We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality all the way!!!”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Absolutely enjoyed our 1 night stay here, started with lunch in the bar (before we checked in)with the best service from Yvonne. Service at check in was also great, shown to our room which was a bit of a hike but had a view over the canal and was a great size. Room was fairly modern and all facilities were available and appreciated. Also decided to have dinner in the bar, great meals at good prices before journeying downstairs for a couple of hours entertainment from the comedy musicians in the wine bar. Cannot fault this stay, will certainly book again if we are ever back in the area, one of the highlights of our road trip, well done Moorings Team.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingScorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Thank you for writing us such a brilliant review, it is great to hear that you could not fault your stay. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (713)
There are newer reviews for The Moorings Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

472 - 478 of 713 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2013

Stayed here for three nights. Friendly & helpful check-in staff. Room clean and large with all facilities. Food very good tried both the bar meals and restaurant meals and not disappointed. Scottish full breakfast excellent and set you up for the day. If you get chance try to get one of the rooms overlooking the Caledonian Canal with a backdrop of Ben Nevis in the distance but the only down side as previously reviewed is the long walk from reception.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camvad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review - feedback is always appreciated especially when genuine. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay, as you commented some of the higher superior rooms are a bit of a trek but worth it for the views. We hope you will be back to visit with us again when next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is in a fabulous scenic location, but that's about as far as it goes. The decor is TIRED, old, barely maintained and the rooms have the feeling of a 1970's Travelodge.

Decent amount of parking, but it ends there.

Tired, outdated bathrooms, worn mattresses, tired furnishings.

Then there is their "premiere" restaurant Neptunes. Avoid, eat in the bar, it looks like someone's den in 1972 and is as welcoming as a NHS waiting room.

I am so disappointed to write this as given the year we're in, it wouldn't break their back to put in new carpets, repaint, new furnishings and really have an amazing place.

We won't be back.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else unless you're expecting 1970's flashbacks...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S6blr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review. We appreciate not everyone has the same taste in décor and furnishings and we would point out that our restaurant is undergoing refurbishment this winter. We would also point out that both Visitscotland and the AA have upgraded us to 4 star within the last 18 months. As you will see from other recent reviews the majority of our guests have been delighted with their visit, we are sincerely sorry you did not like our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night and had a great time. On entering the hotel we were greeted by two friendly and helpful women. We had our booking confirmed, were told about breakfast and dinner at the hotel and then shown to our room (28). Fabulous, spotless room with lots of space and a view of the Caledonian Canal from one window and the canal and Ben Nevis from the other. The bathroom was large with lovely toiletries and large, fluffy white towels. We took ourselves out for a wander along the canal for a walk and to check out the locks. After that it was back to the hotel for a drink, then dinner. The staff were friendly and helpful and cheery and the food was excellent (we ate in the bar). Next morning breakfast was well cooked and served by more lovely people. My husband was particularly impressed with the breakfast as his sausage, bacon and black pudding had been grilled and were not sitting in a pool of grease. Check out was quick, efficient and friendly. We would love to return for another visit soon. We loved our room (28) but be prepared for a walk if you are lucky enough to get this room.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you so much for your excellent review - it is always good to have helpful, positive feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and hope you will return in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Stayed here to attend a wedding, from check in to check out the service was excellent.The rooms were spotless and housekeeping staff were pleasant and helpful.
We had bar snacks on arrival and enjoyed them, tatties,neeps and haggis was very tasty.
The wedding reception was lovely and the staff superb, everything went smoothly and all guests enjoyed the meal.
Would recomend this place without any problem
Thankyou to all the staff who made everybody so welcome.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on canalside nice and quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, General Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your great review - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back when you are next in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here whilst up to climb the Ben, we couldn't have asked for a better base. Room overlooked the canal with a Ben Nevis backdrop. Room super clean and very relaxing with all facilities. Staff from booking to check out couldn't have been more helpful.

Food - imaginative menu using locally sourced produce excellently cooked and presented. One further plus for us was provision of a packed lunch, the quality of this was also to a very good standard and enhanced our day on the hill.

If you are staying in the Fort William area, this is a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KWGBAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Comfortable, clean, lovely helpful staff and good food! This hotel makes an excellent base for those who enjoy mountains and countryside. Some of the most beautful scenery I have ever seen is only a short trip away.

Room Tip: This is a small hotel, so all rooms have good views, rooms to the back have excellent views over Nep...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
599 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
980 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
550 reviews
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: £72 - £140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing