We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great welcome”
Review of Le Lavalette

Le Lavalette
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, great welcome”
Reviewed 8 August 2012

We're just back from a 2 week break in Villebois (2 families 8 people) and we had a number of very good meals in Le Lavalette. Food was very good and freshly prepared. Prices were good at around €25 a head, we had no children so all adult meals, the degustation menu at €20 was great value. They have a good reasonably priced wine list, though being cheapskates we stuck to their tasty house wine. Everyone gave them a thumbs up.

The interior of the restaurant is pretty and well laid out but it is the outside area that will really make your meal. The tables are laid out under the cover of the wooden market hall of this beautiful village providing much needed shade and fantastic views. Service was good and friendly but could get a little chaotic when busy, sit back and enjoy your surroundings! They speak English and made great efforts to understand my schoolboy French.

The Le Lavalette is a great asset to the village of Villebois and a real treat to have a meal in, they're not Michelin star but they produce good tasty food with a flourish.

P.s. if you get a chance have a drink in Café De La Reunion, you won't regret it, a part of the old France that unfortunately is disappearing under our noses

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Benbud K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    63
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We visited Le Lavalette at the end of July and the food was fantastic. Out of a 4 person group, 3 of us had a pork dish to start with which was very good. My wife had prawns to start which were also very good. We all had a beef dish for main course, cooked either medium or medium rare, and the taste and texture was excellent. To finish, 3 of the group had a trio of desserts which were fantastic and one had a creme brulle which was good. The trio was definitely the better option. Overall a great meal.

Helpful?
1 Thank ewanmac76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bastille Day meal”
Reviewed 18 July 2012

We had one of the best meals we have yet to experience in France. The presentation of the food was out of this world and the quality was tp notch. The staff were very attentive but not obtrusive and the pace of the meal alowed full enjoyment of the excellent cuisine. It is a must place to visit again and we recommend to toute le monde

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Les H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautifully presented tasty food”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

We popped in to Le Lavalette for lunch on a Wednesday and were shown to a sunny table by the window, perfect to appreciate the historic 'halles' (old wooden market stalls) in the centre of this small town. We were shown a board with the plat du jour which today was a starter of confit de volaille and small veggies served with salad, boeuf Bourgignon, tarte normande.
We opted just for the main course and dessert but seeing the starter this would have been a good option! The dishes were presented beautifully and preapred with care. Not huge quantities but very tasty. The dessert was again very attractive and perfect for a light lunch. For 12.5 euros for 2 courses and 15.50 euros for 3 this represents very good value. Not sure that they offer anything else for lunch other than the formule du jour but there is a more extensive menu for the evening, menus I believe start at 26 euros.
It was noticeable that the restaurant was full of local French people - always a good sign. The waitress was friendly and efficient.
Take note the restaurant is closed between 21st November and 4th December 2011.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds & Germany
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
“Lovely place, friendly service”
Reviewed 9 November 2011

Dined here en famille in early November. It was a pity that there were only five of us in the whole place. Food was lovely though we all said that it could have been a tad hotter. Beautifully presented and portions large enough though not massive.

Menus at 20.50, 24 and 27 Euros depending on how many courses were reasonable value though the wine was dear -- but it was excellent. Bill for 5 came to 180 euros.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank theoriginalsid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Lavalette also viewed

Villebois-Lavalette, Charente
Villebois-Lavalette, Charente
 
Villebois-Lavalette, Charente
 

Been to Le Lavalette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing