We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch at the Moorings”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Was there with her indoors and a couple of friends on Easter Weekend. Had a superb lunch in the upstairs bar which was expeditely served by a very friendly waitress. Will be coming back here for more.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dennis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (725)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

529 - 535 of 725 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights pre-Easter. Simply excellent service right from our initial greeting and we were escorted to our room (views of Ben Nevis and the Caledonian Canal). The hotel is a bit upstairs/downstairs/round a corner style, but I liked this. It added character. The room was fantastic. Large double bed and you could have put a double bed in the bathroom!
We ate in the bar each evening. Good variety on the menu and excellent fare.
This hotel makes a great base to explore the area and staff are happy to make suggestions. Plenty of gentle walks can start right at the hotel. Neptune's Staircase is right beside the hotel and a post breakfast walk into Corpach and back is good for both body and soul. You could follow a small potion of the Great Glen Way and walk into Fort William and back.
Happy to recommend this hotel,

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the Canal, you will also get views of Ben Nevis as a bonus
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avajd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We stayed here for two nights with our dog - this meant we could only book a standard room Although we would have preferred the superior room, the standard was ok, a bit small but very clean and comfortable with everything you needed.
We got a lovely welcome including our dog who had a nice big bed with three welcoming biscuits and a little note.
The breakfast was good, quality ingredients and real butter which you dont see much of these days in hotels. The hotel bar is nice and comfortable although we did not eat in there.
The hotel sits on the canal and is a good walk. You can also see Ben Nevis from certain rooms.
Fort William itself is a small, quiet town and mainly attracts walkers and climbers.

Room Tip: Choose a superior overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrsBrightside23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Stayed here with a colleague, booked a superior room which was massive with huge bed and tv, very comfortable and luxurious. Staff were very professional, helpful and friendly. Bar and food was a very high standard and very tasty, as was breakfast the following morning. Very picturesque views from room too. Lovely hotel in beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kromeandtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My best friend recently got married here is was fantastic and the staff where so helpful setting up in the morning
The room are dated but clean are airy
The staff ate wonderful and are very present and willing to help which I think is priceless
Prices off meals are average and food is highly average
Well worth asinday lunch

Room Tip: Stay in a family they are a great size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lottie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

We spent an overnight here in December.

The hotel is very well located next to the canal in the village of Banavie, just off the main road to Mallaig, a couple of miles outside Fort William. Private parking is provided for guests. The staff were great throughout, friendly and welcoming. The hotel bar is a pleasant spot for a drink and serves good food which drew in a lot of non-residents just to eat. Our rooms (one double and one twin) were very clean but also pretty dated in terms of furnishings and decor although they did have flat screen tvs and excellent free wifi. The only real issue was the double bed which was very much on the small and hard side-as a result our sleep quality was pretty poor and thus this hotel gets only an average rating overall from me. The cooked breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank je22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We spent two nights on the hogmanay package. It was everything they said in the description and more. The staff were incredible- always there to help nothing was too much trouble. The food was very good and the range of dishes was amazing we had a 7 course dinner on hogmanay it was very impressive. The breakfast was great . The entertainment was very good the whisky tasting and the quiz were real high points - i was not sure about this at first but the host was a very knowledgable and funny bloke who made it very entertaining, The venue is great for a party - enjoyed the dancing and the fiddlers who were great . All in all well worth the money and we had a great time from start to finish. The hotel was immaculate in all areas. The view from the hotel was truly incredible - looking straight at ben nevis and the neptunes staircase! WOW

Room Tip: We chose the room upgrade so we looked out one window to ben nevis and one to the neptunes staircase...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmartin174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
586 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
998 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
564 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: £74 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing