We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service and Food”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Mrs Sunderland and I have visited the Moorings a couple of years ago and returned again on a number of nights during our weeks holiday in the area this year.
The food is reasonably priced, always served hot and is of good quality. This year we had the haddock, the lasagne and the burger and we weren't disappointed with our choices at all.
There was plenty of staff to look after you and all were pleasant and attentive, and meals and drinks were always served with a smile.
Looking forward to visiting again next year.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSunderland73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

507 - 513 of 740 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2013

As part of our travelling holiday around Scotland, my Girlfriend and I decided to base ourselves at The Moorings hotel for 5 nights. And we are so pleased we did. This is a fanstasticly managed hotel. The staff are brilliant. We were welcomed on arrival. Shown to our rooms and had all the amenities explained. This hotel has everything. Great bar. Good bar food. Excellent resturant with supurb food and service. Nice gym. Super views. Plenty of parking. Nice downstairs bar. And the rooms are clean, bright and have amazing views of Ben Nevis and the Locks. But the one thing that stands out more than anything else is the staff. They are amazing, helpful and enjoy a bloody good laugh!!! I wish we had stayed longer but will defo be returning. I cant rate this hotel high enough. Enjoy.

Room Tip: As for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Cannot understand why anyone should write negative reviews re this hotel.
My wife and I recently spent our third year staying at the hotel on B&B basis and ate at the bar
area at night.
The staff as usual were delightful and helpful and the room spotless and comfortable.
The evening menu was varied and very tasteful as was the breakfast.
We always make a point of staying here as part of our journey north, and would not consider anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archibaldbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a good hotel and well situated . Clean (very in rooms etc) .. The bar is a bit dated 80s dark wood gloomy .

Rooms: Perfect and. Good size TV ..
Wifi : poor strength , I ended up using my phone signal
Meals: we're good . And plane ( a small issue with my. Main meal .)
But was picked up quick without me complaining and sorted out well .
Staff: very good and well trained .
Was nice to see a good use of local people .

Overall I would defiantly stay again .. And my dog enjoyed it too
Rember and don't take liberty s with your dog put him/ her in the car when at dinner. And mind the furniture ... Don't give us dog folk a bad name ...
Thanks to all the staff from . Josh (woof)
And the dog bed and biscuits

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank alba4u2enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

After visiting 2 hotels in Fort William (Premier Inn and Alexandra) that were awful, the hotel was recommended by the tourist office of FW. It is less than 10 minutes drive from FW. We loved our stay there. Staff was very friendly and helpful, prices were reasonable, rooms are nice and beds are comfortable. They don't have an elevator but a young porter helps you with your luggage. Breakfast is good and rich and waitresses are helpful and friendly. Lots of parking. Only problem I had was that the internet signal was weak and unstable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Urido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Following a car accident on the way to Oban, we were finally being discharged from hospital at 2.30am. Most hotels were fully booked, not answering phones or had unmanned receptions. We called the reception here and from that moment they could not have done more to support us, giving us very clear directions, ensuring we were as comfortable as possible, allowing us to check out 'when we were ready', calling another ambulance when one person blacked out in the morning, giving us a late breakfast, and generally being very supportive. I cannot rate their service high enough. The rooms had a lovely view over Neptune's Staircase.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pete w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Eleven of us descended on the moorings for a bar meal and we were looked after very well. The staff put tables together for us. The service was smiling and fast and the drinks and the meal were served very promptly. I had the west coast salmon and it was delicious. Thank you all for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlandlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
611 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
624 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,017 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: £73 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing