We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great views, amazing and helpful owners.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Mountain View

The Living Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Room
Mountain View The Main Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
63 reviews
The Living Room
Mountain View
The Main Bedroom
The Kitchen
The Caledonian Canal
The Hall
The Dining Room
Mountain View in winter
The Wee Bedroom
The Bathroom
The Canal Towpath
Neptune's Staircase bounds the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 63 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
joanabick...
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great views, amazing and helpful owners.”
Reviewed 12 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We couldn't had been happier at Mountain View. Not only Tom was willing to take us to Glasgow if our dog wouldn't be allowed on coach( due to mud slide in one of train stops) but he also brought us a dog bowl and blanket as I forgot it. Beautiful area to walk with your kid and dog. Everyone is so friendly and open. We shall return Thank you Julie and Tom.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The D
1 review
“Wonderful Mountainview ”
Reviewed 18 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

This was our first stay in Scotland from the end of March to early April and we couldn't have asked for anywhere better than Mountainview. From the welcoming cake to the roll-top bath, Mountainview's homely feel, with everything you need and of course the lovely view from the kitchen window. The location was perfect for a whole range of outdoor activities in and around Ben Nevis and not far from Fort William. There were loads of maps and info on walks and other activities, which were really helpful. We loved absolutely every minute of our time here and hope we're able to return next year. Thanks for a wonderful holiday :-)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MatWatkin...
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Perfect Home From Home”
Reviewed 25 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We booked Mountain View because of its closeness to Aonach Mor and the Nevis Range ski area, because it's dog friendly and because there's parking for two vehicles. How lovely to see these beautiful mountains, every morning! The flat's really well equipped - everything you need including the bits people forget - like salt, pepper, washing up liquid and clothes wash. The rooms are spacious and comfortable - we visited with friends and no-one got in anyone else's way. Evertything's just a short walk away (The Lochy pub - very welcoming) or a drive - Fort William is beautiful, there are plenty of excellent places to eat and drink, all serving top quality food. The owners, Tom & Julie are easily contactable if you need to know anything that isn't in their comprehensive information guide. And our dog, Enzo, had fabulous time - he's adopted and doesn't suit kennels, so it was a huge relief to be able to take him and to be made so welcome. Star of the mountain, too! Thank you for making our stay so memorable - we'll definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: We didn't dislike anything at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katandtob...
Egham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment with spectacular view”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were met at the apartment by the owner, Tom, who gave us a great introduction to the area and ideas of things to do. The apartment was spotless and perfect for a family of 4.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viv-L18
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 9 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

This was such a gem of a find! From finding the cottage online, contacting the owners about availability, the pre-stay information pack everything was handled with professionalism as well as a personal and friendly touch. The apartment itself was excellent, spotlessly clean and just what we wanted. The kitchen was well stocked with pots, pans etc with everything you would need. The wealth of information on walks, bike hire etc was a great help and reading the visitors book was really informative, some great ideas on where to eat and visit. Finally the location was perfect, you walk out of the back garden right onto Neptunes staircase with a great view of Ben Nevis range, it was far enough out of town to get the quiet we wanted but still close enough to everything we would need. If we are in Fort William again we will definitely be staying here (assuming its not already booked!)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thof69
Mannheim, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect week in an perfect apartment”
Reviewed 2 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Mountain View was an ideal base for touring Glen Nevis, Glen Coe, the Road to the Isles and Ardnamurchan. Well equipped, great views to Ben Nevis, close to restaurants and shops in Fort William. We had a splendid week and a very nice contact to Tom and Julie.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela S
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely location but not as expected”
Reviewed 29 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Mountain View is in a very great location, especially if you're planning on exploring the Lochaber and surrounding areas. However, the house we expected was not a house and the siutation we expected was not as correct as the description (in our opinion). Their was quite a steep winding staircase to navigate to get into the appartment as it was the top floor of a house. There were also steps internally to access some of the rooms, I would not have booked this accommodation had I know this due to mobility problems. The internals of the porperty are very clean and well maintained, the double bed was not very comfy and we also found that the property was quite cold and had to put the heating on quite a bit to warm it through. Facilities in the kitchen were great, it was very easy to make a family meal and all the amenities you needed were in place. Bathroom was great with a large bath and shower facilities.
The title of the property is Mountain View and yes you got a mountain view but it was also described as being on the caledonian canal, which it was, but you couldnt see unless you went out of the property to the back of a garden and passed the trees which blocked all of the views. We expected the house to be facing the canal and be able to view the boats from inside the house but we couldn't. I cannot fault the location at Banavie, nor the distance to a local eatery (50 yards).
We did have a problem with the intermittent TV signal and this made relaxing on an evening quite a chore as the programmes kept freezing and jumping and that free wifi internet stopped working which we reported and I am still waiting for someone to come and fix it or at least telephone/contact me to reinstate.

Summary to my review - not a good place to stay if you have mobility problems and the double bed needs upgrading to kingsize and deeper mattress. The TV signal is not good and from our experience the wifi didnt work properly either. Would we book it again - No - would I recommend it - possibly, this would depend on that persons circumstances.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: too mainy stairs - mobility problems, uncomfortable bed, poor TV and WIFI
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing