We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great indoor pool and comfortable beds!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Lakeland TN
Level Contributor
331 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Great indoor pool and comfortable beds!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2011

Good midway point between Six Flags and Downtown St. Louis. It was very convienient to get to six Flags, about 20 minutes in the rain. Lots of restruants near by. We felt safe in the area.Staff was friendly and helpful. It rained while we were att Six Flags and they shut all the rides down. We were able to take a break in the indoor pool. It was not crowded or loud. we did travel on a Thursday so that may have something to do with it. They have a restruant but no free breakfast. We went to I-Hop across the street. Very comfortable beds and firm and soft pillows to choose from. Great night's rest after a long day at Six Flags. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Inside rooms face the outside pool, but do not have access to the pool from your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LakelandLady87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    79
    83
    29
    33
See reviews for
93
45
13
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
132 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

I only occupied the room for 8 hr, but it was an okay place to snooze on my road trip, and I felt safe. Not fancy, but not offensive, given the price paid.

I booked my stay one day in advance, on a third-party website where you name your own price for a 3-star hotel, and paid under half the list rate for a room. Upon checkin, the clerk was quite pleasant and I was given my choice of 1 or 2 beds, and informed that a SMOKING room had been requested--however, the website I booked on specifically states that they request NONSMOKING rooms, so this is a discrepancy to watch out for. Occupancy must have been low, and I was cheerfully given a nonsmoking room at my insistence.

The hotel was dated and, despite exterior dressing-up, the lobby and corridors were dim, worn, and with dirty carpeting--they clearly don't clean regularly. The swimming pools appeared clean and certainly the children were enjoying them. One pool is outdoors and sunny, the other is small and indoors. The room itself was adequate, but again dated. Bedding was adequate: not luxuriant. The old-style TV worked, but I only watched for 5 minutes. Wi-fi internet signal strength and 3g cellular phone service was weak. No luggage rack was provided. A hair dryer, steam iron, ironing board, and clothes hangers were present. There was no mini-bar/fridge.

The bathroom was small, to the extent that you had to close the door in order to maneuver except for using the sink. The flooring was worn and the grout dirty/moldy except right in the center of the room. Sink and counter were dated and worn, but clean and functional. Exhaust fan worked gently and silently. Toilet flushed properly. The shower head in the tub was on a flexible hose, and it was difficult to get the water to spray in the right direction. But some people like this sort of arrangement; I suppose it was okay. Soaps and shampoos were adequate but unimpressive. Towels were clean and absorbent, but coarse and smallish.

Check-out was uneventful and no wrongful charges were made. I would stay here again in a pinch when traveling, but not as a destination hotel where I would prefer a more modern and comfortable surrounding instead.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeaEarleGreyHot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2011

Visited family in St. Louis and they recommended this hotel. We really enjoyed our stay. Great location to get around town. Nice swimming pool area. Staff was very friendly. Hotel is alittle out dated but they are refurnishing rooms now. We saw pictures in the lobby and we will definately stay here and see the new decor on our next trip to St. Louis.

Room Tip: We stayed on the third floor and were happy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank memawgaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We stayed here because it had good reviews on here and was close to our family. This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had. First we asked for a non-smoking room o. The first floor but they said they didn't have any non-smoking rooms on the first floor so they put us on the second floor in a SMOKING room. By the time we got to the room we were to tired to fight for another room. The room service stops at 10:00pm and there is no free breakfast. On Saturday night our car was broken into as was several others. Our GPS and wallets were stolen. While making a police report...along with several other people...the manager comes out and doesn't offer any condolences or assistance, instead she stated "it happens here ALL THE TIME"! As we were leaving this morning the cops had returned as more guests were getting ready to leave and noticing they had been broken into as well. There are no video cameras on the premises so it's doubtful if the individuals will ever be caught. This hotel is not worth it. The only good thing about this hotel were the pleasant housekeeping staff.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longanecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunset Hills hotels

Augusta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2010

No continental breakfast with the high price room. The business lounge's computer is probably one of the first computers ever created. A roach was in our bathroom and they charge you a $7.95 tourism charge. The prices in the resturant are too expensive and not very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holden, Missouri
Level Contributor
125 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2010

Recently spent two nights in the hotel using a discount booking site. The price I paid was a bargain for the accommodations. The room I had was on the first floor facing the pool. The room was quiet and appeared to be recently renovated, nice carpet, extremely clean, and well furnished. The bed and bedding was very comfortable. Bathroom included an overabundance of towels and wash clothes. Other amenities included coffee pot with plenty of coffee, hair dryer, iron & ironing board. The high-speed wi-fi was dependable. I also used the computer in the business center which had a printer attached. Desk staff was extremely helpful in providing suggestions and directions.

The Saturday evening of my stay there was a wedding and two reunions being held in the attached convention facilities. Even with all the attendees, I did not find parking to be a problem, in fact the back lot was empty.

The room might be overpriced at it's rack rate, since there is no breakfast included.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westmotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2010

We stayed 2 nights there when visiting friends nearby. The room was clean and odor-free ( not always the case at other accommodations). It was quite warm that weekend, but the A/C kept us very comfortable. There was a pool at this location, but we were too busy to be able to use it. No free breakfast at this location. The staff was very helpful when our shower faucet handle came off in our hand and got it fixed quickly. In their defense the faucet was new and for some reason had not been properly installed. We didn't think this was too big an issue and did not ask to be compensated (despite having to trek down to another room to shower until the problem was resolved), but it also was not offered. All in all no complaints from us. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paj3boys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Hills
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Kirkwood Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center
3.3 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites St. Louis Fenton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Property: Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Address: 10709 Watson Rd, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed newly renovated guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe for breakfast & Twisted Tree for lunch and dinner or in-room dining. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within short 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking for your convenience. Guests that didn't arrive by car but want to explore the city, we offer Avis car rental on property. Our central location positioned at the intersections of Highway I-44 and I-270 offers an ideal location no matter what brings you to St. Louis. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium home to eleven time World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals. Adventurers visit the tallest man made monument in the US, the Gateway Arch soaring into the sky at an impressive 630 feet. Thrill seekers gear up for massive roller coasters at Six flags over Mid America & then cool down at Hurricane Harbor. Little explorers enjoy a full day of hands-on learning, creativity, experimentation & interactive play at the Magic House located just up the street. Nearby corporations include Liberty Mutual, ADP, Maritz, Lutheran Church Missouri Synod & General Electric. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing