We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Gorleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I came for dinner a week ago with some friends, not expecting much after seeing some negative comments on here.
We were greeted promptly, and service was very quick and with a smile.
The food was extremely tasty and very good value for money.
The only bad thing I can say (Being very picky) is that the restaurant was slightly cold.
We certainly had a wonderful experience.
Highly recommend coming for a meal!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_C2807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    60
    18
    16
    13
See reviews for
64
76
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Went for a Christmas meal with some of my friends and the food was very bland, dry and undercooked. No one asked us how our food was and it took 20 minutes for us to get the attention of a member of staff to speak to about our issues who didn't seem to care at all. As others said, we also heard staff slagging us off and laughing about our complaints. It's seem to be ran very unprofessionally. We all ended up ill the next day.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank John9042
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Group of 6 adults, we stayed here for 2 nights in November. Rooms were clean and comfortable with all you would need for a weekend break. We used the spa facilities which were excellent. The staff in the Spa were welcoming and very helpful. We made good use of the hotel bar where there was always a warm welcome. Unfortunately the one area that stops this hotel receiving a higher rating was the Restaurant. We were always served with a smile, but that cannot hide the slow service or the poor quality of food. This happened both at breakfast and dinner and on one occasion the wrong meal being served completely. We were told that some items weren't available only to then be told a few minutes later that they were! It all appeared very haphazard and sadly did spoil what would otherwise have been a fabulous weekend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowestoft
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We had our work's Christmas lunch here. The service was fine, the room was dated. The food was terrible! The worse Christmas dinner I have eaten! Tasteless, processed turkey and rock hard Yorkshire pudding, the roast potatoes were tinny, greasy and hard. No one enjoyed the food!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Badgernorwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great weekend place spotless beer and food tip top staff real friendly and helpfull We had a wellrelaxed weekend all 25 of
us. Biggest beds in norfolk The spa is well equipped the pool is very good staff well trained and friendly No wonder theyve got 1000 members

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DickMorleyram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

I recently went to the Old Hall in Caister for a meal with friends and to take part in the pub quiz that they do. We had a table booked at 6.30 and everything seemed fine when we turned up and were taken to our table and our order was taken fairly quickly. One of our party was unsure of what to have and the waitress offered a suggestion that the ribs were very good. However after placing our order we were left waiting nearly an hour for the food to turn up, and the ribs that had been recommended were dry and the person was unable to eat them (incidentally he was very ill with stomach problems the next day as well!). We had no member of staff come to see if everything was ok with our meals so we had no way of complaining. After finishing our meals very quickly, as by this point we were very hungry, we were left waiting for nearly another hour for anyone to clear our tables. This was despite numerous attempts to get the attention of any passing staff who found time to talk to and clear the table of seemingly anyone who wasnt us! We finally got someone to someone to clear our table and order our desert at 8.25 (nearly 2 hours after we'd sat down). We said we were planning on doing the quiz at 8.45 and were told it would be fine but dessert did not come out til 8.40 when we asked for the bill so we could quickly pay and get to the quiz. We then had to ask a further 2 people until we got the bill! We were given it by a blonde lady, who when we tried to complain about the appalling service we recieved didnt seem to care. We paid the bill in full, and when my friend went to the bar to pay we were disgusted to hear them laughing and joking about us for complaining! In short i was appalled by the service and attitudes of the staff, and would not recommend the Old Hall to anyone who wants good service and friendly staff in a restaraunt.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This review is on the restaurant only, and all I can say is i am absolutely appalled at how our table was treated. Firstly our meal took over an hour to arrive, we were recommended a specific meal and were extremely disappointed with it.. This is just the tip of the iceberg.
We were not asked once if we were okay, if our food was okay, if we needed anything, when we had eaten our plates were left with us for over 20 mins, we had to wave someone down to collect then and take our desert orders and some of our plates were never even collected and stayed on our table until we left!!
We wished to take part in the quiz so we asked for the bill with our desert (we booked our table for 630 by now it's 825 and still not received our deserts) so we rushed to eat them and still no bill came, we asked another 2 members of staff for our bill and in the end had to go up and stand and wait for them to give it to us, we paid the bill in full but were very dissatisfied with our service so we asked to speak to someone to voice our feelings. The lady we spoke to (a middled aged blonde lady) was completely unprofessional and even laughed at our complaints, NOT ONLY this but after she had gone we could hear her and some colleges LAUGHING about it behind their staff door and we were a mere metre away!!!
Even after all this we decided to stay for the quiz, when you receive complimentary chips and oh, guess which table was conveniently missed.. OURS! We wanted to speak to a manager but no one was available at the time.
I am absolutely disgusted by how we were treated by the staff, we will NEVER be coming here again and will be warning everyone away, I am completely dissatisfied and appalled by the service.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LooJenner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Caister-on-Sea
2.6 mi away
Burlington Palm Hotel
Burlington Palm Hotel
#13 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
180 reviews
3.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
Comfort Hotel Great Yarmouth
#14 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
405 reviews
2.4 mi away
Knights Court Hotel
Knights Court Hotel
#4 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#3 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
515 reviews
3.3 mi away
Andover House Hotel
Andover House Hotel
#1 of 21 in Great Yarmouth
473 reviews
5.4 mi away
Cliff Hotel
Cliff Hotel
#1 of 4 in Gorleston-on-Sea
1,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: High Street, Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth NR30 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Great Yarmouth > Caister-on-Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Caister-on-Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This independent small Hotel is situated in the centre of the famous lifeboat village of Caister on Sea just a few miles North of Great Yarmouth; close to the tranquil Norfolk Boards and the world famous North Norfolk coast. Facilities free to guests include the use of its own fitness centre and spa with indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and fully equipped gym. The independently run Brandford's Bar and Restaurant offering an excellent mouth-watering menu, wines and real ale is attached ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Hall Hotel Caister-On-Sea, Great Yarmouth

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing