We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely perfect”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

Stayed here, for a cycling trip, the Hotel was excellent, The rooms were spacious, clean and very comfortable. The Bar had a lively atmosphere and the food was of restaurant quality with 'bar prices'. The location was perfect, next to Neptunes Stair case, giving wonderful views of Ben Nevis and Loch Linnhe.Would highly recommend this Hotel and plan to stay again next time we're up that way

Room Tip: Luxury room for £15 extra, is worth the small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claverhouse1689
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    296
    213
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
87
352
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

We drove around Fort William looking for a nice hotel to stay in and found this place about 5 minutes out of the main town on the main road to Oban. This isn't the easiest place to find, but it is signposted, ask locals were the cannal locks are (named neptunes locks I think). We stayed 1 mid-week night in May
The lady at reception kindly showed us 2 rooms, one with 2 seperate beds and one large room with a very large dble bed. Initially, the price of a dble room was too much for our budget (budget of 60-80 pounds a night for a room). But, the lady offered us a cheaper rate for the large dble room. We decided to stay even though the price was still a alittle more than budget.
The room was very nice, ensuite bathroom, tea/coffee, clean, super kind sized bed, very nice view of Ben Nevis and cannal locks, very quiet.
We wanted to eat at the bar restaurant that night (nice extensive menu), but it was too busy, so we ate in town. Had a very nice breakfast the following morning.
Overall, this was the best hotel we stayed at in Scotland during our short trip, although we did pay a little more for the comfort. Very polite staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Ben Nevis and cannal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kiwipome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

This hotel is old, but it is clean and the restaurant is pretty good. Breakfast was great and included in the price.

I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janbo47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in 1980 and decided to return on our way to the Outer Hebrides.
Upgraded to a superior room which was very nice overlooking the Nevis mountains and the Neptunes Staircase locks. A good walk on the canal and then back for a real gormet dinner which was exceptional fine dining which we did not expect as we were on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. Great breakfast which meant we did not need to worry about any lunch!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louandalex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stairs27, Director of Sales at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2011
Very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, hope you manage to come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

Our first stay at The Moorings and already looking forward to going back. We were there with other family members for the 3 day NewYear break. From the moment we were welcomed on arrival and shown to our well appointed superior rooms until the manager and owner said goodbye and thanked us for coming, we felt as if we were valued guests. A truly unusual experience in Scotland now it seems that staff go out of their way to be friendly and helpful and genuinely want you to enjoy your stay.
The food was consistently excellent, breakfast, lunch and dinner. Compliments to the superb and creative chef! entertainment also excellent, from the ceilidh bands to the whisky/liqueur tasting and the quiz...
Best things about The Moorings?...the friendly, competent and fun staff. The food. The rooms. Views. Walks along canal. Good atmosphere.
Lots of fun to be had at this hotel, cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather-in-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

This is our third visit to this hotel for our annual dinner/dance. The hotel is warm and comfortable with very good bar meals as well as a more formal restaurant. The rooms are well appointed with everything you might need and the staff are welcoming and professional. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twitcher36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yekaterinburg, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2010

Lovely place, I want to return... <3 I felt cosy at the Moorings Hotel.
The hotel has a beautiful view. And Neptune's Staircase is quite near.
Great!

Stayed August 2010
Helpful?
Thank beethoviana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
768 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
958 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing