We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travelled as a couple”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Torcastle House B&B
Ranked #1 of 4 Banavie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This place is a bit remote but the directions were very good and if followed you will have no difficulties. However the tunnel will make you stop and pause before driving through very slowly. However it is worth the challenge as the place is stunning and unspoilt. You could almost imagine a troll living at the end of the tunnel just like the Grimm fairy tales. This place is charming and the welcome is warm. The breakfast / living area has beautiful views of Ben Nevis and our accommodation was very comfortable. I must also mention the hens clucking freely and the two pet sheep which add to idillic setting. And not to forget their three well behaved dogs. There is also two cats but we never saw them about, probably out exploring.
We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2012

We loved our stay here for two nights. The drive down to the house is very unique with a Italian Job style tunnel that adds to the excitement. When you get the house the view is stunning, we haven't stopped taliking about it. The bedroom was very comfortable and clean as well as incredibly homely. There was a brilliant breakfast made using their own chickens eggs and a handy fridge for guests to use.
We really cannot speak highly enough of the welcome we received and how at home we felt here. Many more visits planned.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miriam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We stayed as a family over the Easter holidays for three nights and would haved loved to have stayed longer if our schedule had allowed. We had a fantastic time, with much of the credit going to the friendly service provided by the Linfield family.

The highlights were many, but really the best - having two animal lovers along - were all the animals. We were allowed to help feed Lilly, the one week old baby lamb, petting Hector and Primrose (the adult sheep) and playing with Molly, Rilley, Anna - the three family dogs.

The B&B is very clean and well appointed. Beds were perfect (firm but not hard.) Maybe it was the clean Highland air, but personally I slept better than I had in a long time. Breakfasts were great with scrambled eggs that couldnt be any fresher!

The location is tops. As mentioned in other reviews here, the location is secluded but yet close-by to Ft. Williams. (The last 1/4 mile drive to the B&B was great fun with the trip through the tunnel). Also, very lovely and romantic walks around B&B to include the Tor Castle ruins by a picturesque bend in the river.

Incidentally, we found Ft. Williams to be overall very centrally located and was the perfect place to serve as a base location to make one-day excersions throughout the Highlands.

Highly recommmed this B&B.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amurray160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

We stayed at this B&B for two nights when visiting Ben Nevis, and it was wonderful. It's in a beautiful, quiet setting, but only five minutes drive to Fort William. Ilona and Gavin were perfect hosts, the room was very well decorated and comfortable. We had wonderful breakfasts whilst looking out to Ben Nevis. We particularly enjoyed a walk along the river at the end of the field. A truly wonderful stay, we'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maddietta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

If you are looking for a great place to stay in the west of Scotland, Torcastle House B and B has got to be the place. Nestling, as it does, with a handful of other cottages and chalets on a little 'island' between the Caledonian Canal and the Rive Lochy, just north of Fort William, the approach is quite unique. Reminiscent of a scene from The Italian Job, when the three minis are chased down the city's drains, the only way in and out of 'the island' is through a stone built culvert that passes under the canal. Once through you are greeted with the magnificent peaks of the Ben Nevis Range right before you. A few more twists and turns and you arrive at the newly built Torcastle House.

You will not be disappointed, the accommodation is all brand new and first class with great attention to detail. Our double bedroom, called Heather, had a large comfortable bed with a duvet that seemed to grow thicker as we slept. An amazing breakfast of whatever you want, at whatever time you want it, is served in the comfortable lounge / dining room with the view of those majestic snow topped mountains through the patio doors.

Free range chickens, who provide the eggs for breakfast, roam the grounds freely and look in through the doors. Primrose, the sheep is in the field below the house along with two brown and black pigs. There are also three wonderful dogs who love any attention you give them and a six day old lamb called Rue. Beyond the field you can access the pebble beach by the river and the ruins of the original Torcastle, although there is not much left!

If you walk left from the house you can pass through a recently felled forest to the tow path alongside the canal. We saw deer running through the trees alongside the canal and all manner of birds. With the mountains as your backdrop, this is beautiful spot to spend some quality time.

Ilona and her husband Gavin run a fantastic home from home, where nothing is too much trouble. They are great hosts and we look forward to enjoying their hospitality again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nosmadanai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Excellent B&B. Very quiet. Great views onto Ben Nevis. Excellent breakfast with own free range eggs and own sausage. Warm and friendly hosts. Our parents have also enjoyed our 4 night stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2012

Torcastle House was the first B&B we stayed at on our trip to Scotland and it was one of the most comfortable and enjoyable stays ever.

I especially remember the sumptuous breakfasts every morning with eggs fresh from their own hens, baked beans, sausages, black pudding and some great tea. My daughter (then 3) loved sitting by the window and looking at the hens wandering about outside.

The rooms are very comfortable with a personal touch and the place provides a very peaceful sleep at night.

I would unreservedly recommend this place and look forward to staying here again some time in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aharol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
3.1 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
1.3 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,000 reviews
4.0 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
565 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Factor's House
The Factor's House
#16 of 21 in Fort William
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torcastle House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torcastle House B&B

Address: Torcastle | Banavie Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7PB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Banavie
Price Range: £64 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Torcastle House B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torcastle House is our family home. Newly built in 2010, we offer a high standard of accommodation and welcome you to stay with us to enjoy the stunning and peaceful setting at Torcastle. Torcastle is accessed through a tunnel under the Caledonian Canal, nestled between the Canal and the River Lochy. Although we are only 5 miles from Fort William it feels like world of its own. Perfect for spotting wildlife including Deer, Red squirrel, Pine Marten, Otter, Heron and stunning natural woodlands to wander through listening to the Owls and Woodpecker. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Torcastle House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Torcastle House B&B Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing