We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“like home”

Carinbrook Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banavie
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carinbrook Guest House
Ranked #4 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed there for 1 night, we arrived unanounced (because of a double booking in another b&b). Heather is very welcoming, like a second mom... she took care of us, and provided us of a lot of information of fort william.
the room is excellent, good bed, clean, nice bathroom, extra's and all you need in the bathroom (shower caps, shampoo, douchegel,...), towel warmer.
Excellent breakfast, I asked 1 boiled egg and she gave me one with an option of a second if i wanted it boiled longer (they were both good).
view on the ben nevis,
I'm going there again!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 33 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here mid July for 2 nights while touring in Scotland. Was offered tea and cake on arrival at no extra charge (never had that before). Room clean and comfortable although I did bump my head on the sloping ceiling a few times, although the view of Ben Nevis more than made up for this. Liked the finishing touches including shampoo, shower gel, strawberry tea bags and decaff coffee. Breakfast was good with some interesting options such as smoked haddock fish cakes. The landlady Heather was quite chatty and friendly with good standards but not sure if she would take any prisoners. Ample parking and near Banavie station for the train to Mallaig, but no local shops. Overall one of the better guest houses I stayed at while in Scotland.

Room Tip: Front of the house upstairs to see the Ben.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TowerHamletsCinemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I stayed here in June for 2 nights and could easily have stayed longer if only to try all the different variations that were available for breakfast. My room looked directly to the top of Ben Nevis. The very good Moorings Restaurant is near by and Neptune`s staircase, also a small unmanned station where you can catch a diesel train to Mallaig (well worth doing). Landlady(Heather) was friendly and keen to help with all kinds of information. Room spotless.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank outofelgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Nos trasladaron a esta guest house desde Mansefield Guest House. Están separadas por 200 metros.

Ventajas: Desayuno y atención excepcional. Cerca de la carretera.

Desventajas: Los alojamientos en la zona son bastante caros.


We were moved into this guest house from Mansefield Guest House. They are about 200 meters apart.

Advantages: Outstanding Breakfast and service. Near the main road.

Disadvantages: In general, accommodations in this area quite expensive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mapaymochila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

A welcoming afternoon tea and chat about the local area and its history was much appreciated by two tired Aussies. We were also greeted with an unusually clear view of Ben Nevis.After a short rest in our very comfortable room we took a short walk along the locks to a pleasant little pub for our evening meal.Breakfast was well presented and delightful including everything generally presented as a Scotch breakfast but also a bowl of prunes, yoghurt and honey, just delightful. We also enjoyed the Vegemite on offer, the only time we saw it in eight weeks of travelling in rhe UK .Heather we have no hesitation recommending "Carinbrook" to our friends. Our stay with you was pleasant comfortable and informative.

Room Tip: Look for ****
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Peter and Pat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

We stayed just one night with Heather at her home. She made us very welcome giving us tea and home made cake on arrival. Our rooms were super, very clean and with everything you could possibly need- a real gem of a b&b. A great breakfast the following morning too! Highly recommended.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Carol E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2012

It's hard to add anything to what 'stayfocussed' of Edinburgh and 'FloydsDickieBow' of Cheshire have written -- excellent welcome, tea and cakes; friendly, informative help from Heather and her husband; lovely, comfortable and quiet room; delicious breakfast -- everything was excellent, and it was good value! Ignore 'TonkK95' of Glasgow -- there's always one!

Whilst in Banavie we enjoyed walking along the canal and around the woodland walks near Loch Leven -- flat, easy routes compared to Ben Nevis! We also went to Fort William station to see the steam train, and later rode the diesel train to Malaig for a fraction of the cost but with the same views. For two nights we ate at 'The Moorings' -- good food and an easy walk from the B&B, and on the final night we went to Ben Nevis Inn and enjoyed their food and the live music (see their website for details, and also see my TA review and photos). The icing on the cake was to watch the 'Lord of the Glens' go past the swing bridges and start up 'Neptune's Staircase'

Carinbrook Guest House is an excellent B&B and a good location for walking and lots of other things -- not just climbing Ben Nevis!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HowieD101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Banavie hotels
0 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
740 reviews
0 mi away
Torcastle House B&B
Torcastle House B&B
#1 of 4 in Banavie
112 reviews
0 mi away
Culacrick Guest House
Culacrick Guest House
#3 of 4 in Banavie
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carinbrook Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carinbrook Guest House

Address: Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range: £60 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Carinbrook Guest House Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing