We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel, good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Uk
Level Contributor
156 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel, good location”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Situated beside the series of locks known as Neptune's Steps on the Caledonian Canal, and with a view to Ben Nevis, this is a great location. The hotel is warm , welcoming and comfortable.
We had a superior double room number 20. Decor is pine and chintz, The bathroom , though small, is fresh and clean with plenty of hot water, good shower pressure and a heated towel rail.
Breakfast was excellent, with a wide choice inc kippers and haddock as well as the full Scottish .
There is an a la carte dining room , but we just chose from the excellent bar menu.
All the comments in the visitors book were favourable.
There are stairs and some steps and a long corridor, so this would not anyone with a mobility problem.

Room Tip: A room with a view to the canal and Ben Nevis . Anyone with limited mobility would have a problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OTG26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    213
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
88
352
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-shire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Really impressed by the friendly personal service from this privately owned hotel. The views of Ben Nevis with snowy slopes were amazing and there is always activity as boats go up or down Neptunes Staircase on the Caledonian Canal.Delicious food too. Room was very comfortable

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wyvis20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2013

From the reviews we weren't sure what it was going to be like but took a chance because of the location. It was better than we thought it would be. The staff cannot be more friendly and helpful and made our two night stay really wnjoyable. Our room was big, clean and the bed was so comfortable. We had one meal there as well as breakfast and were not disappointed, the food is very good. Would love to go back again next Easter as there is so much to see in the area.

Room Tip: Ask the staff anything, they couldn't be more helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Everything was prefect but be prepared there are long corridors with a few steps No lift. Excellent breakfast although there was an al carte menu for fine dining in the evening we ate in the bar food and menu were great and service very good.
We had a room looking out to Ben Nevis and over looking Neptune's Steps.
Will return when next that way.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Captkjl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestAustralia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed at this quaint hotel for one night. Lovely helpful staff. Location next to Neptune's staircase series of locks on the Caledonian canal is fab. Good wifi. Great views to Ben Nevis Food at the bar and restaurant good too. Recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denizen09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

have just returned from a three night stay in a family room at this hotel, on first impressions, i found the room very dated, it's rather 70's with nothing matching, but the room was clean, the beds were comfortable and it was nice and warm. for breakfast we were given toast, and were able to order a freshly cooked breakfast which was very nice, theres also a large help your self table, with juices, cereals fruit ect. We ate in the bar a few times, they do good home made chips, but the food and the drinks dont come cheap, it's £18 for steak and chips. the staff are a very friendly lot, and nothing is too much trouble for them. ,

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

After cruising the length of the Caledonian Canal, we ate in the "upper deck" at The Moorings Hotel, which was comfortable and quiet with the most amazing view of Ben Nevis. The food was excellent - especially the trout and the sea bass. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philipgt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
768 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
958 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing