We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Splendid!”
Review of The Moorings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Moorings Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Certificate of Excellence
Carmel Valley, California
Level Contributor
385 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Simply Splendid!”
Reviewed 5 June 2010

A beautifully situated, comfortable and well run hotel. Highly recommended (esp. Room 9, with amazing view of Neptune's Steps and Ben Nevis).

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    217
    87
    30
    15
See reviews for
90
359
19
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Had a 10% discount voucher from our accommodation so ate at The Moorings on our last night in Banavie. With the voucher it was good value and the food was portioned well and tasty. Would suggest that more of the main courses are served with a side order of vegetables for the cost.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GertieSquirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2010

Perfect hotel to use as a base for exploring the hills and hiking Ben Nevis. The staff were excellent and they all looked after us very well. We've just got back and we're already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhrosti1029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stairs27, Director of Sales at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
On behalf of the staff and management of the Moorings Hotel I would like to say a big thank you for your kind review on Tripadvisor, so often on review sites it is only the people who wish to complain that will take the time to offer a review. We always try hard to make our guests feel welcome and to ensure they have an enjoyable stay at our hotel, we would be delighted to welcome you back if you should be in the Highlands again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2010

17 friends and family stayed at this hotel for a surprise birthday party. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was very comfortable and clean with superb views of Ben Nevis. The hotel is situated next to the Caledonian Canal and Neptune's Steps and we all enjoyed early morning strolls along the tow path and watching the boats going through the steps. The food was good, especially the cooked breakfast which set us up for the day. A great hotel in a beautiful area, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spudfaceYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stairs27, Director of Sales at The Moorings Hotel, responded to this review, 11 May 2010
Thank you for your lovely review, we are all delighted that you took the time to post your very positive comments on Tripadvisor. In an industry that sometimes only hears the negative feedback it is great to hear from guests who enjoyed their stay with us and even more delightful to hear you will return. On behalf of all the staff please accept our sincere thanks, it is lovely to know our efforts are appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirriemuir
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This really is a good hotel. We had room 25 which had breathtaking views of the loch, the canal and Ben Nevis. The staff still seem to run around a lot, a fact I noted on a previous visit. You will see girls charging about with bar meals. The hotel has been extended in the last couple of years- but instead of the grey, “East Berlin” type of extension you so often sadly see on Scottish hotels, they have added an extension which looks really good and fits in with the surrounding area. Full marks for that. The room we stayed in was world class and as good as anything you’d get in London, Paris, San Francisco or whatever. It was a very comfortable stay. They have really “raised their game” in the last couple of years. Finally, Banavie is outside of Fort William and if you are familiar with Fort William at all you will immediately recognise the advantage of this. I’d recommend “The Moorings” to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incongru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2010

We had spent a lovely night here. It ticks all the boxes- good food, comfortable room, good location, friendly staff. No complaints what so ever.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelpie09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, Sussex
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed at the Moorings for three nights. We had not booked in advance so had a small room at the front. In future we would like one of the rooms with a view of Ben Nevis, spectacular. Good bed, comfortable room. Wonderful location. Friendly helpful staff. Good food in bar and restaurant. Good breakfast cooked to order. Left something behind when we departed which was posted to us soon afterwards. Easy communication through email.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thunderbird13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Banavie
1.7 mi away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
1.6 mi away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moorings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moorings Hotel

Property: The Moorings Hotel
Address: Fort William, Banavie, Fort William PH33 7LY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William > Banavie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Banavie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Moorings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Moorings lies alongside the Caledonian Canal at the famous Neptune's Staircase. One of Fort William's finest establishments, The Moorings offers excellent cuisine and service. With splendid panoramic views of Ben Nevis and Aonach Mor, Moorings Hotel offers comfort and modern facilities. Here, you will receive a warm Highland welcome from friendly staff. The Moorings offers award-winning cuisine in Neptune's Restaurant, using fine Scottish produce, including west coast seafood and Highland game. Bar meals are available in the less formal Upper Deck Lounge Bar, where a range of malt whiskies may be sampled. In the summer, the Mariners Cellar Bar features a nautical theme. The refurbished bedrooms have every modern luxury. The Moorings is an excellent base for touring the romantic West Highlands. We offer all of our guests a complimentary round of golf at Fort William Golf Course and free use of our Fitness Suite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moorings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moorings Hotel Fort William
The Moorings Hotel Banavie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing