We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Paradise in Paradise!”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Matei, Taveuni Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NancyYach...
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise in Paradise!”
Reviewed 20 November 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

"My experience at Raiwasa was nothing short of amazing. Fiji is paradise and Raiwasa has captured a spot as the most luxurious accommodation in Fiji. As the owner of a yacht charter brokerage, I am accustomed to five-star service, surroundings and amenities. Raiwasa rivals the experience of some of the world's most luxurious super yachts at a fraction of the cost. Your villa provides an excellent extension to clients who have enjoyed a charter yacht vacation and now are looking for a land based property. As a frequent visitor to Fiji, I can say that the cultural experiences you provide guests is by far the best. The traditional Kava ceremony preceded by the root grinding and presentation was informative and something I have often wondered. The local village performances were genuine and the beauty of the children singing and dancing was only eclipsed by their beautiful smiles. Your staff are superstars. They have mastered the difficult task of balancing guest privacy with interaction. They are attentive, they are gracious, they are funny, they are energetic and they are ready to make every second of your stay memorable. I was in awe upon arrival and I was in tears to depart, not because I wouldn't be back again, because I will, but because I felt a connection with this special place and the special staff you have brought together. "
Nancy, V, Fredrick MD

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Nov 2017
Hello Nancy,

Thank you for this amazing review, :-). To be appreciated is one of the main reasons why our team is so good at what they do. As you saw happiness is contagious! As you now realize Raiwasa is not simply a place to rest your head, it is much more, it's a truly connected experience. As a result word of mouth is important to us, thank you for sharing the Love.

The whole Raiwasa team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristi M
Sparta
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute Paradise...”
Reviewed 12 October 2017 for a stay in October 2017
2
people found this review helpful

So…my wish right this moment...blink twice…and be back at Raiwasa enjoying "Fiji Time" by the pool!

I want to thank Patrick, Richie, Rosie, Lo, Maria, Babu, Kelera, Bogi, Petero, Harish & Sepo, for making our stay absolutely incredible & truly unforgettable!

I've been in the dive industry since 1999, visited numerous destinations as well as 5+ star resorts around the world but never had such an amazing experience as Raiwasa offered!

The moment we entered the property & drove up the driveway, we knew it was going to be "absolute paradise"! And it definitely was everything & more than anyone could ever expect! The teamwork of the entire staff was so unbelievably amazing! Each & every "i" was dotted & "t" crossed to absolute perfection! There are not enough praises to express how incredible our stay was with all of you. We were truly sad to leave & say good-bye!

Each planned event was above & beyond what we could have ever imagined - absolutely incredible, thank you!

I look forward to returning to Raiwasa for another truly remarkable & unforgettable experience!

It was an honor meeting & spending time with all of you!

Vinaka, Patrick & Richie so much again for everything…until next time.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Oct 2017
Bula Kristi,

We are blushing :-) Creating such joy and amazement for our guests is our "WHY?". We are simply addicted to it. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again in the near future. Share Raiwasa with all your friends and acquaintances, they will be grateful to you forever :)

Vinaka

The whole Raiwasa family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rawdhaalm...
Taveuni Island, Fiji
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Raiwasa experience”
Reviewed 21 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
2
people found this review helpful

We've been to 7 star hotels , and Raiwasa services and the experience given goes way beyond them. We really got to live the saying of "your wish is our command" and everyone is beyond wonderful and you could feel the love and how they work as a team.
The view here is Unbelievable and is nothing like we have seen before it's amazing
We've been to different places but this is the first time that we felt such sadness leaving a place it was indeed our home away from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Oct 2017
Bula Rawdha, Thank you so much for your kind review and it is nice that we have exceeded your previous travel experiences. We are so delighted that you had an amazing time and we hope that you will consider coming back to visit us on one of your anniversaries.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oksana D
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The best vacation in a beautiful setting with incredible service”
Reviewed 5 September 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

It's almost difficult to write a review for a place that's so special. I've initially chosen Raiwasa based on the location, contemporary décor and wonderful amenities. It turned out to be so much more than just another vacation in a tropical place. It was an unforgettable experience!

LOCATION
The island of Taveuni was a perfect match for our vacation style. We do not like big resorts or tourist traps and prefer to rent private villas and to get to know the local culture of the place we're visiting. Taveuni makes you feel like you stepped back in time and away from your daily grind. Life is simple and people are friendly. The nature is spectacular and the climate is perfect.

VILLA
The villa is incredible! It's spacious, luxurious, immaculate, and has everything a discerning traveler might need. The decor is contemporary, tasteful, and comfortable. I loved having fresh flower arrangements everywhere. There are so many places to relax and lounge depending on your mood, and the views are beautiful everywhere!

STAFF AND SERVICE
If you want to live like royalty or a celebrity for a week, come here! With 10 staff attending to your needs, you'll be sorry you have to go home! There isn't even a common phrase that would capture the level of service the staff provide. I could say they "go the extra mile" but it wouldn't be enough. I could say they go "above and beyond" but it would still not describe the incredible service they offer. They're thorough but not intrusive. They'll take care of things before you have to ask. After a couple of days they'll learn your preferences and you won't have to say how you like certain things.

Every guest can decide how much they want to interact with the staff and we wanted to get to know them a bit. I highly recommend for you to do the same! They're all such special people that you'd be missing out if you don't ever talk to them. After a few days we joked that we felt like we live on the island now and the staff are our neighbors and friends. In the morning, we'd look forward to saying hello to Maria or Lo and chatting with them as they were serving breakfast. Then Richie would come over and we'd talk about dinner plans or what we'd like to do that day. Then we'd go out with Babu to the beach or for a drive around the island. Please, please spend time with Babu! Every outing with him is such a fun experience! He knows everyone on the island and has a ton of stories to share!

FOOD
If you're a foodie, you'll really appreciate Raiwasa! Richie and Rosie blew us away every day with their cooking. The variety and quality of dining options is superb! There is an extensive menu for breakfast and lunch. And every night, Richie would design an elaborate menu for dinner based on local flavors. He can even make special requests if you're craving something specific. My husband told him a story of an amazing while chocolate bread pudding dessert I had on the island of Anguilla years ago and how I still talk about it. Well, for my birthday dinner Richie surprised me by making it for for me! The dining experience made this vacation so memorable.

ACTIVITIES
You can make your stay here into whatever you'd like. Of the 8 days we spent at Raiwasa, each one was different. Some days were spent relaxing by the pool or the private beach. And other days we'd do something fun and adventurous. The list of activities is extensive and will suit anyone's style. I especially appreciated having kayaks and paddle boards available; the water right next to the villa is a perfect spot to take those out.

SUMMARY
If you want to have a vacation that will spoil you, rejuvenate you and give you an experience to remember, Raiwasa is for you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2017
Oksana, You review is very thoughtful and full of insight as to what Raiwasa is all about. We thank you so much for taking. the time to share your experience with others. We look forward to having you back if you ever need to disconnect again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonic2001
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular vacation spot!”
Reviewed 16 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
2
people found this review helpful

You know when you find the perfect vacation spot and you immediately want to tell everyone about it but then you also want to keep it for yourself? That’s Raiwasa! You will NOT need a vacation from your vacation when you experience this resort. This is a place where time stands still, natural beauty surrounds you, and you are allowed to disconnect from the rest of the world and reconnect with what is important to you. Soak in the incredible view, the excellent service, and remember you are on island time!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2017
Toni it was a pleasure having you as our guest. Please come back to visit us on your next trip to Australia. We are always very happy when we have guests that enjoy everything Raiwasa has to offer and please do tell everyone :)

Raiwasa team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rsartoriu...
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A truly exceptional vacation for discerning travellers”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
2
people found this review helpful

My family and I have travelled extensively around the world and this is one of our best experiences and far and away the highest quality service we’ve ever had.

The essence of Raiwasa is a phenomenal setting and a warm local team dedicated to excellent service—both leading to an unforgettable experience on the “garden island” of Fiji.

Upon arriving at Raiwasa--on its several acres of beautiful gardens and pathways overlooking the ocean--we were welcomed by two warriors, plus Babu, Richie, Rosie and seven staff singing songs as part of a traditional welcome ceremony. The villa is an architectural gem, open and gentle breeze swept with its tiered decks and verandas overlooking the shifting tides of the Somosomo Straights. High ceilings, solid timbers, nicely appointed living and bedroom areas, and spacious outdoor showers and baths are part of the villa’s charm. To the side of the villa, along a short pathway, is a natural infinity pool with its own decks, cabana and spectacular views. The lighted walkway down to the private beach leads to another cabana and deck right above the water. Kayaks, paddle boards, a motor boat and a nice selection of snorkeling equipment are part the offering.

Raiwasa is characterized by outstanding service and a staff that is attentive to every need and every detail to make your vacation truly outstanding. The twenty pages of menu selections, prepared by master chef Richie and his spouse Rosie are simply amazing involving a wide variety of cuisines—Fijian, Asian fusion, French, Spanish, Mexican and Indian. All meals were delicious with outstanding presentations. Dinners are five course meals, and with reasonable sized portions. During our first dinner at Raiwasa we were serenaded with guitar music and traditional Fijian songs. Breakfasts and lunches were complemented by local fruits and a creative selection of flavorful smoothies. Each afternoon Richie appears to discuss menu ideas and recommendations for the evening. He emerges a few hours later with his staff to present his special creations at any of the villa’s six indoor and outdoor dining areas--on the decks, beach or by the pool. During the evening torches light the pathways around Raiwasa, adding a special aura as the sun sets and night sets in.

Rosie and Lo provided soothing messages as options or part of the premium package. My wife and daughter loved the banana leaf wrap and head and foot message to sooth sun-kissed skin.

The watersports are supervised by Petero and his colleague to make sure everyone is in their comfort zone whether kayaking, paddle boarding, tubing behind the boat or snorkeling. They know the coast and the tides and are there to make it all easy and safe for all ages and adventure types.

During the week we enjoyed many exceptional experiences at Raiwasa, all made more memorable due to the attentiveness of Raiwasa’s staff. At first, we simply enjoyed the villa, beach, grounds and fantastic meals. A few days later we decided to take a short trip and hike to the local waterfalls with Babu in the lead. We had a great surprise waiting as we emerged from the rainforest at the base of the falls, but I won’t say what it was so I don’t spoil the fun for others. We had a fine cook out one evening where in-ground cooking with hot rocks and banana leaves (something like an American clam bake) allowed us to sample local Fijian dinner treats. After dinner we enjoyed traditional dances and a kava ceremony on the veranda with the whole crew.

Lo took us on a walking tour of her village where the entire village was preparing for a big, once-in-a-lifetime ceremony to install her mother-in-law as the new village chief. We met the new chief as she proudly supervised construction of the ceremonial grounds with her advisors from a perch above the rugby fields.

During our last few days we explored the island a bit more knowing that there was much more to see and do, and that we needed come back to enjoy more of Raiwasa’s charm and the warm, caring and attentive people that made our family vacation such an outstanding experience for all.

Rolf Sartorius

Note: We travelled to Raiwasa as a group of six, my wife and I, our 20 year old daughter, 15 year old son and his friend and my mother.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Bula Rolf, Pat and company,
We are very grateful for you and your wonderful detailed review. We promise that if you come back we will make your stay and even more wonderful. Raiwasa and the whole team look forward to the opportunity to serve you again. We wish you the very best to all of you.
Raiwasa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T4412YQca...
Hilton Head, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It's difficult to return to reality after a magucal week at Raiwassa.”
Reviewed 1 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017
4
people found this review helpful

My son and daughter-in-law invited me to join them and my two grandchildren for a magical weeks vacation at Raiwasa. The experience began at the gate with a welcoming ceremony and tropical drinks served by our extensive staff in native dress. They then took us on a tour of the lovely house and surrounding property that would be our exclusive home for the coming week. The house itself has large outdoor oriented rooms, tastefully decorated with island crafts and colorful fresh flowers from the large garden everywhere. A wrap around veranda has extensive views over the sea. Here we would enjoy meals and entertainment, receive massages or just relax. A few steps away is the infinity pool looking over the ocean as well as a grass covered relaxing area and dining area. We were directed to a path to our private beach. Here a boat, paddleboards or snorkeling equipment was available with assistance if needed. Staff gave us a large black book that contained long lists of beverages, including smoothies, mixed drinks, coffees, snacks and breakfast and lunch menus These we could order any time and have served any where. Richie, the talented chef, consulted with us daily about that nights dinner menu. It was was always delicious, multi coursed, prepared with many local ingredients and beautifully presented. He also would help us organize daily activities of our choice
It was difficult to leave this lovely setting but with the help of the friendly and accommodating staff we took several trips, exploring the island and its rich culture. We were driven to Bauma Falls, where after a short hike we reached the towering falls and its swimming area . The staff had already set up for lunch which was served on white table clothed, flower decorated tables. Another staff member was kind enough to give us a tour of her village where we spoke with some of its members including her mother-in-law who was soon to be inducted as chief with an island wide celebration. One night the staff prepared Kava, the signature, age old Fijian drink, with its accompanying ceremony. On another we were entertained with native music and dances and encouraged to join in the festivities. Staff took us to visit a local market with its exotic fruits and vegetables, an eighteenth century French Missionary Church and the nearby international date line where we took a step from today back to yesterday.
Speaking of yesterday, I am 78 years old and am so fortunate to have a such a wonderful family sharing this time with me. I am in good health and mobility but the staff always were exceptionally helpful to me as they were to the needs and desires of the whole family from teen ager to grandma. In my life time I have visited and lived in many parts of the world but this visit to Raiwasa was one of the most memorable of times.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Aug 2017
Bula Kay,

My mother is 76 years old and I know how important spending time with your family is when you reach a certain age. She always reminds us not to take for granted the love this life gives us. I am please that Raiwasa and the whole team played a small role in bringing your family together and that you took so much pleasure in the whole experience. We hope you don’t forget your Fiji memories and that you will enjoy ever minute of your family in the years to come.

Warmest regards,

Patrick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;