Great location! Close to Georgetown, dining options, and about half way to all other places on the island that you would want to explore. Our place was right on the beach, and looking out at that turquoise water every day was fabulous. There is good snorkeling right from the beach there and just a short walk down their beach is a beautiful beach called Jolly Hall beach.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
Helpful?
1 Thank want2travelall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We stayed at Hideaway the week before March Break. The resort is spotless maintain. As two adults and one child we stayed in garden one bedroom villa, which has a small kitchenette with separate living room. It is quite spacious and adequate for one week stay. If you are looking to get away from the rat race this is the place. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, and the beach if you have small children is good because it is very calm, warm and quite shallow for a good distance. We had breakfast included in our package. Breakfast was OK, included yoghurt, bread, muffins, fruit and some days boil eggs. Nothing special but we found you don't want eat a lot in hot weather. This is place where you get to know the owner and staff of the resort and they make you feel welcomed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 547sandra12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

My fiancée and I actually stayed here in Nov of 2012, so providing an endorsement is well over due. We stayed for 7 nights and had an absolutely great time and found the owners/managers to be exceptionally accommodating. We reserved a room across the street up the hill and were provided an upgraded room near the beach at no extra cost! Good reason to travel in the off season. The landscaping and maintenance throughout the property was immaculate.

The room itself was very clean and had most of the accommodations we required, a fridge, a stove and some basic utensils. Although this room did not have every utensil we desired, ten dollars spent at the general store in Georgetown rounded out what we needed. We did not find the few missing items to be hindrance to a great time unlike some other reviewers. This is the remote Caribbean after all.

Location was perfect for us. It is walking distance to the fish fry shacks, where we had fresh fish and lobster for dinner many nights, and it is a very short ride to Georgetown, for which free transportation is provided several times per day. This worked out perfect to make a run to the grocery/liquor stores on the day of our arrival. Depending upon the needs of the other guests, they will exercise some flexibility with regards to timing for drop off and pick up.

The owners/managers we found to be excellent and very accommodative. In our case, we were so moved by the entire experience on the island that we decided to try and get married while we were there. The owners then went way out of their way to put us in contact with the appropriate government bodies and acted as a messaging service while we were out fishing during the day. Additionally, they were willing to go out of our way to help set everything up for us with no expectations of remuneration. Instead they acted purely out of excitement for us and a desire for us to have a great experience. Unfortunately, we were not able to get the necessary paperwork together to the likeing of the Bahamian government in time to make it all happen, despite the great effort made by the hotel to help us out.

The beach is not your typical sit in a chair and play in the waves type beach with water sport activities abound. It's much more quaint and dependent upon the tides for access to the sand. However, it is beautiful and makes for good kayaking. The Jolly Hall beach which is a short walk away, was more of a sand lovers beach and provided for some decent independent snorkeling along the rocks. We found the walk to be pleasant, but if you want to bring cooler, chairs, books, kids, an umbrella and a trunk full of other stuff, then it's not the beach for you. On the other hand, if you enjoy a quiet walk in the morning or a swim in tranquil blue water with no one else around, then you will love it.

The on site restaurant is the one element that probably needs some improvement. We chose not to eat there as we tend to cook our own food obtained locally with some basics we brought with us, so I can not comment on the quality of the food. However, the few times were went in to have a drink, the bartender(s) on staff were definitely sub par, even by Caribbean standards. No smiling, no greeting, made us wait several minutes (10 plus) to be asked what we wanted to drink despite no one else being in the place. This was enough confirmation for us that eating there was probably not the best choice. I hope they have been able to improve the service since we were there. If eating at a restaurant for every meal is your desire then considering another place might be for you. If not, you will love everything else about Hideaways at Palm Bay.

All in all this was a fantastic place by our definition. When we do eventually come back to Exuma, we will not consider staying anywhere else but here.

My apologies to the owners for not providing this endorsement much sooner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
1.4 mi away
Club Peace & Plenty Exuma Island
2.0 mi away
St Francis Resort
St Francis Resort
#4 of 7 in Great Exuma
5.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
11.1 mi away
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
Grand Isle Resort & Spa
#1 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Sandals Emerald Bay Golf, Tennis and Spa Resort
8.1 mi away
Exuma Palms Hotel
Exuma Palms Hotel
#6 of 7 in Great Exuma
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Augusta Bay Bahamas
Augusta Bay Bahamas
#1 of 1 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hideaways at Palm Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hideaways at Palm Bay

Property: Hideaways at Palm Bay
Address: Jolly Hall Bay at Queens Highway, George Town 00000, Great Exuma
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Bahamas > Out Islands > Great Exuma > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in George Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hideaways at Palm Bay 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our beachfront villas & cottages are available in either studio, 1 or 2 bedroom plans and offer full kitchens or kitchenettes. Decorated and designed with tropical charm, amenities include air conditioning, ceiling fans, private bathrooms, televisions, wireless internet access, full service business center including guest computers. Hideaways Exuma is the ideal location for your romantic getaway or family vacation. Weekly rates are available in our hillside villas and studio rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Hideaways at Palm Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hideaways At Palm Bay Hotel Great Exuma

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing