We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uninspiring menu and slow service”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I can't comment on the hotel, only the weekday lunch we had there after visiting Neptune's Staircase. The hotel and its bar are right next to the bottom lock, so we thought we'd drop in for something to eat and drink as it was a hot day and the hotel's garden tables looked decidedly inviting. The hotel's bar turned out to be a rather dated affair, but given that we were going to sit outside, we ordered and sat down outside in the sun. The drinks turned up fairly quickly, including the tea for the 'cream tea', but not the scone. We then waited, and after 20 minutes my wife's salmon turned up, and then another wait for my scone, and then another wait for my sons' sandwiches. The service was friendly and courteous at all times (they apologised for the delays, even though we hadn't commented), but was slow and disorganised, despite the fact that there were few people in the place. Overall the food was fairly uninspiring considering the prices, witness my scone, which was small and suspiciously regular in shape (and I've had plenty in my time to compare it to), and was served up with a small jar of breakfast jam and some packets of butter rather than the pots one normally expects.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gayterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

517 - 523 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

On holiday in self catering accommodation near by we thought it would be a change to try the Moorings for an evening meal. We certainly were not disappointed with the quality of food served and the service was excellent. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank geordienorth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed at The Moorings for two nights as we were climbing Ben Nevis. The hotel is in a lovely location right next to Neptune's Staircase which is a series of locks on the Caledonian Canal. It is fairly easy to find and has a large car park.

Check-in was friendly and the receptionist insisted on showing us to our room which was nice of her.

The room was on the small side and a little dated/worn but had everything we needed including a flat screen TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free mineral water. It looked clean on the surface but there was dust in places like on the telephone. The bathroom was modern and nice and even had a window however there were a couple of long blond hairs about (I'm brunette). Our room (number 7) was over the kitchen which did get a bit noisy at times in the evening when we were trying to sleep but we sleep through anything so it wasn't a big issue for us.

We ate in both the restaurant (booking required) and the bar and both served fantastic food. The service in the restaurant was great. Breakfast was served in the restaurant and was very nice.

There was a form you could fill in if you were going walking so they could check you had returned safely (you must ensure you inform them when you return safely!) - we appreciated this.

Check-out was quick.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah4884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during a tour of the Scottish Highlands. Rooms are simple, but adequate. Restaurant food in the bar was outstanding. The breakfast bar and menu made sure you had sufficient nutrition for the day. Staff very friendly, polite and helpful. If you needed something, they would do their best to get it for you. Great view of boats going through the locks.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We had opted for a Superior Room and it was well worthwhile. Our room number 26 was a generous size with comfortable chairs and table situated by the window with superb view over the Caledonian Canal and the Neptune Locks which run alongside the hotel. Also views of Ben Nevis if the weather is clear which it was while we stayed. Always fascinating watching the activity through the lock gates with boats of various sizes traveling through. The room suited us very well but it is worth adding that the meander through the corridors and up and down stairs would not suit the less able.
We found the bar meals of good quality and quite a good choice and we chose to eat in there each evening of our 5 night stay. Staff in the bar area were all very friendly and the service was good. Breakfast had a good choice of cereals and fruit and the cooked breakfast was generally well cooked. A slight disappointment was that the breakfast area did not have any window tables overlooking the garden area.

Reception staff were always very friendly and helpful and volunteered to arrange a taxi to get us to Fort William in order for us to join the Jacobite Steam Train. In fact the train travels through Banavie Station so can be seen just a few hundred yards from the hotel a short walk down the canal side. Overall we very much enjoyed our stay here and will certainly return when we are next in this delightful area.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior Room overlooking the canal, but bear in mind these a little bit of a walk up and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countrylover09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2013

Booking, arrival and reception were all very good. However, we were DIRECTED (not taken) to our room. On openong the door we were met with a burst of heat. It was one of the heatwave days. The maid had not left any windows open, nor had she closed the curtains. Thankfully there was a small mobile fan on the dressing table and the windows did open wide, but no air conditioning. We coudn't cool down the room enough before retiring to bed, so we had a bad night. No fridge in the room to keep drinks cold. Had to go down to the bar to get some ice.
Whilst there I checked out the bar menu and it was over priced and uninviting. I checked the dinner menu and found the choice very limited, so we drove down to Ft William to an excellent Chinese Retaurant for dinner. It was only then that we found we were 3 miles outside Ft Wlliam at a place called Banavie, so it meant just a single glass of wine with dinner!!!
The room was average, but the toilet was not screwed to the floorand rocked when you sat on it. It is a not a hotel to which I would retrun

Room Tip: We had to settle for a Standard Room. They have Superior Rooms with King Beds which appear the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Visited with friends for an evening meal. However disappointed with limited choice on the menu for vegetarians. The meals that we did order were adequate and enjoyable. The decor and furnishings could do with some updating.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Rhona C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
608 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
622 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing