We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant little gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banavie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenloy Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A friend introduced me to this B&B when I was on a work trip. Great for those on walking/outdoor trips. Not for those that want luxury but clean, pleasant owners and a lovely breakfast. If I dare say it such good value that I thing its under priced!!

Major bonus was that pine martins visit the house every evening!!!

Quiet location - this place is off a single track road about 6 miles out of Fort William

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

Really good value, a more traditional type guest house some might say a bit old fashioned but clean, spacious room, good shower, tea/coffee, comfortable guest lounge, etc. Good breakfast and pine martens a real treat - made my holiday. Jon extremely knowledgeable and obliging, really helpful with wildlife tips which enabled us to see red squirrels the next day with very little effort! Lovely quiet location just north of Fort William. Only downside nowhere local to eat - you have to drive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We booked for one night, stayed for two and wish we could have stayed longer. Next time we want to go on the wildlife holiday. We were well cared for and clearly if you love woldlife and want to spend time with kindred spirits you will love a break here. I was talking to a senior citizen that was on the wildlife holiday, they told me how kind Jon had been and how the wildlife holiday had been paced to their overall health and limited fitness.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawkwind1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just back from a week wildlife break. Jon and Angela superb hosts. Very knowledgable, wide range of habitats and wildlife. Taken to places you are unlikely to stumble upon by chance. Resident pine martens visit every night. Home cooked food excellent. Don't eat the cakes though. Have them couriered to me and I will dispose of them safely for you. Wildlife didn't always co-operate but I would recommend a guided wildlife tour at Glenloy Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Highly recommended. Rooms clean, quiet and comfortable. Our room had a lovely big shower and was very light. Friendly helpful proprietor. We were on a wildlife holiday which was excellent.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slowjoejak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Glenloy Lodge is set in a beautiful spot, with a little creek and waterfall, a tangle of mossy trees and, lovely wildflowers, and yes, the amazing pine martens. Jon is a great host, very friendly and with tons of local information.Our room was nicely decorated, the water hot, the beds comfortable. Breakfast was delicious thanks to Angela's behind-the-scenes work. It was very cozy to sit in the sunroom and watch the well-fed birds and pine martens coming right up to the door. You can chat with other guests, sketch, or just read one of the many books lying about. Walking along the nearby river, we spotted beautiful large black slugs--about the size of our yellow banana slugs in the San Francisco Bay Area! If we are lucky enough to visit Scotland again, we will definitely return here, and next time will sign up for one of John's wildlife trips!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill_and_Tim_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Very helpful friendly staff, roomy and clean, great breakfast. Good value

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aunty_minxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banavie hotels
0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
743 reviews
0 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
113 reviews
0 mi away
Culacrick Guest House
Culacrick Guest House
#3 of 4 in Banavie
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenloy Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenloy Lodge Guest House

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenloy Lodge is no longer running as a B & B business and would like to thank all our guests over the past 9 years for all their lovely comments. We are now specialising in wildlife holidays and trips and so if you're keen to come and see our resident pine martens or find out about the other great wildlife in the area then check out our new web site. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenloy Lodge Guest House Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing