We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 10,5 out of 10!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banavie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glenloy Lodge Guest House
Ranked #2 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Scherpenzeel, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
259 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A 10,5 out of 10!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

If you are looking for the perfect place to stay book at Glenloy. The rooms are lovely decorated, cosy and have nice views. Breakfast is excellent, continental and full Scottish. The owners, Jon and Angela, run wildlife weeks as well. They are the perfect hosts and go out of their way to look after you. When you book a wildlife week lunch and dinner are included. Lunch is taken out in the field, dinner is, 3-courses, delicious. Angela is a great cook. They also have a sun lounge with stunning views towards the munros. For the people who can't do without tv there is a television room. They have loads of birdfeeders, a lovely garden and you get excellent sightings of pine martens in the garden. Its location is stunning, very close to the caledonian canal, Neptune's staircase and Fort William. I have spent 7 wonderful days there and look forward to returning soon!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Cora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
15
36
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton on Tees
Level Contributor
492 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place was recommended to me by members of my family. It is a bit further out of town than I might have wished- no walking to the nearest bar- but it is full of its own charms as well as the attention of the pine martins who kept us entertained. Good hosts- welcoming and helpful not intrusive. Hearty breakfast was appreciated. Decent showers in room and comfy beds. No problem and good value for money.
No TV in rooms but there is a communal one for those who cant manage without Match of the Day ( although the premiership takes 2nd spot to local games).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theflyingdoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
445 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Found on tripadvisor and was not disappointed. Go out road to Mallaig and follow signs turning right past Moorings hotel. About 5 mile out up a small road on left all signed. The people are friendly and the pinemartins visit was a great pleasure. Not the ritz but it has it's own charm. Breakfast was first class the little Easter eggs a fun touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We went to see the Pine Martens and were not disappointed, we got to watch 3 as they waited to be given some bread and peanut butter. We got a little worried when one got on the car and slide down the side but there was no damage done.

This was not the normal type of place we would have gone to stay, we do normally like a few more facilities but this was all about the Pine Martens.

The B&B is clean with the basic facilities you would need. Breakfast was very nice and we were pleased with our trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steph1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Received a four night stay as a birthday present from my family. We joined a Wildlife Group who were there for a week. Have stayed several times before at the Glenloy but never taken part in the Wildlife trips before. We had a fabulous time. We went looking for bats and moths after dinner on the first evening (with success), next day we had a trip up Glenloy seeing Slow Worms and Lizards as well as identifying many plants and wild flowers. This was followed by an afternoon trip to Glen Roy where he wildlife was scarce but we viewed the parallel roads (a legacy of the ice age). On Monday we sailed to Eigg and Muck, the weather was beautiful and we had a really lovely day, a walk across Muck and viewed the waders and the seals who were sunbathing on the beach. An early start on our last day out at 6am to see the Black Grouse lekking and an Otter in Loch Linnhe. Jon has a wealth of knowledge and the whole experience was made even more enjoyable by Angela's wonderful cooking.

We had nightly visits from the local Pine Marten family who entertained us with daring acrobatics along the window sills and sliding down the windscreens of cars in the car park.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. It was a nice stay and staff was very friendly.
The lodge is located outside of Fort William but that makes it quite relaxed. Breakfast was good, nothing special.
But our room was pretty humid and smelled a bit. We had to keep the windows open during the night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gren00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at Glenloy in June 2013 for one of their wildlife holidays, recommend by friends. It was truly memorable and we were very well looked after throughout the week.
John is an attentive and very knowledgeable guide, arranging distinctive trips each day and ensuring we got the best out of all the different types of terrain we visited. We spent time in the attractive glens, on loch shores, on the seas coast and we were surprised that a full day’s boat trip to Muck and Eigg was all included in the price of the week. His knowledge encompassed birds, mammals and insects as well as their local whereabouts and we saw plenty of each, learning a lot from our guide each day.

We were equally well cared for by Angela in the comfortable and clean guest house. We appreciated a lovely choice at breakfast, a simple packed lunch and, for wildlife holiday guests only, I understand, a superb three course meal each evening. Advertised simply as “full board” we had not expected meals of such a high standard, really very good!

No review could be complete without mention of the other residents of Glenloy Lodge, the pine martens. The adult female is a well established resident and comes to feed (and entertain the guests) each evening. The week we were there she chose to bring her young out of their den for the first time so we had even more to enjoy – all the more so as the inquisitive youngsters come through our open ground floor window one night and I had the pleasure of a nose to nose encounter with one of the kits!

This was a great holiday. It is run as a group holiday so be prepared to spend all day with your fellow wildlife enthusiasts and this would make it easy for those travelling on their own to join in and benefit from all the two brilliant hosts have to offer.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
465 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
668 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Huntingtower Lodge
Huntingtower Lodge
#3 of 112 in Fort William
460 reviews
0.0 mi away
Torlundy House B&B
Torlundy House B&B
#1 of 5 in Torlundy
258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Treetops
Treetops
#5 of 112 in Fort William
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenloy Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenloy Lodge Guest House

Property: Glenloy Lodge Guest House
Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenloy Lodge is no longer running as a B & B business and would like to thank all our guests over the past 9 years for all their lovely comments. We are now specialising in wildlife holidays and trips and so if you're keen to come and see our resident pine martens or find out about the other great wildlife in the area then check out our new web site. Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glenloy Lodge Guest House Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing