We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location, on a sublimely beautiful beach”
other travellers have booked this property
Hoopers Bay Beach on a busy day!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Hoopers Bay Beach on a busy day!
Beach Studio Beach Studio showing kitchenette
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Hoopers Bay Beach on a busy day!
Beach Studio
Beach Studio showing kitchenette
Beach Studio ready for 2 guests
Beach Studio Patio awaits your arrival - just steps from the beach
Sandy Palms Beach House with apartments taken from the beach
Just a few steps through the garden from the apartments to the beach
Feed the friendly green turtles at Hoopers Bay
Endless empty beaches everywhere
Wish you were here!
Laze the day away on these on the calm sea of Hoopers Bay
Our guests love Exuma beaches
Come & enjoy!
Snorkeling is a pleasure in the beautiful clear water
Rent a boat to explore deserted offshore Cays
Santanas Grill for a great lobster lunch!
The rays are safe to enjoy
Feed the rays at Stocking Island
Another empty beach
The short walk from Sandy Palms to the beach
Enjoy the swimming pigs up close
See the swimming pigs on a Cays trip
Enjoy a lovely meal at Shirleys at the Fish Fry
Have a great lobster lunch at Santannas in Williamstown
Relax at Santannas for lunch on their deck by the sea
Magnificent Sunsets at Hoopers Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
George Town, Great Exuma, Out Islands, Bahamas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Italian first
Any
English first
Spencer S
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect location, on a sublimely beautiful beach”
Reviewed 27 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
3
people found this review helpful

The room is right on an amazing beach. I've been to beautiful beaches, Maldives, Maui, Sardinia, other islands in the Bahamas, and this is the best. This is paradise. It's warm, never crowded, just a few houses along it. Crystal clear water. Perfect oolite sand. Sublimely peaceful and beautiful. I don't think I ever saw more than maybe ten people on the beach at a time, and many times my wife and I had the whole beach to ourselves. The sea turtles swim right up to you. There are beautiful sunrises and sunsets.

The hosts, Betty and Peter Oxley, are fantastic. They know the area well, suggested great boat trips, arranged cabs for us, and referred us to good places to eat. They are 100% reliable, communicate quickly and clearly via email, and were a pleasure to work with. I’m very grateful.

As for the room, it has everything you need. This is a beach pad for grabbing sleep, showering, and eating. Everything works: the flatscreen TV is nice, the fridge is powerful, the hot water in the shower never ran out-- I have zero complaints. That said, don't expect it to be opulent, because many of the fixtures are showing their age and their proximity to the warm Caribbean ocean. If you’re the type of person who needs nothing less than brand new furnishings, then I'm afraid you won't be happy here. It’s low maintenance. They clean between visitors, but no one comes into the room to make your bed while you’re staying there. Who cares? You’re going to be spending most of your time by the water anyways. So if you can relax in dated, but completely functional and clean surroundings, you'll love it and you'll want to come back. We can't wait to do so. We can afford to stay at a very refined resort, but it’s more secluded here, and we’d rather spend the money on boat hires and other activities.

There’s one main road on the island, and the house’s location along that road is good too. We opted to take cabs most places, but it’s easy to rent cars. There is a small store (groceries, drug store items, etc.) and a liquor shop right next to each other about a 10 minute walk away. There’s also a meat/seafood shop in the other direction (maybe a 10-15 minute walk), which has some very nice fresh stuff for good prices in case you want to grill outside or cook it up in your room.

In summary, it is a sublimely beautiful setting, with a well-appointed accommodation, and wonderful hosts. I cannot wait to get back to the island, and I’ll be booking this same place again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2015
Spencer,

We know that you enjoyed your stay at Sandy Palms but now reading about your experiences was particularly special. We want all of our guests to have the same pleasure of staying here in Exuma & your Review will certainly help others who may be thinking of coming to this beautiful island.

Many thanks & best wishes for the future.

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andie7777
Siena, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“relax and warm water”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

For 6 days, we have examined the island with its villages and the capital, George Town, with a small market. One day we went for a day boat trip to the Exuma Cays, which was a bit adventurous because of bad weather. Still we were able to see all its attractions like swimming pigs, iguanas, snorkeling, sharks in the private port.... We enjoyed all beaches on Exuma but we always liked to return to the Sandy Palms' beach, which to us was the most beautiful in the island. The local supermarket was quite close, so we often shopped there and we thus used a lot also our kitchenette. Restaurants were also available, not too far. We appreciates a lot all Peter's practical and useful advises and recommendations.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: beaches
Liked least: mosquitos
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Aug 2014
It was wonderful to read your great description about your first visit to Exuma & your stay at Sandy Palms. We very much enjoyed meeting you & helping you with getting the most out of your visit. Your remarks will certainly help others understand more about this beautiful island.

Best wishes & hope we can welcome you again sometime in the future.

Betty & Peter - Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew K
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal location on a beautiful island”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

We are a family of four (two teenage daughters) on our first visit to the Bahamas. The location of the apartment both from access to the beach and to explore the island was fantastic. The apartment was basic but clean and excellent value for money. The owner, Peter, was very attentive to ensure that we had all we needed to make our holiday as relaxing as possible. However, the jewel in the crown was the beach (swimming with turtles was the highlight). Crystal clear waters, almost deserted white coral sand beach, snorkelling, kayaking and paddleboarding (all equipment provided with the apartment) gave many hours of fun and relaxation. Local amenities are very close (shops, local restaurants) wth Georgetown the capital only a five minute drive away. Dive school in Georgetown was very good. Car hire is recommended. Overall a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beach
Liked least: Flight delays to and from the island
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2014
Thanks very much for your Review & we are glad that you & your family enjoyed your stay at Sandy Palms (in our 2 roomed apartment).

We hope we can welcome you all again on some future occasion.

Best wishes from the sunshine,

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chocolake
Como
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
È stato bello leggere i tuoi commenti su quanto ti è piaciuta la tua prima visita a Exuma e il tuo soggiorno a Sandy Palms. Ci è piaciuto incontrarti e saremo lieti se visiterai nuovamente l'isola.

Grazie e auguri dalla luce del sole,

Betty & Peter

It was lovely to read your comments about how much you enjoyed your first visit to Exuma & your stay at Sandy Palms. We enjoyed meeting you & will be glad if you visit the island again.

Thanks & best wishes from the sunshine,

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
piedinoNa...
napoli
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2018
Siete stati ospiti adorabili che abbiamo gradito dare il benvenuto e anche aiutarci con le informazioni per sfruttare al meglio le vostre attività.

Grazie per la tua gentilissima recensione che sicuramente aiuterà gli altri italiani che potrebbero voler rimanere. Spero che potremo darvi il benvenuto in famiglia / amici in futuro.

I migliori auguri e grazie dalle sole e tartarughe di Hoopers Bay!

Betty & Peter

You were lovely guests whom we enjoyed welcoming & also helping with information to make the most of your activities.

Thank you for your very kind Review which will certainly help other Italians who may want to stay. Hope we can welcome you ot family/ friends in the future.

Best wishes & thanks from the sunshine & Hoopers Bay turtles!

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
N85Ross
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Apr 2018
Siamo così contenti che ti sia piaciuta la tua prima visita a Exuma e grazie per aver soggiornato nella nostra proprietà "direttamente sulla spiaggia" di Sandy Palms.

Speriamo di poter accogliere di nuovo voi stessi o con gli amici e la famiglia in un'occasione futura.

I migliori auguri dal sole e 28 * di Exuma.

Betty & Peter

We are so pleased you enjoyed your first visit to Exuma & thank you for staying at our "directly on the beach" Sandy Palms property.

We hope that we can welcome either just yourselves again or with friends and family on a future occasion.

Best wishes from the sunshine & 28* of Exuma.

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
franci080...
Montegalda, Italy
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Che bella recensione e siamo così contenti che ti sia piaciuta la tua vacanza a Sandy Palms.

I tuoi commenti aiuteranno sicuramente altri italiani che potrebbero pensare di visitare questa bellissima isola e speriamo di poterti accogliere ancora in futuro.

I migliori auguri e grazie dal sole e 29 * di Exuma.

Betty & Peter

What a lovely Review and we are so glad that you enjoyed your holiday at Sandy Palms.

Your comments will certainly help other Italians who may be thinking of visiting this beautiful island & we hope that we can also welcome you again in the future.

Best wishes & thanks from the sunshine & 29* of Exuma.

Betty & Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing