We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap but very slow!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Manor Cafe

The Old Manor Cafe
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cheap but very slow!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

There are very few places in Caister to get a cup of tea and something to eat. Seeing the other reviews, I feel we must have visited on a "off day"! There is a notice which says "our food is cooked to perfection and perfection takes time". They're not kidding! We ordered just 2 teas, one bacon and cheese baguette and a portion of chips. It took 25mins to arrive complete which is amazing for a cafe at lunchtime (12.50). It's not as if they were rushed off their feet - only 2 other couples in the place. To cap it all, the "baguette" was actually a long soft roll and not a baguette. The chips were of the bought in pre prepared variety (hardly perfection).
Service was poor. It's a shame there is no real competition in Caister but even so, we will not waste our time in there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JaygeeW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    8
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wroclaw, Poland
Level Contributor
147 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice beach place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Very nice beach place. The food is English food, so you know since the beginning that you will drastically increasing your chances for a stroke just with a breakfast, but at least the food is nicely done. A special mention to the kindness and the care of the staff, they are really really welcoming!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank consu_sar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Out of the blue!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

Went to visit the lifeboat house, but was closed. We were looking for a place to eat. Got there, dont know how, and we decided to try it. Very friendly, and a nice little place. The food was good. Certainly go back again!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosaria7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
99 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Couldn't do enough.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Party of 9, (4 adults, 5 children). Prices were reasonable. Service was particularly good. A delux hot chocolate hit the spot.

I had the scampi, which came in a genourous portion.

Small quaint cafe near the beach.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BigBob234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

Very friendly staff, good food and value for money. We go every weekend for a meal and then often go to their other cafe as it is only a very short walk away for a coffee as it is on the beach with superb sea views.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TheTrikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Manor Cafe also viewed

Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 
Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
Caister-on-Sea, Great Yarmouth
 

Been to The Old Manor Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing