We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Lodging”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a lovely hotel, small, but very nice; the outdoor areas/garden were inviting, and sits right on Neptune's staircase. This made for a very nice evening stroll. The breakfasts were well stocked with cold items and the staff would gladly serve hot items as requested. The evening meal we had left something to be desired and the manager seemed to be "put out with" our group as we were late being seated due to a traffic mishap. The staff refused to add additional seating and said there were seats for the numbers in our group and although a small table was adjacent to the area, they were not inclined to set up so that people could spread out a little. In short, not very accommodating. Perhaps they simply don't care for tour groups. If I returned to Scotland, I would give them another try because of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lochs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Mimi911,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Our garden and outdoor patio area is looking lovely at the moment with all the flowers blooming. Neptune’s staircase and the canal path is perfect for an evening stroll as you say, with amazing views as well. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast; we do have a cold buffet with a cook to order hot option too from a Full Scottish Breakfast to Kippers. I am sorry to see your negative comments regarding your evening meal and I have done some investigating into this. With regard to the unfortunate traffic incident and delay in the group arriving for dinner, it was explained to your tour organiser that we had a prior booking for another party, coming in directly after your group, therefore if we appeared a little un-accommodating we are extremely sorry but circumstances demanded we re-organised the dining area quickly. We try to ensure that all guests, whether with a tour group or individuals, get the same high standard of service. We are very sorry that this situation tainted your experience with us but we are very keen to make you aware that it was out with our control. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us when you next visit Scotland as we would very much like to redeem ourselves and show you the true service that we provide here at The Moorings Hotel.

Best wishes,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 739 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in on tour around the north of Scotland. From our room 20 we had a great view of Ben Nevis at sunset and then in the morning the early morning sunrise. What more can you ask for? Well maybe the view once again from the room of the Neptune locks with two saling boats descending. To complement this were the excellent meals we had in the evening and then the relaxing breakfast. The meal in the restaurant for £30 was very good value as it turned out to be five courses if you included the chef's appetisers and the sorbet. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, credit due to their training. Did we enjoy are stay, yes and we will come back for some MORE of the Moorings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Allan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review and for giving us 5/5. We greatly appreciate this. Our views of the Caledonian Canal, Neptunes Staircase and over to Ben Nevis are amazing and it is great to read that you managed to see two boats descending the staircase. It is very impressive to watch. Many thanks for your comments on our staff, we put a lot of effort into our staff training and value your comments on this. We are very delighted by your entire review and the experience that you had whilst you were here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to give you MORE of the Moorings.

Best Wishes,
The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stay at the hotel after a trip on the Jacobite steam train and what a great stay we had. There was to be a wedding in the hotel and we were to be in a quiet room. Bit of mix up when we arrived but sorted out quickly by reception. Room was great view was lovey and very quiet. Breakfast was great as were the staff. Couldn't fault the hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summerfun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear summerfun81,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you had a lovely experience in the area and on the Jacobite Steam train. Apologies for the mix up you had on arrival but I am pleased that the reception team were able to rectify this for you in a timely manner. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, the bedroom and the breakfast, we really do appreciate them and they will be passed on to the relevant staff.

We look forward to having you back here soon.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tonight this hotel hosted a local wedding reception that was so loud for six hours that even from a room about ten rooms away, upstairs with no soundproofing, my husband and I, who were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary (and yes, I told the reception this when I booked the room), and our young son had no chance of falling asleep. The hotel receptionist did not tell me, when I booked a room three months ago from Atlanta, that there would be a noisy wedding reception here. We lived in the UK for twenty years, in that time we never stayed in a hotel, anywhere in the UK, the USA, or on the Continent that cared less about the well-being of its non-wedding guests. My husband called the front desk at 10pm (after three hours of pounding music) to ask when the party might stop, because we've an early morning tomorrow and a young child and need to sleep, and he was told 12:30pm. There was no offer to get the sound turned down, no offer to move our room, no offer for anything, whatsoever. The receptionist did not care that we could not sleep, she did not even register that we were unhappy and wanted to be moved somewhere quieter - all she cared about was the party, which is now playing loud rap music right under our room.

In short, book this hotel for your local wedding party, but nothing else. You'll have loud music, rude service, and food that's just OK. It's a shame because the view of Ben Nevis is great, and the walk along Neptune's Staircase is wonderful. Maybe someday it'll be taken over by an owner who cares about all the guests.

Room Tip: Don't, unless you're part of a wedding reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Paige W,

We really are disappointed to see such a review on our Tripadvisor page. We do have a policy whereby we inform guests of functions if there happens to be something on the night of their stay. We also try and ensure that guests are allocated rooms where they will experience minimal disruption, this unfortunately was not the case with your reservation and for this we sincerely apologise. I have spoken with the manager who was on duty on that evening and unfortunately we were unable to give you a different room on the night as we were full with all guests already in residence, again for this we do apologise as we should have correctly allocated your room before your arrival. I do appreciate how frustrating it must have been for you to have been unable to sleep and relax in your room we always strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. This was not so in your case and we are all extremely annoyed with ourselves for allowing this to happen.

Again, I do sincerely apologise for the experience you had with us, as this is not usual standard as you will see from our other Tripadvisor reviews. If you would like to contact me to discuss this further then please email me on niamh@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Easy walk to the Neptune's Staircase behind the hotel, and views of the Nevis range. Hotel clearly extended a from a small original building on two floors, but done well and with care. Rooms good. Breakfast as you would expect, traditional and continental, nothing special. Enough parking.

Room Tip: Those not facing the road are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Winklight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Winklight,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and score us an overall 4/5. We really do appreciate this. We are more than happy that you enjoyed our location and your stay with us.

Hopefully if you are in the area again we will be able to welcome you back.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed here for one night to explore Fort William. It's about a 15 minute drive to Ben Nevis Visitor Centre, which is where most of the Ben Nevis trails start from. It's also about a 15 minute drive to Fort William which has restaurants and lots of tourist-type stores.
Banavie is just a small village. All I saw were a few streets of housing and a convenience store. The Moorings hotel runs alongside the canal which was nice for a stroll and to watch the boats navigating the locks. You get a great view of Ben Nevis in the distance. Our room was at the back of the hotel, facing the canal. The rooms were neat and clean. It was a bit of a walk to our room with our suitcases- up 2 flights of stairs, down 2 hallways and down a flight of stairs. We're a thirty-something couple and we were out of breath by the time we reached our room. For older couples, I'd suggest asking for a room that faces the front of the hotel.
One thing I really liked about this hotel is that it has a bar and a restaurant. You can eat in either, the restaurant menu being more expensive. The decor of the hotel suggests that it was decorated by someone's granny. We were pleasantly surprised by the modern meals served at the restaurant. The food was good quality and contemporary, even the presentation of the food was modern, which seemed out of place in the floral wallpaper restaurant with glass trinkets around the place.
I'd recommend this hotel over staying in Fort William because Fort William was really busy with tourists when we were there at the end of May. Here at Banavie, there's a path alongside the canal for walks and it was very peaceful.
My only complaint was that on checkout, I only received the credit card receipt with the total owing so there was no breakdown of our charges. We'd had a meal in the bar and a meal in the restaurant and a few drinks, plus the room charge and since I didn't keep track of what I charged to the room, just had to sign off on the total charge as being accurate.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussie_Charlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Aussie_Charlotte,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is great that you were able to enjoy our location and our food. As for your comment about the decor, we have recently upgraded a number of our rooms with new furniture and have plans for the bar and restaurant area in the near future.

I do apologise that you did not receive the correct bill on your checkout with a breakdown of the bar meals that you room charged. Our receptionists prepare the bills for all our guests checking out as soon as they start their shift in the morning, so this should have been ready for you on checkout. I will look into this and make sure it does not happen again. If you would like to email me with the date of your stay I can look into this for you and send you your final bill via email. Just get in touch on niamh@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

The setting was fantastic at Neptune's Staircase with views of Ben Nevis, Fort William and Caledonian Canal.. Hotel clean and food good, although cooked breakfast could have been better. The staff were warm and engaging. Not too many stairs after climbing Ben Nevis either!

Room Tip: The superior rooms are worth the extra money, although the noise of the water in the locks may becom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear David C,

Thank you for writing us a review of your stay. We hope you had a lovely day climbing Ben Nevis and you were able to enjoy the spectacular views along the way. It is great that you found the hotel to be clean and you could enjoy the views that we have here right on our doorstep. Our breakfast is cooked with fresh ingredients and to order so it is disappointing to hear that it was completely to your satisfaction. If you would like to give us more information on this so we can look into it and make sure it doesn't happen again, then please get in touch via reservations@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk.

Best wishes, The Moorings Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
602 reviews
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
619 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
1,060 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#14 of 21 in Fort William
1,012 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
576 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lime Tree
The Lime Tree
#8 of 21 in Fort William
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range: £73 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing