We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
kingston upon hull
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

the moorings is a good place to stay, staff very friendly and helpful , the hotel was very clean, the room was large with 2 easy chairs , and a good outlook over neptune"s staircase , and food was good with a good choice of dishes close to the west highland line ,which we went on steam hauled, the staff even got me a cake for a birthday in all a very good place to stay thanks

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Dear frank c,

Thank you for your positive review, it is very much appreciated by us here at the Moorings Hotel. It is wonderful that all aspects of your stay, from your bedroom with its lovely views of Neptunes Staircase to the meals you ate with us were satisfactory. We hope you enjoyed your trip on the steam train and had a wonderful birthday (and tasty cake).

We would love to welcome you back for another visit sometime in the future.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    297
    213
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
88
352
19
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
132 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Seem to always stumble across The Moorings at some point during our Scottish jaunts and last week found ourselves back at their door. This is a nice hotel and we have stayed many times before but this time it was just for a meal. Service was polite and efficient despite the fact they were full. The young waiter found us a table and we were promptly served. Some Americans next to us received their meal and it looked fantastic so we ordered and waited. Our meal seemed very ordinary in comparison so we were a little disappointed on this occasion.

No doubt we will go again so will see if it's a bit more on its game next time.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank paperboy911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Paperboy911,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, we appreciate when our repeat visitors take the time to leave us feedback. It is great that you experienced efficient and polite service on your visit this time and that you were able to have a mouth-watering glimpse of the wonderful food that comes out of our kitchen. However I cannot apologise enough at the fact that you did not find your own meal to be of such a standard. If you would like to get in touch and give us some more feedback on this, such as what it was that you ordered and why it didn’t meet your expectations, I would be happy to investigate this for you? Just send me an email to niamh@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk.

I am glad to see that this doesn’t seem to have put you off returning to us again in the future and I really hope that you will, so that we can redeem ourselves and serve you up a delight and continue to be 'an old friend'.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We got an outstanding customer service experience every traveller hopes for, but rarely receives – a warm welcome as soon as we stepped in the door. All the staff (without exception) were just so friendly and helpful. And they seem to employ many local people here who have an investment in the area – which makes all the difference.

We chose the hotel primarily for its setting – on the series of locks on Neptune's Staircase which is part of the Caledonian Canal that links the East coast at Inverness to Fort William. It's also on the Great Glen Way. And because the railway station at Banavie is just three minutes walk from the hotel. The West Highland Line Mallaig to Glasgow train passes right through Banavie and the line is one of the world's most scenic railway journeys and it is much the best way to get here if you are a cyclist or a walker.

We stayed in Room 8 – overlooking the locks with a stunning view of the mountain we'd come to climb. I'm not a fan of chintzy decor but that's just my taste – and the all important ensuite bathroom was neutral white and grey – which was great. It was so quiet at night it was almost unnerving (we'd just come from spending a weekend in Glasgow which in summer can be a bit of a party town).

The packed lunches we ordered for our walking day were delivered to us promptly– and stood up to the punishing walk we gave them without going soggy. We ate dinner in Neptune's Restaurant and there is some seriously impressive standard of standard of skill in the kitchen. Their meat and fish is sourced locally and we had outstanding lamb and beef cooked perfectly medium to rare as we had asked for it. We shared a dessert of rhubarb with creme anglaise on a crispy pastry base – no flabby undercooked pastry here!

Reception were so helpful – kindly printing out our boarding passes on the day of our departure.
We really wished we had more time but we were in Scotland as part of a business trip. Still, we know that when we do make it back to the Fort William area that we have found a really lovely little hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank turnerpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear turnerpage,

Thank you for writing us such a superb review. This is exceptionally encouraging for all of our staff to read and helps to increase morale immensely. I am very pleased that we were able to provide you with outstanding customer service, a level which we strive to provide to all of our guests. Our setting on the Caledonian Canal with views of Ben Nevis is amazing and we love it when our guests mention it, as it really is something worth appreciating on a stay here with us. Room 8 is one of our standard bedrooms which benefits from wonderful views and although the décor in here is more traditional, we do have bedrooms which are more modern too. We source our ingredients for our dishes locally, where at all possible and believe that this really helps to enhance the flavours in the meals our chefs create. I will pass all your comments on too our staff, and thank you again for your lovely comments.

We look forward to welcoming you back again, hopefully in the near future.

Best Wishes,
The Moorings Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bossier City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a lovely hotel, small, but very nice; the outdoor areas/garden were inviting, and sits right on Neptune's staircase. This made for a very nice evening stroll. The breakfasts were well stocked with cold items and the staff would gladly serve hot items as requested. The evening meal we had left something to be desired and the manager seemed to be "put out with" our group as we were late being seated due to a traffic mishap. The staff refused to add additional seating and said there were seats for the numbers in our group and although a small table was adjacent to the area, they were not inclined to set up so that people could spread out a little. In short, not very accommodating. Perhaps they simply don't care for tour groups. If I returned to Scotland, I would give them another try because of the location.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the lochs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimi911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Mimi911,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor. Our garden and outdoor patio area is looking lovely at the moment with all the flowers blooming. Neptune’s staircase and the canal path is perfect for an evening stroll as you say, with amazing views as well. We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast; we do have a cold buffet with a cook to order hot option too from a Full Scottish Breakfast to Kippers. I am sorry to see your negative comments regarding your evening meal and I have done some investigating into this. With regard to the unfortunate traffic incident and delay in the group arriving for dinner, it was explained to your tour organiser that we had a prior booking for another party, coming in directly after your group, therefore if we appeared a little un-accommodating we are extremely sorry but circumstances demanded we re-organised the dining area quickly. We try to ensure that all guests, whether with a tour group or individuals, get the same high standard of service. We are very sorry that this situation tainted your experience with us but we are very keen to make you aware that it was out with our control. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us when you next visit Scotland as we would very much like to redeem ourselves and show you the true service that we provide here at The Moorings Hotel.

Best wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is without doubt the best hotel we have stayed in on tour around the north of Scotland. From our room 20 we had a great view of Ben Nevis at sunset and then in the morning the early morning sunrise. What more can you ask for? Well maybe the view once again from the room of the Neptune locks with two saling boats descending. To complement this were the excellent meals we had in the evening and then the relaxing breakfast. The meal in the restaurant for £30 was very good value as it turned out to be five courses if you included the chef's appetisers and the sorbet. The staff were very pleasant and helpful, credit due to their training. Did we enjoy are stay, yes and we will come back for some MORE of the Moorings.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Allan B,

Thank you for taking the time to write us such a lovely review and for giving us 5/5. We greatly appreciate this. Our views of the Caledonian Canal, Neptunes Staircase and over to Ben Nevis are amazing and it is great to read that you managed to see two boats descending the staircase. It is very impressive to watch. Many thanks for your comments on our staff, we put a lot of effort into our staff training and value your comments on this. We are very delighted by your entire review and the experience that you had whilst you were here and we very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future to give you MORE of the Moorings.

Best Wishes,
The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
215 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Stay at the hotel after a trip on the Jacobite steam train and what a great stay we had. There was to be a wedding in the hotel and we were to be in a quiet room. Bit of mix up when we arrived but sorted out quickly by reception. Room was great view was lovey and very quiet. Breakfast was great as were the staff. Couldn't fault the hotel and can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summerfun81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear summerfun81,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We hope you had a lovely experience in the area and on the Jacobite Steam train. Apologies for the mix up you had on arrival but I am pleased that the reception team were able to rectify this for you in a timely manner. Thank you for your compliments on our staff, the bedroom and the breakfast, we really do appreciate them and they will be passed on to the relevant staff.

We look forward to having you back here soon.

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Tonight this hotel hosted a local wedding reception that was so loud for six hours that even from a room about ten rooms away, upstairs with no soundproofing, my husband and I, who were celebrating our 20th wedding anniversary (and yes, I told the reception this when I booked the room), and our young son had no chance of falling asleep. The hotel receptionist did not tell me, when I booked a room three months ago from Atlanta, that there would be a noisy wedding reception here. We lived in the UK for twenty years, in that time we never stayed in a hotel, anywhere in the UK, the USA, or on the Continent that cared less about the well-being of its non-wedding guests. My husband called the front desk at 10pm (after three hours of pounding music) to ask when the party might stop, because we've an early morning tomorrow and a young child and need to sleep, and he was told 12:30pm. There was no offer to get the sound turned down, no offer to move our room, no offer for anything, whatsoever. The receptionist did not care that we could not sleep, she did not even register that we were unhappy and wanted to be moved somewhere quieter - all she cared about was the party, which is now playing loud rap music right under our room.

In short, book this hotel for your local wedding party, but nothing else. You'll have loud music, rude service, and food that's just OK. It's a shame because the view of Ben Nevis is great, and the walk along Neptune's Staircase is wonderful. Maybe someday it'll be taken over by an owner who cares about all the guests.

Room Tip: Don't, unless you're part of a wedding reception!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paige W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager-Moorings, Public Relations Manager at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Paige W,

We really are disappointed to see such a review on our Tripadvisor page. We do have a policy whereby we inform guests of functions if there happens to be something on the night of their stay. We also try and ensure that guests are allocated rooms where they will experience minimal disruption, this unfortunately was not the case with your reservation and for this we sincerely apologise. I have spoken with the manager who was on duty on that evening and unfortunately we were unable to give you a different room on the night as we were full with all guests already in residence, again for this we do apologise as we should have correctly allocated your room before your arrival. I do appreciate how frustrating it must have been for you to have been unable to sleep and relax in your room we always strive to ensure all of our guests have an enjoyable and relaxing stay with us. This was not so in your case and we are all extremely annoyed with ourselves for allowing this to happen.

Again, I do sincerely apologise for the experience you had with us, as this is not usual standard as you will see from our other Tripadvisor reviews. If you would like to contact me to discuss this further then please email me on niamh@moorings-fortwilliam.co.uk

Best Wishes,

The Moorings Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
504 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
768 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
957 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing