We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking”
Review of Waterfalls Centre - CLOSED

Waterfalls Centre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We walked The a Elidir Trail which starts from the Waterfall Centre. It was truly amazing and as we went mid week it wasn't that busy. We did struggle with parking as the nearest car park is at Dinas Rock which is a 20-30 min walk away along an uninspiring residential road where there are plentiful signs warning about residents parking only. There is limited parking near the centre although a lot of people seemed to park at The Angel pub. That aside it is well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    33
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Impressive”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We visited the Waterfalls one afternoon on a sunny May Bank Holiday Monday......with hindsight it probably wasn't the best day to go! We couldn't believe how busy it was. However, we parked along the roadside right next to the visitor centre. The whole walk was underneath trees & therefore damp & cold, so unless the weather is extremely hot, if you feel the cold, wear some layers. It was extremely wet & muddy underfoot, so good walking shoes are essential. The mud was really slippery, so do be careful as the walk takes you very close to some dangerous drops.
The walk was well sign posted with the average walking distance time on the posts.
We walked to all of the waterfalls & the walking wasn't too difficult apart from the slippery muddy areas. It is well worth the walk to see how nature can transform landscapes over the years. It wasn't quite Niagara falls, but we enjoyed seeing the water cascade over the rocks & took a few little video clips to remember it all by.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jillyanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
256 reviews
155 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Very helpful.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The gentleman at the Waterfall Centre was very helpful. He pointed out various routes, difficulty and how long it would take.

We parked next to toilets and walked through the gate waymarked purple path. After awhile you reach a bridge and a post marked Sgwd Gwadlus(Lady's Falls) which is off the purple path but only takes 5 minutes. The waterfall is stunning and it well worth a visit. There are other waterfalls if you continue along the purple route but we decided not to and head back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

After a very wet day and trip to the Big Pit (well worth while and Free). We got here just after the centre had closed which was a shame but still had a lovely walk up the river as far as the third fall on the Neath. Beautiful place and well signed with excellently maintained paths despite the ravages of the winter rains. Followed the painted signs to the White Horse as the Angel seemed to discourage muddy boots. The White Horse had a lovely welcome and good pint just as it started to rain again

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoeburyness, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very helpful”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We only got to see one waterfall (it was impressive) because the weather was so bad. But the assistant working there was very helpful and without his advice we wouldn't have see any.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Damon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waterfalls Centre also viewed

Ystradfellte, Carmarthenshire
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 
Brecon Beacons National Park, Wales
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing