We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Peaceful highland retreat”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Little Oaks

View on entering Little Oaks with bi fold doors open to bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View on entering Little Oaks with bi fold doors open to bedroom
Open plan fully fitted kitchen. Kitchen with high gloss cream units
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View on entering Little Oaks with bi fold doors open to bedroom
Open plan fully fitted kitchen.
Kitchen with high gloss cream units
Kitchen with brand new modern appliances, fixtures and fittings.
Breakfast bar dining area.
Open plan living area, capturing light from two large windows.
Living room space with wall mounted TV.
Light and airy living space.
Large spacious bedroom with kingsize bed
View from bedroom, back towards living area.
Bedroom with horizontal Bedroom window onto well manicured gardens and bird feeders.
Vertical window offers views onto the north face of Ben Nevis.
Bi-fold doors closed for privacy but still keeping bedroom light and spacious.
Contemporary bathroom with vanity unit sink and large walk in shower enclosure.
Partially tiled spacious bathroom.
Substantial walk in shower enclosure
Plenty of space for toiletries, heated towel rail.
Walk in dressing room, with ample storage space.
Little Oaks nestled beneath Oak Lodge, south facing with views to the north face of Ben Nevis.
Table and chairs for alfresco dining.
Views out the bedroom window
Garden views onto bird and squirrel feeders.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Pathfinde...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peaceful highland retreat”
Reviewed 30 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Little Oaks is on a quiet country lane about 2 miles from Banavie. Surrounded by lovely gardens and a small wooded area. From every window you can see the garden with numerous birds feeders which are rapidly emptied and quickly refilled!. Not a sound to be heard in this peaceful location.
Little Oaks has everything you need, well equipped, very spacious, comfortable and clean, the walk in wardrobe was a great feature.
Things to do: there is a huge amount of information on where to go, island trips (Skye, Mull and Iona to name a few) walks etc in Little Oaks. Ben Nevis is a few miles away, the Caledonian Canal runs through Banavie - nice to cycle or walk and Glenfinnan for the Jacobite steam train is close. Overall a great place to stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2018
Thank you very much for writing us a review upon your stay in Little Oaks.
We’re really pleased it lived up to your hopes and you were pleased with the accommodation. We have tried to incorporate all the little things that ensure guests feel at home during their holiday. Ideas such as the walk in wardrobe hopefully allow you to unpack, stow away your luggage and appreciate the sense of space.
Filling the bird feeders is now a daily occupation, but we are sustaining a large population, plus the pine martens overnight efforts to deplete the peanuts....
I’m glad you enjoyed the peace and quiet and hope we are able to accommodate you again should you return to Fort William.
Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendy M
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 12 September 2018 for a stay in September 2018

Lovely stay at little oaks. Spotlessly clean. Comfortable and peaceful. Enjoyed bird watching through the living room window.

Date of stay: September 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2018
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.
We are really pleased you enjoyed your time in Little Oaks & it provided you with a cosy base for your exploration of the area. The property has been specifically designed to provide our guests with peaceful, comfortable surroundings & all the modern amenities of home.
We are delighted these met your expectations & hope to see you again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful secluded location”
Reviewed 3 September 2018 for a stay in August 2018

Little Oaks is tucked away amongst wonderful scenery yet we were only 10 mins from Fort William and Ben Nevis. We found great low level walking in Glen Nevis and Caledonian Canal both 10 mins away. Little oaks has been presented to a high standard and comfortable to unwind in the evenings. Kate welcomed us with a home baked cake and was on hand with local knowledge of where to go and where to eat. Worth booking the Jacobite train in advance. A lovely location, one we would happily recommend to all.

Date of stay: August 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2018
Thank you for leaving us a lovely review.
We are really pleased Little Oaks met your expectations & you had a enjoyable, comfortable stay. It is indeed secluded & peaceful but within easy reach of the amenities and local sights.
Yes you’re right, the Jacobite steam train is a worthwhile day trip, but it does pay to book.
I hope you had a good journey home & we would be delighted to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DLea013
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfortable and peaceful stay near Banavie”
Reviewed 2 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Little Oaks is a wonderfully well designed and well equiped place to stay. It is spacious, has everything you need for your stay and a lot of thought has gone into the layout - there is a good sized bathroom with a large walk in shower a specific room to store baggage, clothing and whatever else you've brought along. The place is also immaculately decorated and completely clean.

Little Oaks is really well located - near enough to Fort William to get there quickly but away from all the tourist hustle snd bustle. It is set in a peaceful rural location within beautifully kept grounds, with a view of Ben Nevis and easy access to the Caledonian Canal, and lots of birds to spot. It is also well located to get to a range of beautiful lower level and mountain walks, to tour along the Great Glen towards Inverness and to tour along the west coast.

Kate is friendly, helpful and approachable and will offer advice and information about the area. She also leaves you a lovely lemon drizzle cake.

We really enjoyed our time at Little Oaks, were lucky with wonderful weather, hope to stay again and remember Little Oaks as all you could hope to come back to each day.

Thanks Kate and all our best wishes,

Ruth and David Lea

Date of stay: May 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2018
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to leave us a review.
It’s lovely to know Little Oaks met your expectations and you appreciated the little details we have included to make our guests comfortable.
The apartment has been specifically designed to provide spacious accommodation for people on holiday, with extra storage space and all the creature comforts, whilst being an easy distance from the convenience of Fort William & amenities.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and would be only too happy to welcome you back again.
Many thanks.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowantree...
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Luxury in Lochaber.”
Reviewed 20 May 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Having stayed in Acorn Cottage last year we were privileged to have seen this little gem 99% complete and before our return home had made a booking for 2018. Having recently stayed for two weeks in Little Oaks we can honestly say this accomodation is definitely 5 star, very comfortable and extremely well appointed. A lot of thought has gone in to the design and build quality of this new development.
Kate, the owner is on hand to help in any way to make your stay a very enjoyable and memorable one giving valuable info of the area which has much to offer.
I have had many self catering holidays over many years and I would rate this as probably the best holiday let I have ever experienced.

Date of stay: May 2018
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2018
Thank you for leaving us a review, it was a pleasure to welcome you back again. We are delighted Little Oaks lived up to your expectations and you had a relaxing stay over the two weeks.
We have tried to design Little Oaks around what guests need for their holiday with extra storage space in the kitchen & bathroom, plus the walk in cupboard to hide away luggage, clothes, shoes etc. So I’m glad you were able to appreciate those details and made it ‘home’ during your stay.
We hope you will visit us in Acorn Cottage or Little Oaks in the future.
Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
StephenB5...
1 review
“Perfect For 2”
Reviewed 8 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Little Oaks ticks all the boxes if you like a quiet location but is only a few minutes drive from Fort William. A very high standard of accommodation has been achieved by Kate. We stayed there in the middle of a VERY cold spell of weather and were lovely an cozy.

Date of stay: March 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Mar 2018
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to leave us a review.
We have endeavoured to provide our guests with a high standard of accommodation and are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
We are glad Little Oaks kept you toasty after a day in the hills and you were able to relax in the peaceful surroundings. Indeed, we have a quiet rural feel despite only being a short drive from Fort William.
We will be only too pleased to welcome you back when you next come to visit the area.
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
367tonyh
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation in great location”
Reviewed 24 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just spent a great week at Little Oaks it has everything you need for an enjoyable stay and is equipped to a high standard . Location is also excellent with great views of Ben Nevis and well placed for trips further afield such as Mallaig or Oban

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2017
Thank you for leaving us a review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay & Little Oaks provided everything you needed for a relaxing holiday.
We have endeavoured to supply all the equipment & comforts guests may like for their stay, so we're glad it met your expectations.
We would look forward to meeting you again if you venture this way.
Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing