We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely relaxing stay”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely relaxing stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Stayed at the Moorings for two nights. We booked a summer break with the hotel direct. This included dinner 1st night and a picnic lunch for the 2nd day. The dinner was lovely and well served. The picnic had a choice of sandwich filling and a nice selection of goodies in a picnic backpack to take on our train trip to Malliag the next day. All the staff were friendly and we were shown to our room on our arrival. The room looked onto the road at the front of the hotel with views of Ben Nevis to the side. The room was clean and comfortable with a well stocked toiletries and tea and coffee supplies. In all a lovely stay and would recommend a stay at the Moorings.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robinsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Robinsa,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and it is lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay here with us on the Summer Picnic Special offer. I hope you enjoyed your picnic on the train and your day out in Mallaig. Thank you for recommending us and we hope to see you back in the not too distant future.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    229
    95
    33
    16
See reviews for
95
381
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent two nights at the Moorings Hotel. The staff were welcoming and we were shown to our room, which does not happen very often. The room was spotless and there was everything included for example, toothpaste,shaving razor, sewing kit and slippers. All wrapped hygienically.From our window we had a view of Ben Nevis and behind the hotel are the eight locks of Neptune's Staircase. We ate in the restaurant on both nights and the meals were excellent.Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arquebus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Arquebus,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at The Moorings Hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the extra toiletries in your room and hopefully the tea and coffee tray too. We do have spectacular views for our guests to appreciate during their stay. It is wonderful to hear that you chose to dine in our restaurant on both evenings and had an enjoyable experience.

We hope we can welcome you back to us again soon.

Kind regards, The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed at a The Moorings for 2 nights when climbing Ben Nevis. We thought the hotel was superb and in an ideal location. As we were travelling with our dog we were allocated a standard room but we couldn't fault it, the room was spotless and well equipped. We ate in the restaurant both nights as the food was excellent, breakfast was also good. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and very helpful nothing was a problem. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluTiggeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear BluTiggeroo,

Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. We hope you enjoyed climbing Ben Nevis and had some decent weather for it. We do try and accommodate those travelling with their dogs and have certain standard bedrooms which we allow them in. Hopefully your dog found their bed to be comfy and enjoyed the dog treats. It's great to hear that you enjoyed your evening meals in our restaurant and that our staff were helpful and friendly.

We are looking forward to seeing you back here sometime in the future.

Best wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Located part way up the 8 lock Neptune's Staircase so great place to watch boats going up and down.. My room had lovely views across to the mountains and over the Caledonian Canal. Very friendly and helpful staff, booking multiple taxis no problem and let me sneak into the breakfast room early as I was away before the opening time. Very good room, good wifi coverage. Very comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank panda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear panda60,

Thank you for writing such a brilliant review. It is great when our guests get the opportunity to watch boats coming up and down the locks. Thank you for mentioning how helpful our staff were from booking you taxi's to serving you an early breakfast, we do pride ourselves on our helpful and friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you back to us for a stay sometime soon.

Best wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
torquay
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stayed here on 6/4/14 for 1 night wish it could of been longer.
Room we had was divided into three areas, Sleeping, Sitting and Shower/Bathroom. lots of nice extras, Slippers, Dressing Gowns, Iron and Board, DVD Player ect.
We only had Breakfast so can't comment on Restaurant but menu looked very good.
Wold certainly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corfuduo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear corfuduo,

Thank your for your review of your stay with us here in Room 5 which is our suite, with a separate seating/TV area. It is great that you enjoyed the extras that were in your room for your use.

We hope to welcome you back in the future, maybe you can enjoy a meal in the restaurant next time.

Best regards,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridgeshire
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed her for one night whilst touring around Scotland. Did not pre-book and once we saw where the hotel was situated and how it looked were very pleased when they had a room available. Our room overlooked the canal with Ben Nevis in the background. Yes it would have been excellent if it had a bigger window that you could have sat and looked out of but as we were only there for the night it was fine. Our room was a good size with a very comfortable bed. The en-suite was brilliant. So very, very clean and sparkling and it was much larger than many we have stayed in. Proper bathroom size, not just a small cupboard. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, which was most enjoyable. Breakfast the next morning was excellent and so we left the Mooring well rested and sated for the days touring.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank farmerswife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear farmerswife09,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We do have a wonderful location with views over to Ben Nevis and Neptune's staircase next to us where you can watch the boats coming up and down the locks. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your evening meal in the restaurant and your breakfast. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour and maybe we can welcome you back sometime in the future for a longer stay.

Best regards,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

I like to be up and about at the crack of dawn (nice and quiet). The night watchman could not be any more helpful or polite asking if i would like a cup of tea at 5.30 am and checking if everything was ok from time to time.
I can't recall any hotel staff showing such genuine interest in a guest as this true gentleman did.
Thank you for my much needed early morning drink

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear William W,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. Thank you for your praise of the service you received from our Night Porter, we will be sure to pass this on.

We hope to welcome you back for a stay with us again in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
536 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
930 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,010 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#15 of 21 in Fort William
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing