We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“FANBLOODYTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Ash, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“FANBLOODYTASTIC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

As part of our travelling holiday around Scotland, my Girlfriend and I decided to base ourselves at The Moorings hotel for 5 nights. And we are so pleased we did. This is a fanstasticly managed hotel. The staff are brilliant. We were welcomed on arrival. Shown to our rooms and had all the amenities explained. This hotel has everything. Great bar. Good bar food. Excellent resturant with supurb food and service. Nice gym. Super views. Plenty of parking. Nice downstairs bar. And the rooms are clean, bright and have amazing views of Ben Nevis and the Locks. But the one thing that stands out more than anything else is the staff. They are amazing, helpful and enjoy a bloody good laugh!!! I wish we had stayed longer but will defo be returning. I cant rate this hotel high enough. Enjoy.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    299
    213
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
88
353
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kilmacolm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

Cannot understand why anyone should write negative reviews re this hotel.
My wife and I recently spent our third year staying at the hotel on B&B basis and ate at the bar
area at night.
The staff as usual were delightful and helpful and the room spotless and comfortable.
The evening menu was varied and very tasteful as was the breakfast.
We always make a point of staying here as part of our journey north, and would not consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archibaldbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a good hotel and well situated . Clean (very in rooms etc) .. The bar is a bit dated 80s dark wood gloomy .

Rooms: Perfect and. Good size TV ..
Wifi : poor strength , I ended up using my phone signal
Meals: we're good . And plane ( a small issue with my. Main meal .)
But was picked up quick without me complaining and sorted out well .
Staff: very good and well trained .
Was nice to see a good use of local people .

Overall I would defiantly stay again .. And my dog enjoyed it too
Rember and don't take liberty s with your dog put him/ her in the car when at dinner. And mind the furniture ... Don't give us dog folk a bad name ...
Thanks to all the staff from . Josh (woof)
And the dog bed and biscuits

Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank alba4u2enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

After visiting 2 hotels in Fort William (Premier Inn and Alexandra) that were awful, the hotel was recommended by the tourist office of FW. It is less than 10 minutes drive from FW. We loved our stay there. Staff was very friendly and helpful, prices were reasonable, rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. They don't have an elevator but a young porter helps you with your luggage. Breakfast is good and rich and waitresses are helpful and friendly. Lots of parking. Only problem I had was that the internet signal was weak and unstable.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Following a car accident on the way to Oban, we were finally being discharged from hospital at 2.30am. Most hotels were fully booked, not answering phones or had unmanned receptions. We called the reception here and from that moment they could not have done more to support us, giving us very clear directions, ensuring we were as comfortable as possible, allowing us to check out 'when we were ready', calling another ambulance when one person blacked out in the morning, giving us a late breakfast, and generally being very supportive. I cannot rate their service high enough. The rooms had a lovely view over Neptune's Staircase.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

Eleven of us descended on the moorings for a bar meal and we were looked after very well. The staff put tables together for us. The service was smiling and fast and the drinks and the meal were served very promptly. I had the west coast salmon and it was delicious. Thank you all for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highlandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Stewart, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel, in a beautiful location. Would defo stay here again. Nothing more to say!!. :) ok this has to be at least 200 charectars, so, the young blonde girl who booked us in was very pleasant . Parking was ace. (Parking is extremely important if you've ever stayed in a British city centre hotel)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#12 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing