We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic hotel - we will be back!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel - we will be back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a fantastic time. Came away for a holiday break with good friends and we enjoyed every minute of it. A bit of a walk into Town Centre so wouldn't do that again. Everything else was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Our room was perfect. The staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend the Moorings to anyone wanting some time out. We visited the Ben Nevis Mountain Range and went up in the Gondolas - Unbelievable views. We also went on the Jacobite Steam train up to Mallaig - marvellous. We will be back. Soon I hope..

Room Tip: Room 8 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 639alayneclark639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    293
    211
    83
    29
    15
See reviews for
85
347
19
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

All in all a good experience at the Moorings .
Arrived very late and night manager very helpful.
Here on work but manged some excursion time - probably the closest hotel to the Nevis itself !
Rooms are comfy and the ones overlooking the canal are lovely and quiet.
Good internet and services generally - i guess it has recenly been refurbished.
Food just "ok".
No other facilities within walking distance - its a couple of miles out of town.
Fort William itself is surprisingly a bit of a dive so the Moorings on the edge of town and on the canal is a great alternative if you dont mind being away from the town.

Room Tip: Get a canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

The team and myself are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay and the location by tNeptunes Staircase. We do offer free Wifi throughout the hotel (has become a necessity to travelers) but unfortunately the weather is out of our control, however, we will make a request for your next venture to Fort William.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

just returned from 2 nights stay at the moorings the room was excellant well worth the upgrade to canal side, very clean and all modern facilitys but not in a obtrusive way. staff were all excellant from our arrival to departure went out their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Ate in the bar and found food freshly prepared just a wee bit expensive for a bar menu,
Breakfast no complaints what so ever.
Overall when back in Lochaber we will be looking to return to the moorings

Room Tip: Definatley worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review the Moorings Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are all very happy you enjoyed your stay and look froward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

Lovely position close to Caledonian Canal. However that was the best that coyld be said of this hotel. Reception very rude. Service in the restaurant very slow meal booked for 7.30pm not served until after 8pm and sweets came at 9.45pm.
Food very mediocre with no choice on set menu.
Would not recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking your time to review the Moorings Hotel on Tripadvisor,

Noted was our location, we enjoy terrific views of Ben Nevis and being based by Neptune’s Staircase offers terrific walking opportunities, a huge plus for the Moorings Hotel.

I can only apologise if a receptionist was rude, we endeavour to offer the highest customer service and will sit down with the reception team in the near future to address any problem areas.

I am disappointed you didn't enjoy your meal in our award winning Rosette restaurant. Our Head Chef works tirelessly to prepare a daily changing menu that offers a choice of 5 starters, 5 main courses and 5 desserts, a very reasonably selection for a restaurant offering Rosette standard.

The Lounge Bar offers more selection if ever required, not fine dining but still very good after a long day touring or on the hills.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

The family room is quite spacious and there is a curtain to divide the kids' and the parents' area. The hotel itself is a bit outdated, but clean. The breakfast is big, but I didn't like the quality of the food.

Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank We_love_travelling5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review the Moorings Hotel on Tripadvisor.

Our family room is a credit to the hotel, offering a family of 3 or 4 a spacious and comfortable room. I am disappointed you didn't enjoy our food, our Head Chef endeavours to provide good pub grub in our Lounge Bar and a more refined meal in our Rosette winning restaurant.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Staying at Fort William for the West Highland Way running race. Arrived at midnight and were well looked after by the night porter. This personal service was continued throughout our stay. The deep bath was very welcome after a 95mile nonstop run. Every member of staff were friendly and attentative.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We are a small hotel with a vry personable team, I am glad you enjoyed the teams hospitality that I am sure you required after completing such a difficult race, well done.

I hope to see you after next years event.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012 via mobile

We have stayed here twice now whilst walking the West Highland Way. It is a little off the beaten track of the WHW but a short easy bus journey from the centre of Fort Wm. The rooms are extremely comfortable, warm and spotlessly clean - our ensuite had a deep bath which was most welcome following our long hike that day! Toiletries are supplied. We chose to dine in the hotel on both stays - the first time due to being too tired to go elsewhere, the second time due to the memories of the outstanding delicious food on offer! Nothing is too much trouble for the staff here. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WHWWalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Your excellent review is much appreciated by all the staff and myself. As you said we are not in the centre of Fort William but that is precisely the reason we enjoy our fantastic location on Neptunes Staircase and views of the dramatic Ben Nevis.

Well done for completing the WHW!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.8 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 758 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#9 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing