We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
3
9
5
10
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
3
9
5
10
54
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 81 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2013

I have been staying at this Inn for at least 10 years. During my early visits, it was a Comfort Inn. A few years ago, it was apparently "downgraded" to a Quality Inn. In my humble opinion, it improved all around with the downgrade. When I stayed there this past week, it had been "downgraded" yet again -- this time, to Econo Lodge. And, once again, this Inn seems to have improved pretty dramatically with this recent downgrade. It seems that with each downgrade, they just try all the harder to prove they are a great lodging value in this part of the city. This Inn is in a great location for just about any business or pleasure in the St. Louis area. It's just a couple of blocks away from the Sunset Hills City Hall and Police Dept.; so it is in a well-patrolled area (adjoins a nice residential area). I feel perfectly safe on each visit. It has always been (and still is) staffed by friendly employees who seem eager to help ensure a pleasant stay. The rooms have always been clean, well-appointed and maintained. However, at least the room I had on this visit (111) appears to have had a recent makeover and was even nicer than I remembered from before (I've stayed in this same room when the Inn was Comfort, Quality, and now Econo). I should stress that if you are looking for luxury lodging to impress yourself or others, this might not be the place for you. There are few frills and "posh" is not a word that immediately comes to mind for this establishment. However, for a good, clean, comfortable room -- fridge and microwave included (at least in room 111) -- and innkeepers who seem appreciative of one's patronage of their establishment, you just can't beat this one. And, oh yeah, forgot to mention that it has a very nice indoor pool and a very respectable complimentary breakfast (with healthy choices). Peaceful Blessings and Safe Travels, Brother Bill, Shepherd's Assistant, Nazarean Missions - moreableinc.org.

Room Tip: Never had a bad one. Room 111 is for sure quite nice. Even though there are rooms above, the ground floor rooms are very quiet and comfy.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rev Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaiqamir, Manager at Sunset Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2013

Rev. Bill

We would like to let you know that we appreciate you taking the time to inform others of your experience with us. We will continue to upgrade our facility as we move forward. We are looking forward to seeing you when you return to St. Louis. Once again Rev. Bill we will like to thank you for acknowledging us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

When we checked in, we were given room keys from front desk. While reaching the rooms the owner came and changed our rooms saying those rooms were not ready. The rooms which we got AC didn't work. We complained the reception they said its too hot outside so it will take some time. We waited almost 2 hours keeping AC on but it was blowing hot air only. Finally we got the rooms changes 3rd time. The mattress in the rooms was so hard. You could hear the noise from next room.
Next day we went for breakfast, everything was ran out and the staff or management didn't care to refill. Though 20 minutes were left in the breakfast timing. While asked reception to refill , they said the ran out of everything. The reception lady was sitting in pajama and didn't care to check on supply. Before 10 minutes of breakfast time the owner came and started winding up breakfast saying the time was over. Bad hotel. Bad staff behavior and bad management. Don't just waste your money.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaiqamir, Manager at Sunset Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. We work diligently to ensure we provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially on service. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Do not ever stay in this hotel. Dirty rooms. Dirty towels. Horrible customer service. It doesn't matter how cheap the hotel is this was disgusting. I was promised by two separate people a discounted rate of 45.00 and was charged 89.99 + tax. We were woken up at 6 AM by a construction worker drilling on our roof. We had to scream at each other to hear. It woke up several guests, we calmly told the african american "manager" that this was happening and she immediately started screaming profanities at us because we were "white". Do not leave your underage children at this hotel, the night clerk gives out alcohol to underage teens. Horrible horrible hotel.

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel at all.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaywindz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shaiqamir, Front Office Manager at Sunset Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2013

I would like to apologize for the way the guest felt she was treated. We do not have access to the choice employee discounted rate as a walk in guest. The choice employee's rate (our franchisor) is only possible online through their employer. Yes, we did have construction on our roof but it was at a later time. At our facility we are colored blind to everyone; no one is treated differently because of skin color or racial ethnic. I have managed this facility for the last 3 years and have been praised numberous times and have received appreication letters from quite a few guest. It is shocking to hear for the first time that our night employee provided alcohol to children. They have been with us for over 2 years and we never experienced or heard about them. In our neighborhood, we provide services to our guest at a very comparative rates to other hotels in our area. We provide more services and amenities than is required by our franchisor; hot breakfast, indoor hot tub and heated pool, mini microwave and refrigerator, iron and iron board, and coffee makers in all rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Had our worst experience ever (in over 20 years of traveling)! This hotel was dirty, noisy and just nasty. The place hasn't been updated in probably 30 years. We walked out to our car to leave with some of our stuff, planning to return to the room to get the rest of our stuff and by the time we walked back to the room (50 feet from our car), someone was already in our room with our stuff (including my husband's cell phone in their hand)! Killed 1 roach and 2 spiders... we were grossed out by this place. As we left the place, there was a strong oder of pot smoke. Never again!

Room Tip: Horrible experience, do not stay here!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CTBIRCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

We had booked rooms in advanced based on an experience my parents had at another hotel. They got the name wrong and thought it was this one. My oh my, were they mistaken! The room given to them was decent enough, however, the door didn't lock AT ALL and wound up having to be moved into a nasty room. Our room had what looked like blood splatters on the wall, holes in the door, cracks in the walls, mold on the ceilings, no seals around the door, dirty linens, there were "short and curlies" on the wash cloths and towels (I used my own), ancient dirt crusted around the edges of the floor so deep it looked as though it had never been cleaned. Floors hadn't been vaccumed and it smelled funny. No sound proofing, so the noise from screaming kids living next door in the middle of the night, arguing adults, assorted other sounds that will remain unmentioned, kept us awake nearly all night. It was dirty, noisy, and the staff was rude. When I told the manager of the lock problem on my parents door he said it would be fixed right away. Several hours later someone new was at the desk that knew nothing about it and the problem hadn'[t been resoved, so communication between staff is obviously poor and upkeep of the property is terrible.
FOR THOSE BRAGGING ABOUT SUCH A GOOD DEAL, WE STAYED AT A LUXURIOUS MARRIOT THE FOLLOWING NIGHT FOR $10 MORE. Granted, we had some discounts in place. Still, if they had been willing to not charge our credit card (and we still don't know exactly how MUCH they'll be charging us, weren't given a receipt), we'd have stayed elsewhere. The lady at the desk said that she couldn't cancel the reservation because her computer was down and we'd be charged for the room anyway.
Stay away, stay away, stay away. Don't make a reservation here, it's not worth the risk. Pay $20 more and put yourself in a luxurious bed and breakfast downtown. Do anything. Just don't stay here. Trust me. The positive reviews are either from staff members, or from someone who managed to get the ONE nice room in the place before the doorknob was broken off. NASTY!!!

Room Tip: Go anywhere else in the city. Anywhere.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lkw012000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews