We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from room no 29”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
138 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Stay away from room no 29”
Reviewed 14 August 2011

I booked a single room by www.booking.com The price was 120£ including breakfast and Internet. When I came to the hotel, the friendly young lady in the reception told me that they had tried to reach me by e-mail because they had only one room left (no 29) close to the reception and it was different compared with the room I had booked.

The lady showed me the room. I could smell detergent in the small dark room. The lady told me that I could cancel the reservation but as I had seen from my car several B&B offers in the municipality with a “No vacancy”sign outside, I asked them to reduce the price. So they did. I got the room for 80£ including Internet and breakfast.

Unfortunately I couldn’t sleep that night. The bed was too hard, it smelled too much detergent, it was too much noise leakage from other guests. And the breakfast? It was OK but not more than that.

At the hotel’s nice homepage I read: “One of the most desirable hotels in the Scottish Highland”. I hardly believe that because I have seen hotels in the region much better than this! But the homepage wants to introduce the hotel as luxuary but the hotel is a three star property. However, room no 29 is absolutely only a two star room and closer to one star than three. So offer this room for 80£ is to exploit the situation that it’s not enough with rooms in this part of Scotland in August. So if they had charged 50£ for that room, it had been a normal price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Someishere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    216
    87
    30
    15
See reviews for
90
358
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Excellent accommodation and food and the staff were VERY helpful.
Don't let the out of town location put you off as the proximity to the canal and all it's own facilities mean that there is plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roisinphysio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2011

My wife and I stayed for one night on our holiday further north. One arrival were shown to our room and were pleasantly surprised. We had a small lounge area with settee a couple of chairs, table and flat screen television. Bedroom area was nice with plenty of wardrobe space. Bathroom was also good size.Had a meal in the bar area which was beginning to get busy. Found the service to be very attentive.
Breakfast in the morning was mainly table service and very nice.
Overall I found the hotel to be very nice and the staff very helpful.
I would have no hesitation in booking again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archibaldbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

was very worried after reading reviews, but have to say really surprised room lovely and clean.
the restaurant and bar food both tasty even for a fussy husband and unlike other reviews we both found staff extremely friendly and efficent thanks we will be back

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fergie090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I stayed here just a few days ago with my partner. Reception staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms were very spacious with views of the canal and Ben Nevis. We ate in the restaurant as it was a special occasion! The food was fantastic and the service first class! The hotel is within very easy reach of the town centre will definatly be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Walkabout_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

I visited the Moorings Hotel during a very fortunate period of nice weather in Scotland and enjoyed it immensely. We booked a standard room origanilly but were upgraded on arrival to a superior room that enjoyed views of the Neptune's Staircase and the mighty Ben Nevis. The staff were very friendly throughout and the food in the restaurant was well above expectations. The girls on reception were very helpful and managed to book us on the Hogwart Express that runs from Fort William to Mallaig - delighted my partner as she is a huge Harry Potter fan :)

Will certainly be back!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Runningman4682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We chose the Moorings for our 2 night stay at Fort William because of the reviews and it's location. The location is lovely, right on Neptune's Stairway, and this is definately the best aspect of the hotel. We enjoyed stolling beside the canal and watching the boats move through the locks.
The hotel itself is ok. It is very dated (circ 1980's decor) and with little amenities. The freshly cooked breakfasts are a plus if you like a fry up. The healthier cold buffet option is adequate. We ate in the bar on our first night but gave it a miss on the second. My fish special was ok but my husbands burger was thin, dry and without much taste. The service fell apart half way through when we had to chase for my dessert after half an hour and after drinking our coffees which should have been served after the dessert.
Our bedroom was small and adequately furnished with little room to move around. Only one half of the wardrobe could be opened because the furniture was so squashed. It was clean enough but had a damp or "toilet" smell which was only kept at bay by having the windows in both bedroom and bathroom open all the time. We were lucky to have good summer weather, but had it been cold then the open window trick wouldn''t have been an option.
At £130 a night for B&B, I feel the hotel is overpriced. When I booked I thought the cost would be justified by the hotel offering some unique factor, like outstanding food and/or service/decor etc but it is a fairly average small hotel in need of a makeover and worth no more than £100 a night in high season.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScotlandArtDeco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing