We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay!”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely stay!”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My friend and I had a lovely two night stay at the Moorings Hotel. We chose the Whisky Package: two nights B&B with one dinner, a room upgrade and a whisky tasting - a great deal! The hotel is very well maintained and the staff friendly and helpful. Our room looked on to the canal and the Nevis range, and the beds were very comfortable. Minor gripes were the eratic wifi signal, the very low and uncomfortable sofa in the room, and the fact that there was nowhere obvious to plug in the kettle (we had to put it on the floor!); but none of these were a big deal, really.

Contrary to some reviews, we thought the food was excellent! Service *was* a little disorganised at breakfast (we still hadn't received tea and coffee one morning or been asked for our order, yet a couple who came in after us had both) but the food was very good throughout our stay (including our packed lunch!).

I've stayed in a few hotels in this area over the years, and The Moorings could certainly teach some of the others a lesson or two. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyjo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    229
    96
    33
    16
See reviews for
95
382
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We spent two nights in Fort William and after walking the length of the high street "menu reading" we decided there was nothing whatsoever to entice us. There are a couple of pubs with transport cafe type meals on offer and a choice of Chinese and Indian that did not look too appetising, so we looked elsewhere. There are one or two very good looking Seafood restaurants but we just wanted "Pup Grub" and fortunately found The Moorings, a canal (Caledonian) side hotel with a restaurant and bar food. We were spoilt for choice with the bar menu and having enjoyed the first nights meal, returned the following evening. The food is good (not fantastic) the atmosphere is also very good but the service a little slow and it appeared (?) that some people were being served out of turn. However, it is not MacDonalds, so unless you are looking for fast service this is worth a visit. They had a guitar/vocalist on both nights who was not brilliant but did add to a pretty enjoyable couple of nights. We would not hesitate to eat here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Relionme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

The Hotel Staff give a nice warm welcome and the hotel is clean and fresh, although it was exceptionally hot and stuffy throughout. When on check-in you are asked "Would you like a newspaper in the morning?" one would assume it was free, in fact the implication is that it is a 'service' - it is not! - we were charged a daily 80pence for a 50pence paper! The hotel is in a spectacular setting especially if you love watching ships and yachts and making their way through Neptunes Staircase. Unfortunately the food and service in the lounge bar and breakfast room is frustratingly poor in every way. We had to ask 4 times to give an order yet other people sat down and were served immediately. We asked for '2 Cans of Diet Coke' The male bar tender/server handed us two tall glasses filled to the top including ice (not asked for) and handed them to us by putting his whole hand over the top of the glass and surrounding the tops with his fingers! Unclean and not good service standards. It was not diet, nor was the 'slimline tonic' I asked for the day before. The food was poor quality (Prawn Crackers served with Sweet and Sour Chicken were stale, Sugar Snap Peas were stringy and unedible....) and during breakfast we were shown to a table then waited ages to be given coffee and were surrounded this morning by 4 tables which had not been cleared, even although the restaurant only had two occupied tables and two members of staff serving! My mushrooms were swimming in liquid which swamped my already cold scrambled eggs.
On our first day we asked if something could be done to stop the banging of the fire door beside our room (No 18) all other fire doors had cushioning to stop them closing hard. On the second day and another conversation regarding the fire door ensued. Nothing was ever done. On our last night at 22.30hrs someone went through the fire door with such a force it smashed into the hall side wall of our room and woke us both with a terrible fright. On inspection this force had broken plaster on the wall!! Wifi was not available - they had had problem for several days - although I had it confirmed by email that it was available just the day before we arrived.
Another interesting fact about room 18 is that the light switch is behind one of the single beds and if you lean on the headboard the light goes off - so forget about reading in bed! So after two sleepless nights we left the hotel. £133 per night wasted.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BusyMStirling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We had a fantastic time. Came away for a holiday break with good friends and we enjoyed every minute of it. A bit of a walk into Town Centre so wouldn't do that again. Everything else was wonderful. The food was fantastic. Our room was perfect. The staff were very friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble. I highly recommend the Moorings to anyone wanting some time out. We visited the Ben Nevis Mountain Range and went up in the Gondolas - Unbelievable views. We also went on the Jacobite Steam train up to Mallaig - marvellous. We will be back. Soon I hope..

Room Tip: Room 8 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 639alayneclark639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2012

All in all a good experience at the Moorings .
Arrived very late and night manager very helpful.
Here on work but manged some excursion time - probably the closest hotel to the Nevis itself !
Rooms are comfy and the ones overlooking the canal are lovely and quiet.
Good internet and services generally - i guess it has recenly been refurbished.
Food just "ok".
No other facilities within walking distance - its a couple of miles out of town.
Fort William itself is surprisingly a bit of a dive so the Moorings on the edge of town and on the canal is a great alternative if you dont mind being away from the town.

Room Tip: Get a canal side room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

The team and myself are extremely happy you enjoyed your stay and the location by tNeptunes Staircase. We do offer free Wifi throughout the hotel (has become a necessity to travelers) but unfortunately the weather is out of our control, however, we will make a request for your next venture to Fort William.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Renfrewshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2012

just returned from 2 nights stay at the moorings the room was excellant well worth the upgrade to canal side, very clean and all modern facilitys but not in a obtrusive way. staff were all excellant from our arrival to departure went out their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable.
Ate in the bar and found food freshly prepared just a wee bit expensive for a bar menu,
Breakfast no complaints what so ever.
Overall when back in Lochaber we will be looking to return to the moorings

Room Tip: Definatley worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaylena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review the Moorings Hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are all very happy you enjoyed your stay and look froward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skipton
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Lovely position close to Caledonian Canal. However that was the best that coyld be said of this hotel. Reception very rude. Service in the restaurant very slow meal booked for 7.30pm not served until after 8pm and sweets came at 9.45pm.
Food very mediocre with no choice on set menu.
Would not recommend

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cloverSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorings_Manager_12, Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2012
Firstly, thank you for taking your time to review the Moorings Hotel on Tripadvisor,

Noted was our location, we enjoy terrific views of Ben Nevis and being based by Neptune’s Staircase offers terrific walking opportunities, a huge plus for the Moorings Hotel.

I can only apologise if a receptionist was rude, we endeavour to offer the highest customer service and will sit down with the reception team in the near future to address any problem areas.

I am disappointed you didn't enjoy your meal in our award winning Rosette restaurant. Our Head Chef works tirelessly to prepare a daily changing menu that offers a choice of 5 starters, 5 main courses and 5 desserts, a very reasonably selection for a restaurant offering Rosette standard.

The Lounge Bar offers more selection if ever required, not fine dining but still very good after a long day touring or on the hills.

Kind Regards

David Macdonald
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
538 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
936 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,011 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing