We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Winter Wonderland”
other travellers have booked this property
K39 Thistle Cottage - South Facing Wraparound Deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
K39 Thistle Cottage - South Facing Wraparound Deck
K39 Thistle Cottage – Approach in the Winter K39 Thistle Cottage - Entrance Sign (Now painted grey)
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
K39 Thistle Cottage - South Facing Wraparound Deck
K39 Thistle Cottage – Approach in the Winter
K39 Thistle Cottage - Entrance Sign (Now painted grey)
K39 Thistle Cottage - Living Room with double bed sofa
K39 Thistle Cottage - Bedroom 1 (Double) with door onto sun deck
K39 Thistle Cottage - Bedroom 2 (Bunkbeds)
K39 Thistle Cottage - Large Dining Area
K39 Thistle Cottage – Modern well-equipped Kitchen inc. dishwasher
K39 Thistle Cottage – Modern Bathroom (inc. washing machine)
K39 Thistle Cottage – Fireplace where you can burn some candles
K39 Thistle Cottage – Large Hallway plenty of room for coats & jacket
K39 Thistle Cottage – Bedroom 1 has lots of light and has views over grazing animals
K39 Thistle Cottage – Bedroom 1 there is large wardrobe
K39 Thistle Cottage – Bedroom 2 there is wardrobe & chest of drawers
K39 Thistle Cottage – Guests have access to SWESCOT Barbecue Hut with real reindeer skins
K39 Thistle Cottage – The SWESCOT Barbecue Hut is especially wonderful in Winter
K39 Thistle Cottage – The hot tub by the lake is the best place to watch the sunset & stars at night
K39 Thistle Cottage – SWESCOT prepare the Sauna & Hot Tub even in Winter
K39 Thistle Cottage - Experience the peace and serenity of ice fishing
K39 Thistle Cottage - Feel the power of sled dogs when going on the dog ride
K39 Thistle Cottage - The thrill of a snowmobile safari through snowy forests
K39 Thistle Cottage - Experience the exhilaration of driving over frozen lakes & rivers
K39 Thistle Cottage - Try hiking in the snow with snowshoes
K39 Thistle Cottage – Or making the perfect snow angel!
K39 Thistle Cottage – Our older South African guests experienced first time sledging
K39 Thistle Cottage - Kanelbullar or cinnamon buns always taste good!
K39 Thistle Cottage – There is cross-country trails and downhill skiing
K39 Thistle Cottage – Come early and pick your own Christmas tree!
K39 Thistle Cottage – We can even supply gingerbread biscuit cutters
K39 Thistle Cottage - Games, books etc can be borrowed from the library
K39 Thistle Cottage – You can also borrow lawn games, fishing gear, etc
K39 Thistle Cottage - Guests are more than welcome to feed our animals
K39 Thistle Cottage – You can also visit our rabbits or take ecological eggs from hen house
K39 Thistle Cottage – You can visit elks in local park if you don’t spot one around the village
K39 Thistle Cottage – A short walk to the lake to cool down is welcome during the Summer
K39 Thistle Cottage - The lake bottom here is sandy and offers a safe place for young children
K39 Thistle Cottage - SWESCOT have boats & canoe that guests can borrow to fish or explore the lake
K39 Thistle Cottage - There is excellent fishing inc. pike, perch, etc for beginner to expert
K39 Thistle Cottage - You can take archery lessons and pretend to be Robin Hood in the forest
K39 Thistle Cottage - Depending on the season you can pick mushrooms & blueberries
K39 Thistle Cottage - Fresh smultron (wild woodland strawberries) found in the surrounding forest
K39 Thistle Cottage – There is lots to see for the young & old at Furuvik Amusement Park
K39 Thistle Cottage – At Årsunda Viking experience life in the 10th century, play Viking activities
K39 Thistle Cottage – Högbo Golf Club goes through varying forest and park surroundings
K39 Thistle Cottage – Approach in the Summer
K39 Thistle Cottage – Entrance & driveway in Winter (Newly painted grey)
K39 Thistle Cottage – Entrance & driveway in Summer
K39 Thistle Cottage - South Facing Wraparound Deck (View to side)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 8
Ockelbo, Gavleborg County, Midnight Sun Coast

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
sharonmc6...
Greenock
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Winter Wonderland”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This beautiful holiday home is located in a beautiful part of Sweden. When we turned off the motorway and onto the Kolforsen road it was like a scene from Narnia with snow clad trees lining the road.

Many times, I think back with fine thoughts to the calm and tranquillity that prevails in this magical snowy place. The area has plenty of opportunities for doing activities and we had a sauna & hot tub by the lake, dogsledding where my partner mushed, snowmobile safari and went to see a live Ice Hockey game. We also flew up to Kiruna to see the Ice Hotel which was spectacular but more built up than I expected.

The children most enjoyed playing in all the snow; making snow angels, sledging and building an igloo by the cottage.

The house itself offered everything we needed for a good holiday and the barbecue hut was lovely for the adults to sit in at night time whilst the kids were watching a DVD.

The owner of SWESCOT is fantastic. As soon as you meet her she makes you feel right at home. Her hospitality is wonderful, and nothing is too much bother.

She was around to answer any questions we had, give us recommendations where to buy groceries and alcohol and she was especially good with the kids letting them hold & feed a new-born lamb.

The only negative thing? I've only spent a week there! Will definitely come back again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
The team here at SWESCOT is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud you enjoyed your stay in our Thistle Cottage in Kolforsen, Ockelbo. Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. It was a pleasure showing your children around our farm. We hope to see you all again soon. Perhaps in Summer when you can do other activities.
Kind Regards, Agneta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
J18cgh
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful forest setting.”
Reviewed 23 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic forest setting with a fantastic lake for swimming and fishing. There is a small playpark for the kids and as the road through the village rarely has any traffic the kids can wonder about. The cottages are clean with plenty of space and decking areas for sitting outside and enjoying a BBQ. Fantastic hospitality and a fantastic setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2018
The team here at SWESCOT is thrilled to hear such good feedback, and we’re proud you enjoyed your stay in our Thistle Cottage in Kolforsen, Ockelbo. Thank-you for taking the time to leave a review. We were so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully may welcome you back in the future.
Kind Regards, Agneta
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire U
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A taste of real Sweden”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

we had a fantastic holiday. we were a group of 3 families of 4 with young children. They loved the freedom to play, ride bikes, jump on the trampoline, swing on the swings, collect eggs form the hens, feed the rabbits and play with the owner's cat.
we loved the BBQ hut by the house, the BBQ hut, hot tub and sauna by the lake along with your own rowing boat and canoe. Agneta was really helpful and we couldn't really fault anything even the weather, brilliant sunshine most days. Only negative is the biting insects but not alot to be done about that. A small price to pay for amazing tranquility and total relaxation, not the norm for a holiday with 6 under 7s!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Hi, we still remember your children running free around the area playing with the rabbits. We have invested in several mosquito machines to keep the biting insects to a minimum. Also windows have mosquito nets.
Would love to see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niall M
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“An ideal place to get away from it all, yet with plenty of family activities.”
Reviewed 22 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks in the small cottage. The cottage is comfortable and met our needs (2 adults and 2 children) perfectly. It is very well equipped and clean, and it's located alongside a lovely village green in the forest community of Kolforsen.

We found that Kolforsen was the ideal location for a getaway with the family. It's located in a beautiful area of forest and lakes in central Sweden. While the location is tranquil and off the beaten track, it's only about a 15-min drive into the nearest town of Ockelbo, which has a good supermarket, pharmacy, pizzerias, etc. Arlanda airport is approx. 2 hours' drive to the south.

The owners of the cottage are fantastic hosts, providing assistance and advice whenever it's needed - nothing is too much trouble. There are bikes, a boat, a canoe, DVDs, books and games all available for use by guests for no charge. The bikes are a perfect way to get to and from the lake and village beach located about 1km from the cottage. The beach is small but ideal for young kids, and we happily spent several fun afternoons here.

Within about 45 mins' drive of the cottage we visited the Moose Park just outside Ockelbo, the farm and playground at Hogbo Bruk, the Wij Gardens, and went on the steam train in Jadraas. Further afield we went to the Trolska Skogen (Enchanted Forest) near Mellanfjarden, Furuvik (Amusement Park, Zoo, and Water Park all in one - you could spend a couple of days here), the Arsunda Viking Centre, and the Nordic zoo in Jarvso. All of these were excellent places to visit and we'd recommend any of them for keeping the kids entertained.

All told, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and are already thinking about when we can go back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful forest location, the friendly and helpful owners/locals, the tranqulity.
Liked least: The flies/mosquitos - but if you cover up a little outside on summer evenings it should be ok.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
Hi, we are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and that you took the chance to experience some of the activities that can be done around here. We have gathered activities for summer, winter and rainy days on our own website, but have also updated the welcome folder that is in every cottage with the same information.
Regards,
Agneta
Swescot Svenska Stugor AB
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kspring_1...
Pretoria, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Our White Christmas!”
Reviewed 8 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

We wanted to experience snow and a White Christmas. Wow, did we!
Agneta was very helpful and patient, and thanks to her, we got to experience some great things like dog sledding and snow mobiles.
The cottage is in a beautiful,peaceful,rural part of Sweden,and was just what we were looking for.Of course, the snowfall, we were lucky to have from day 1,made a difference,as we have very little snow in South Africa.
We were welcomed with some lovely Swedish (JUL) Christmas traditions,like lights in all the windows of the cottage, glogg,and good things to eat.
We found Stockholm to be a beautiful city, and visited some of the museums,eg Skansen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural,peaceful location
Liked least: Having to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
A white Christmas is what we normally experience here. In fact, since we started renting out holiday homes 6 out of 9 Chrstmases have been white. We even offer a snow warranty, ie if there is no snow then you can cancel the accommodation with us free of charge
We still remember how you were snow sledgning down the snow piles with the children.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeikersTr...
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location, stupendous hosts! Wonderful Swedish experience.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
1
person found this review helpful

From first contact, Agneta with SWESCOT rentals was fabulous to deal with. She answered all emailed questions thoroughly and promptly, and was a wonderful guide when we arrived. The homes were beautiful and decorated for Christmas with lit trees, homemade cards, and even a gingerbread house! Agneta welcomed us warmly with so many small details, it's impossible to remember them all! She helped us organize hot tubbing outdoors in the winter wonderland, plus a visit to an elk park, professional bandy game, a traditional Swedish smorgasbord... simply a fantastic holiday for the entire family! I would very much encourage you to RENT from Agneta if you get the chance. It is remote, but oh so livable. Lovely community! One of our best vacation ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fabulous host, gorgeous setting, comfortable homes.
Liked least: Must have car.
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
We are still in business and still believe in all the details you mentioned in the review.
Hope to see you again sometime
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marniejoy
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality - wonderful Christmas experience!”
Reviewed 5 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
4
people found this review helpful

The accommodation was very good. We rented two because we met as extended family and it was nice to have the extra (and quieter) space at times. The hamlet was charming. At our first arrival Sweden gave us a veritable winter wonderland with a good snowfall the day before - it was incredibly beautiful and Kolferson was a perfect place to experience it. Every member of my family enjoyed this holiday and we left confident that we had made an excellence choice for the rental as our host was so helpful in suggesting and arranging activities for us. Did I mention that she had both homes decked out in Swedish Christmas Splendour! I heartily recommend this rental. :)

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The excellent customer service from our host.
Liked least: If the snow would have lasted. :)
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2018
We are proud to say that now we can accommodate larger groups as we have bought 2 more cottages and done our usual - taking derelict but charming cottages and renovated them to modern standards. Now you can even sit down for a dinner for 20 in one of the houses.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing