We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Moorings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$155
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Nevis Bank Inn(Fort William)
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$876
US$821
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ossian's Hotel(Fort William)
US$118
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Cruachan Hotel(Fort William)
US$316
US$299
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Highland Hotel(Fort William)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The West End Hotel(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Lime Tree(Fort William)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (762)
Filter reviews
762 results
Traveller rating
345
252
108
39
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
252
108
39
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsneptune's staircasecaledonian canalnew extensionbistro restaurantben nevissuperior roomlovely hotelbar mealsbottled waterlounge bartwo night staylovely roomthe jacobite steam trainspent two nightsfort williamroom was largedining room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
501 - 506 of 762 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Stayed here overnight to attend a golden wedding party. Hotel, food, staff and bedrooms were of a very high standard and the staff made us feel very welcome. We will certainly visit again as we loved every minute of it. Thank you.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Fraser M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Fraser M,

Many thanks for such a wonderful review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your time here with us whilst attending the Golden Wedding Anniversary Party.

We hope to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind regards,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I'm born and bred Scottish now living in the USA. Bringing my American family and friends to Scotland leaves me fraught with anxiety, Scotland's service industry leaves a lot to be desired! However The Moorings hotel was a complete joy. Service was first class, all the staff were outstanding. We ate in the restaurant which was out of this world. Small annoyance was the same limited menu the second night of our stay. But, it did make me choose venison, not a fave choice of mine and it was delicious.
The room was top class with every amenity including WiFi, robes & slippers and a great tea & coffee supply. The hotel was quiet, cosy and very clean.
Every effort was taken to make our stay more comfortable.
The prices in the bar were pretty decent and a good selection of alcohol available.
All in all a fabulous two days getaway and we shall return!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank LindaScho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear LindaScho,

Thank you for visiting us on your trip back to Scotland. It is wonderful that our service quality put you at ease. Thank you for complimenting our staff, they are a credit to us and comments such as yours help to keep their morale high. We are glad that you appreciated the facilities in your room and found your meals in the restaurant to be delicious. We do try and vary our restaurant menu daily, however out of season this is not always easy. Hopefully we've converted you to venison, with our tasty dish. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to welcoming you back next time you are visiting Scotland.

Kind Regards,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in one of the superior suites over valentines weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our visit. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, the room was clean, comfortable and had beautiful views of the canal and mountains. This was especially nice with the snowy weather. The breakfast and restaurant food were superb and there are packed lunches available to order which were perfect for day trips. The location of the hotel is ideal for travelling in and out of Fort William and other landmarks nearby (we went to the Highland Wildlife Park). Would definitely recommend this hotel to potential visitors!

Room Tip: Superior suites were quiet and had good views of the mountains and canal
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fi0na93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear Fi0na93,

Thank you for writing us such a great review. I hope both yourself and your boyfriend had a lovely time up in Fort William (and the surrounding area) over Valentine's weekend. The views from our Superior Bedrooms are exceptional, looking towards the Caledonian Canal and Ben Nevis, it does look wonderful when the snow is down on the mountains. Thank you for your recommendation and hopefully we can welcome you both back for another visit again soon.

Best regards,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

we stayed in a superior room No 22 which overlooked the locks at the rear of the hotel also nice mountain views. Room was large bathroom lovely, bar meals were a little average for the price, didn't use the restaurant so can't comment. All staff are very friendly and helpful. The room had two single beds put together to form a superking, quite a comfy bed, very clean well run hotel

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank mark1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear mark1961,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. It is wonderful to hear that you found your bedroom to be comfortable and clean and could take advantage of the beautiful views our Superior rooms offer, of the Caledonian Canal and Ben Nevis. We hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived from Edinburgh to a warm greeting from the reception. Having asked for a late checkout on the Sunday, this was confirmed.. A friendly conversation, usual hotel chat then we were escorted to our room. The room was a touch dated but I base the room on how it feels more than anything. Modern rooms always end up looking horrendous. This room made my partner and I feel very much at home and relaxed - surely the idea? Nice tv and a dvd player as well as robes and little slippers. Bathroom was big and fresh too. Spent the evening at the hotel bar where we had superb food. Seriously impressive. The bar staff and the young waiter/barman were very attentive. I had the rib eye whilst my partner had the steak pie. Slightly pricey perhaps but (I've seen comments from people mentioning small portions) you get a lot for your money. We still managed 3 courses.

Not much else to say really. Bed was comfy, nice breakfast (no Haggis or potato scone though!) and the staff were ALL superb. Every member of staff we saw smiled and said hello. Not to patronise either but a lot of the staff were young and really impressed both of us. They genuinely seemed to want to talk to us and make sure we were ok.

Wouldn't think twice about recommending this hotel.

Great bed for the night and superb food in an absolutely beautiful location.

See you soon!

Martin and Jo.

(apologies for typos I'm on my phone!)

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Martyboy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear MartyBoy84,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lengthy and positive review on your stay here with us. We are thrilled that you felt so at home during your stay and that you were so satisfied with your meal. Our staff are a great asset to us and very much enjoy chatting with our guests and getting to know them.

We hope you had a safe journey back down to Edinburgh and hope we can welcome you back soon for another stay here at The Moorings.

Kind regards,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews