We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food is good. Front-of-house poor. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Stagg Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Titley
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Stagg Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Titley B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Food is good. Front-of-house poor. ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

We've had several visits to The Stagg over the years (we are local to the area). The food is consistently good. However the welcome to the 'pub' is consistently very bad. There was some slight improvement on our last visit. However I am constantly perplexed that The Stagg continues to receive food awards. Surely eating out is about the whole dining experience!? I wonder much longer the poor front of house can hide behind the accomplished menu? Occasionally we return hoping the front of house will have changed but alas we are still greeted with the same ignorance and rudeness.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank LexyCally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    49
    34
    11
    4
See reviews for
58
163
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

I walked in here after having done a 20 mile walk, unaware that it had a Michelin star (muddy boots and al...). It was after 2 pm, so they had stopped serving food, but they let me use the toilet; when I came out they said they would do food for me after all! I had a great ploughmans salad, where I could choose from about 20 cheeses, and great homemade bread and baked apple. Pity I had no space left for dessert!

Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Saskia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

This really is a very good (expensive) place to eat. One might think its only for the local great and good (there were lots of them when we arrived) but despite being covered in mud, we were found a delightfully quiet table and treated to a fantastic meal. Can't recommend it more highly.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank KwickStuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the rooms above the restaurant on Saturday night, and ate dinner there the same evening.

Our food was delicious and beautifully presented, and the service was attentive yet discreet. We had drinks in the bar both before and after dinner (the Elderflower and Prosecco cocktail is wonderful), and Barney and the other waiting staff couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming.

Our room was lovely and the bed was super comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was delicious, with attentive service once again.

We had a fabulous night away at The Stagg Inn and would definitely return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlborough
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We never leave disappointed. Wonderful food thoughtfully served and attention to detail is evidently top of the priority list! Lovely friendly and professional staff, delicious food, great wine selection, perfect setting and I can't recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: This is a delightful venue with very caring and considerate owners who ensure you have the best visi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

We have been visiting the Stagg for many years now. The food has always been excellent, and is, if anything getting better! On our last visit, both mine and my wife's starter were superb, I loved my steak tartare and she raved about her beautifully presented mackerel. The main courses and puddings were also excellent.

However, I have do agree with previous reviewers about the dismissive and blasé nature of the Stagg's male host. His lacklustre manner and plain rudeness, is not the sort of customer service I expect, or am used to from an establishment of the Stagg's undoubted quality. I will be back, the food alone justifies this five star rating, but in future I sincerely hope to be treated with more warmth and attentiveness.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We have stayed and eaten at the Stagg Inn 3 times over the past 4 years as it is on the doorstep of a green burial site where my mum is laid to rest. We always stay at The Old Vicarage and really enjoy the characterful and very quiet rooms there. Each time we harbour high hopes for the evening meal and each time come away satisfied but not delighted. This trip was no different. Delicious starters (scallops for me, mackerel for my husband) and my husband liked his belly pork main course. My duck confit was flavoursome but let down by uncooked potatoes. Given its Michelin status and prices the main courses lack flair and originality. The amuse bouche underwhelming. Good choice of wines and ciders by the glass. Service was friendly and super efficient - just a hint of being on a conveyor belt but it was a busy Friday night. The young chap who seated us and took our order and the young clearing waitress were charming and did a lot to make up for the somewhat off hand manner of the Stagg's male host. I like the Stagg Inn and would certainly stay again as it serves us well. The test is would I take friends or clients there for dinner unless they lived nearby - probably not.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Edinburghelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Titley
12.7 mi away
The Swan at Hay
The Swan at Hay
#1 of 1 in Hay-on-Wye
3.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
17.9 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
16.9 mi away
Castle House
Castle House
#2 of 13 in Hereford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
Fishmore Hall
Fishmore Hall
#1 of 8 in Ludlow
4.5 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Riverside Inn & Restaurant
3.1 mi away
The Radnorshire Arms
The Radnorshire Arms
#2 of 13 in Presteigne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stagg Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stagg Inn

Property: The Stagg Inn
Address: Titley HR5 3RL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Herefordshire > Titley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Titley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
The Stagg Hotel Titley
The Stagg Inn Titley, Herefordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing