We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't stay just ate.. Two meals in Two weeks”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell Country Inn

Bell Country Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanyre
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bell Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanyre B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Didn't stay just ate.. Two meals in Two weeks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

We went here for a meal together to have a romantic meal, and had such a lovely meal returned with my parents the following week.
The meals are freshly cooked, with lovely specials and reasonable prices. Beers are nice too.
Atmosphere is nice, clean and fresh looking and the decor is upmarket yet comfortable.
All in all, will return again and again!
Big improvement on the previous owners (we visited the first time and had a horrid time, tried again then vowed never to return!)
Well done.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wednesday1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    12
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
29
22
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Had an excellent family break staying at The Bell Country Inn recently. An idyllic location, set in rolling hills in the attractive village od Llanyre, just outside the town of Llandrindod Wells. We found it a perfect base for exploring Mid Wales & the Elan Valley. It is also only one hour from Aberystwyth on the coast which makes a great day out. On arrival, our hosts, Tracy & drew greeted us as we got out of the car which certainly exceeded expectations! Check in was really smooth and we found the accommodation very fresh, clean & comfortable, with a very homely feel. There was ample room for our travel cot and our elder child slept comfortably on a double sofa bed. The bathroom was spacious and family friendly. We ate in the bar or restaurant every night as the food and service were so good. High chairs and child friendly menu options were always available. Great choice of beers including real ales. We enjoyed the Tuesday night Quiz despite coming last! Beware, the locals do know their stuff! Everything was great but what made us book again for next year was the warmth of hospitality, our hosts showed genuine interest in us but not at all in an intrusive way.

Room Tip: The bedroom standard is consistent throughout, although some more suitable for families than others...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

The room was brilliant clean and fresh. The bathroom was spotless and the shower great. Unfortunately the food was not quite as good, the poppadom with the curry was dripping with oil and the chicken not the best also the pastry on the pie was rather greasy. The breakfast was good but it would be nice to have has a menu. These may have been teething troubles and we wish the new owners all the best.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

I spent 2 days at The Bell Country Inn, 6 & 7 June 2014. Loved it highly recommended

Customer Service - Outstanding
The new owners Tracy & Drew were more than welcoming, Tracy could not have given me a better reception. I was quite early for check in but was checked in immediately and offered coffee whilst the room was finished. When my family arrived they were all made very welcome

Rooms - Top quality, very clean very modern very spacious. Bathroom that I would love at home. Very comfortable. (tasty biscuits with the coffee)

Food - Outstanding, evening meal I went for the steak. Cooked to perfection everything was well presented and hot, breakfast - again really good looks a bit too good to eat (but was soon demolished!!)

Bar - Drew serves a mean Peroni. We were so comfortable at the hotel that we did not venture out the first night we spent the time enjoying the lovely surroundings in the bar area and enjoying a few drinks with family. Again Tracy (although very busy in the kitchen) still came over to speak when she was about.

Location - In the heart of the most beautiful parts of Wales close to the village centre close to the Brecons, in fact any road you take from here is stunning, views are amazing

To sum up - BOOK IT NOW!!! you wont be disappointed, Sleep well, eat well, drink well, relax well.

Thank you to Tracy & Drew for all your hard work and for making us feel so welcome, we will be back soon

Room Tip: I understand that every room is lovely, area is so quiet that you dont need to think about road nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DEsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Couldn't fault this b&b. Stayed there for a wedding and was made to feel so welcome. Rooms were lovely, fantastic shower and immaculate. The owners made is feel like we were staying with friends. Would definitely recommend for anyone staying in this area.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands, England
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We booked our table for early evening, when we entered there was one man dining, nobody behind the bar. We waited and waited and eventually a lady appeared. No welcome, no "sorry to keep you waiting".
We ordered some drinks and ordered our food. The food presentation and quality was excellent, however the customer service was non existent. Even when we paid and left, we felt as though we were an inconvenience and they couldn't wait to be rid of us. The lights were out before we were in our cars.
The current owners are leaving in a few weeks, so let hope that the new owners know how to smile!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank dottieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We were a group of 6 who had the Christmas Lunch menu - which was wonderful. It was all home cooked and fresh, there was a lovely variety of vegetables as well as turkey and trimmings. Together with Butternut Squash Soup and White Chocolate Cheesecake, it made a very good 3 course lunch for £14 with a glass of wine included as well. Service was lovely and they were very understanding and accommodating about 1 of our party who arrived somewhat late.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanyre
1.3 mi away
Hotel Commodore
Hotel Commodore
#3 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.4 mi away
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#1 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
1.4 mi away
Glen Usk Hotel
Glen Usk Hotel
#2 of 3 in Llandrindod Wells
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
Caer Beris Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Builth Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
14.8 mi away
Llangoed Hall
Llangoed Hall
#1 of 1 in Llyswen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Severn Arms Hotel
Severn Arms Hotel
#2 of 3 in Penybont
3.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell Country Inn

Property: Bell Country Inn
Address: Llanyre, Llanyre, Llandrindod Wells LD1 6DY, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llandrindod Wells > Llanyre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanyre
Hotel Class:4 star — Bell Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated 1 1/4 miles on the outskirts of a beautiful Victorian town named Llandrindod Wells, which nestles amongst the Black Mountain and the the Brecon Beacons. Refreshments have been taken for centuries in the site of todays Bell Country Inn. The hostelry was built for thirsty drovers taking their stock from West Wales to the markets of Gloucester and Hereford. We are the new owners of the Bell and have just finished a complete refurbishment. The Bell now offers guest accommodation comprising of 10 en-suite bedrooms, all to a high standard. Two bars and a restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bell Country Inn Llanyre, Llandrindod Wells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing