We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great overnight stay in Fort William”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great overnight stay in Fort William”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We booked at late notice and were delighted to be offered an upgrade to a superior room for the price of a standard room. It was one of the rooms in the new part of the hotel, just about as far away from reception as possible but once we completed the trek, the view of Ben Nevis and Neptunes Staircase was worth it. The customer service was superb with an early and pre-ordered breakfast prepared for us in the dining room so we could make an early departure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALIP18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    298
    213
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
88
353
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Moorings hote in Fort William and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were big and spotless. They also were wonderfully decorated. We only ate in the bar, but the food was great. And so much choise to pick from. Can't wait to go back!!

Room Tip: The rooms were spotless
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caledonian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

Never been anywhere quite so pretentious overcharged twice no apology from staff just awful

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chuppachop63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stairs27, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2011
Could you please contact the Hotel Manager directly regarding any problem you had as we have no means of rectifying any issues unless we can determine who served you and when you were here. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borders, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2011

stopped for a pint and ended up having a delicious bar lunch. Had a beautiful steak pie and my husband had roast lamb dinner. One of the nicest lunches we had. Would definately go again. Nice cheery barmaid. Not expensive either.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tevia406
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

The food that we were served was inedible and dangerous. Chicken bone in child's chicken nugget, blood in chicken breast and red raw beef burgers.... then when the chef said he would rectify it, back came a re heated burger to the wrong person with a bitten section on the edge of the plate .....

We were all very ill the following day.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mac2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stairs27, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 12 July 2011
We are extremely disturbed to read your review, can I just clarify that I believe you had a bar meal not a restaurant meal, however whichever area you ate in we are sincerely sorry that you did not enjoy your visit. Obviously we would not knowingly serve Chicken Nuggets with a piece of bone in, we have contacted our supplier of this food item and notified them that we will not purchase from them if they cannot supply a sound product. They are currently consulting with their manufacturer. With regard to the undercooked burgers the first one sent back was taken away and a completely fresh dish prepared - with regard to the second two sent back you were quite specific that you just wished the existing burgers to be cooked further. Chef then provided fresh burger buns, cheese, bacon, salad and chips, the burgers were cooked further and had in his opinion not been eaten just sliced in to, however our waiting staff should have been absolutely certain which guest was to get which plate. We sincerely apologise if there was any mix-up.
We are extremely sorry that you did not enjoy your meal please be assured your review will be taken very seriously, we hope this experience will not discourage you from visiting our establishment again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

We stayed for 2 nights on the way to the Isle of Skye. The room was a little small and we wished we had booked a superior room. I would have like a 5' bed. But our room had a lovely view over Ben Nevis.
The food in the bar was excellent and the staff very friendly and attentive. Try the Balmoral Chicken - breast of chicken stuffed with haggis and wrapped in bacon - delicious.
It was a shame that the breakfast staff were not the same.The two girls looked as though they had had a hard night and it was so difficult to catch there eye at any time.But it didnt spoil our stay.

Room Tip: Book a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hellvelyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stairs27, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and will look very careful into the points you raised concerning breakfast service. As you pointed out some of our standard rooms are small however we hope you liked the amenities in the room and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. Very friendly reception and staff. And excellent food in the restaurant. Spacious clean and quiet rooms - but be prepared for a long walk to the superior rooms!.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing