We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Top quality accommodation, perfect for exploring...”
other travellers have booked this property
Acorn Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Acorn Cottage
Acorn Cottage Outside dining near the ancient oaks and plenty of parking
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Acorn Cottage
Acorn Cottage
Outside dining near the ancient oaks and plenty of parking
Downstairs twin bedroom
Twin beds can be fixed together to make a super king size bed if desired.
Twin bedroom with beds made up to a superking size bed.
Lower lobby leading to twin bedroom
Kitchen in open plan living / dining area
Kitchen & open plan living /dining area.
Living / dining area with views out to the gardens and landscape beyond
Living / dining area
spacious living area.
Master bedroom with king size bed.
Dressing area of master bedroom. Spacious, light room at the front of the property.
Master bedroom with views to the front of the property.
Spacious main bathroom with white suite, shower over bath.
Bathroom.
Gardens
Bird feeders as viewed from upper living room windows.
Red squirrels are regular visitors to the feeders.
red squirrels can be seen from the upstairs windows and twin bedroom.
View out of upstairs windows onto landscaped gardens and bird feeders
Arisaig on a warm summers day
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Banavie, Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Lee W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Top quality accommodation, perfect for exploring the Great Glen”
Reviewed 17 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

A very nice holiday accommodation, pleasingly decorated and feeling very much a home from home. Facilities are exactly what one would expect from high quality self-catering - a well-fitted kitchen; bath and shower; lots of storage space in the bedrooms; wi-fi, television and dvd. Parking is ample and the garden is a pleasant bonus. Acorn Cottage is tucked away on a quiet lane a few miles out of Fort William and is well situated for a family wishing to explore the Great Glen and Inner Hebrides.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. We hope the cottage provides guests with a welcome retreat and all the amenities to live comfortably during their stay. Being four miles from Fort William, we are close enough to enjoy the proximity of the town, but far enough away to feel the tranquility of rural life.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to see some of the places on your list, and would hope to welcome you again if you venture this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gareth C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding holiday cottage in great location”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is perfect for a holiday in the Scotland highlands and very good value for money. Great accommodation, Kate was very welcoming (including a home baked cake as an arrival gift!), you're only a few minutes drive from the main road and Fort William but it felt secluded and peaceful. You can walk to the caledonian canal in a few minutes and it's about a 2 mile walk to Neptune's Staircase. From there you can walk into Fort William (about a further 3 miles) or catch a train from Banavie station.

We were very lucky to get a tour of the new 1 bedroom cottage (Little Oaks) while we were staying in Acorn Cottage - it's brand new and has been furnished to a really high standard (as has Acorn Cottage). It would be perfect if there's just two of you.

We would definitely return to either Acorn Cottage or Little Oaks.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thank you all for taking the time to share your thoughts on Acorn Cottage, Lottle Oaks & the surrounding area. We are delighted the accommodation met with your expectations and were only to happy to show you round our new property.
We have the benefit of being close enough to Fort William for necessities, but far enough away to feel the joys of rural life. It is a lovely place to both live & visit.
We look forward to meeting you again if you venture this way.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
A big thank you for your kind review. We are pleased your long journey here was rewarded with a relaxing enjoyable week touring the area. We hope it bought back some happy memories from years past & created some new ones.
We would look forward to welcoming you back to Acorn Cottage or Little Oaks again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Diane-TA
Devon
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We stayed for a week in this lovely cottage. We booked the cottage because it had 2 double bedrooms with bathrooms. The accommodation was clean and spacious. The double bed and pillows were comfortable. Watching the birdlife on the many feeders from the open plan lounge/kitchen/dining area, was a delight. The location of the cottage was excellent for exploring the region. Our favourite was a day trip to Skye.
The only negative about the cottage was the upstairs shower lacked water pressure.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to review Acorn Cottage. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. The bird feeders are always well frequented and keep us all entertained.
We will check the water pressure, as we were not aware it had dropped. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alfasprin...
Coningsby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage”
Reviewed 19 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

When we arrived at Acorn Cottage Kate was there to give us a warm welcome and the drizzle cake was beautiful. The cottage was very clean and well equipped. If we wanted anything Kate was on hand to help us help. With the cottage being upside down layout it was nice to look out of the lounge window to see all of the wildlife, Siskins, Jays, Woodpeckers etc on the feeders. There were Red Squirrels also and a Red Deer in the field opposite. We hope to return in the future and would highly recommend the cottage to anyone wanting a peaceful base to tour the Highlands and islands. There is plenty to do around the Fort William area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2017
Thank you for your kind review, we are delighted everything met with your satisfaction in the cottage.
The birds are in abundance at the moment, with nuthatches and goldfinches squabbling over the peanuts. The squirrels have been regular visitors, so I hope they stay around for a few months.
We hope you had a good journey home and would love to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngsaga...
Blossom Country, Worcestershire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect retreat in lovely location”
Reviewed 23 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My husband and I were revisiting the west coast of Scotland after 25 years. It was as good as we remember - breathtaking scenery on a large scale in all directions. Acorn Cottage was the perfect peaceful base with the added bonus of some beautiful birds in the garden visiting the feeders. Kate was an excellent hostess and the lemon drizzle cake lived up to it's reputation (so no pressure there Kate!)

We travelled in all directions between Oban, Mallaig and Fort Augustus. Stunning scenery wherever we went.Took a rather exciting 90 minute rib ride on Loch Ness from Fort Augustus to Uquhart Castle - this was a great way of seeing more of the Loch and our excellent young Scottish "skipper" provided atmospheric "en route" stories (especially about Boleskine House!) Jacobite Railway was excellent but make sure you book well in advance. We drove to Morar (near Mallaig) and were amazed to find white sand beach and turquoise water on the coast road (Glenancross). On a nice day take a picnic - you won't be disappointed.

Tips: Turn left at the end of the Acorn Cottage drive and you will find a fabulous route which takes you past Loch Lochy and across the Caledonian Canal to Spean Bridge. If you want a special restaurant, try Russells in Spean Bridge.

All in all a great holiday which we thoroughly enjoyed.

Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 May 2017
Thank you both for a most favourable review. I am delighted the cottage reached your expectations. We believe we are near enough to Fort William to shop but far enough to appreciate the tranquility of the rural Highlands.
I too share your love of the west coast beaches, their beauty is unrivalled in this part of the world.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you venture this way again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thank you for your kind comments. It's great to know the Cottage met with your approval and provided a convenient base for visiting old haunts in the region.
Thank you for your insight on the local area which we will explore and pass on to other guests.
I too enjoyed our chats in the garden and welcome your enthusiasm for our new soon to be released sister property.
I hope you enjoy your onward destination and look forward to seeing you again another year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing