We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay - and pine martens to watch!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banavie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenloy Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 July 2013

If you want to see pine martens then this is the place to stay! I had great views of them and saw at least two different adults and one kit over the course of about an hour. They get very close so you can take some good photos. There are also lots of birds to watch on the feeders and the surroundings are beautiful.
Clean comfortable room.
Freshly cooked breakfast.
Very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 79 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2013

If you want to stay somewhere with great views, wildlife, peace and quiet, this place is for you. Ideal location for walkers, cyclists, Munroe baggers, wildlife enthusiasts and anyone just touring Scotland. Talented and knowledgeable hosts (Jon and Angela) who can assist with your enquiries. Great breakfast. Wildlife viewing trips can be arranged. TV lounge available but an evening in the conservatory is far more enjoyable. It is 13-15 minutes drive from Fort William which is no bad thing. It is not at all a modern fancy accommodation, but that is the attraction and I just love it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CB2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

When we went here we had no idea what to expect. We were driving there and did not realise how far off the beaten track this would be. We were starting to get images of getting lost.
Really this was just a case of getting used to as it is not as far out as our imagination on day one made us think. But still you feel that you are in the middle of the forrest as you should with a former hunting lodge.
It is not the modern luxury type but it is inviting and homely. Those that cannot live without TV or internet (we were too far from the router to get it) need not apply. The website is clear about that so it was not a suprise and we got our internet fix in town, easy enough.
The place, rest, darkness and silence is enchanting. You immediately feel the stress of current society subside and are folded into the peace that the woods bring. You sleep in complete darkness and silence. We loved that aspect.

John is extremely nice and knowledgable about the nature that surounds you. He also knows about how to catch the Jacobite when you do not have reservations.
We liked the place a lot, but next time we'd be going for the wildlife experience he also offers.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DutchandKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

A friend introduced me to this B&B when I was on a work trip. Great for those on walking/outdoor trips. Not for those that want luxury but clean, pleasant owners and a lovely breakfast. If I dare say it such good value that I thing its under priced!!

Major bonus was that pine martins visit the house every evening!!!

Quiet location - this place is off a single track road about 6 miles out of Fort William

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Really good value, a more traditional type guest house some might say a bit old fashioned but clean, spacious room, good shower, tea/coffee, comfortable guest lounge, etc. Good breakfast and pine martens a real treat - made my holiday. Jon extremely knowledgeable and obliging, really helpful with wildlife tips which enabled us to see red squirrels the next day with very little effort! Lovely quiet location just north of Fort William. Only downside nowhere local to eat - you have to drive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alchemilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We booked for one night, stayed for two and wish we could have stayed longer. Next time we want to go on the wildlife holiday. We were well cared for and clearly if you love woldlife and want to spend time with kindred spirits you will love a break here. I was talking to a senior citizen that was on the wildlife holiday, they told me how kind Jon had been and how the wildlife holiday had been paced to their overall health and limited fitness.

Enjoy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hawkwind1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2012

Just back from a week wildlife break. Jon and Angela superb hosts. Very knowledgable, wide range of habitats and wildlife. Taken to places you are unlikely to stumble upon by chance. Resident pine martens visit every night. Home cooked food excellent. Don't eat the cakes though. Have them couriered to me and I will dispose of them safely for you. Wildlife didn't always co-operate but I would recommend a guided wildlife tour at Glenloy Lodge to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alastair F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
0.0 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
110 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 111 in Fort William
727 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Culacrick Guest House
Culacrick Guest House
#3 of 4 in Banavie
5 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Glenloy Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenloy Lodge Guest House

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenloy Lodge is no longer running as a B & B business and would like to thank all our guests over the past 9 years for all their lovely comments. We are now specialising in wildlife holidays and trips and so if you're keen to come and see our resident pine martens or find out about the other great wildlife in the area then check out our new web site. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenloy Lodge Guest House Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing