We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of The Berwyn Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glyndyfrdwy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Berwyn Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Glyndyfrdwy B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Blaenau Ffestiniog
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Called in at The Berwyn Arms for a couple of drinks on such a lovely day. Decided to have a meal in the restaurant too. Wow wee, the food was very much more ish, hot and delicious, and very reasonably priced too. The beer went down a treat too. The staff and atmosphere was what one needs. Special. A definite return visit is already on the cards. A must place to call by everyone.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank emgee2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    33
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
28
51
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north wales
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we stopped here on the way back from England,it was recommended by a local in Llangollen,we were disappointed, with the food,we ordered a roast dinner,when it came,there was a spoonful of mash!! the roast potatoes were rock hard,the beef to be fair was good,as were the other veg,the first seat we took had chips on the floor,tho the girl was quick to sweep them up,it was an ok sort of place,but not one i would go out of my way to stop at again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bammisammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laindon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We skipped breakfast at our hotel and were driving through the countryside and came across The Berwyn Arms quite by accident - lucky us!

We arrived at 11.45 - a bit early for lunch but we were hungry! Small welcoming bar and we were invited straight into the restaurant. The smell was awesome. There was a lovely menu with a great choice but we went for the Sunday lunch. You could have all three meats, Beef, Turkey or Lamb or just one of them. There was a small lunch which would be ideal for a child, we had the medium which you can see from the photo was quite big, we were told the large was great for someone who wanted a hearty lunch. As it was early we both had the medium but I think if we went again my husband would have the large. Not because the medium wasn't adequate but because the food was so delicious. The vegetables are all fresh and cooked to perfection, the stuffing was to die for. The view looks out over the countryside and a little steam train goes past. Two lunches, 1 tea, 1 coffee and 2 J2Os was £21.50 - bargain. The staff were attentive, asked us if everything was ok.

They have installed a children's soft play area, we don't have any small children but would have appreciated it when ours were little, they can play where you can see them whilst you eat a delicious meal.

I don't know what else I can say, it was wonderful and we're definitely going to stay there. It was all local produce and we can't wait to try breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YvonneandWobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Our first visit to the Berwyn Arms and were not disappointed. A warm and friendly atmosphere with a real fire plus an excellent lunch, locally sourced sausage with mash, a perfect steak ciabatta sandwich with peppercorn sauce and salad followed by a moreish caramel apple pie. From the table we had a beautiful view overlooking the river and mountainside and were served by friendly and helpful staff. A discovery and we will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshinelover978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corwen, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We've been here 3 times now.

The food is great, portions massive.

The staff are genuinely friendly and really helpful.

Children are welcome and have a dedicated play area and room.

Bouncy castle & great views in garden in summer!

Will be coming again and recommend to all passing.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Corwen2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2014

We were on the way to a weekend away in North Wales, and stopped here for an early evening meal at around 6pm on a Friday.
We were a little catious when we found we were the only people in the dining area, but it wasn't a problem.
There was a good selection from the menu, and the meals we chose were well presented and tasty. Service was, as you would have expected given the lack of customers, prompt, and it was friendly.
The price was fine as well, so all in all, a reasonable place to have a meal

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Ash, Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Stopped for a late dinner just after New Year - what a lovely welcoming pub and restaurant. A warm fire and good value, fresh food that is presented with obvious care.

I'm a coeliac and the chef was outstanding - coming out to ask about my gluten free diet, offer multiple choices and then put together a special meal.

Far better service and food for coeliacs (and anyone with a food allergy) than can be had in many International five star restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoanneSkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Berwyn Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Berwyn Arms

Property: The Berwyn Arms
Address: A5,Holyhead Road,Glyndyfrdwy,Corwen, Glyndyfrdwy LL21 9EY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Glyndyfrdwy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Glyndyfrdwy
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
country pub with b&b next to river Dee, walking,biking,climbing,cavingactivity sports, etc. fishing,shooting,kyaking ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Berwyn Arms Hotel Glyndyfrdwy
The Berwyn Arms Glyndyfrdwy, North Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing