We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment at Route 66 Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Big disappointment at Route 66 Holiday Inn”
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel a couple of weekends ago for a family reunion. We were advised to request a room in the renovated part of the hotel which we did even calling to confirm that request. Told "no problem". When we checked in the clerk said our request was 2 doubles and they were only in the old part of the hotel. Went round & round with her and her customer service was HORRIBLE. Hotel was full. Ended up in an old room that was clean and ok for the price. Bed was hard as a rock. AC worked really well and great shower in a very dated bathroom. Construction everywhere. Price was reasonable but a HUGE disappointment. Others in our group had some issues as well. Fitness room closed for repair. Hallways a mess from construction. Surprised the Holiday Inn hasn't yanked their flag from this dump of a hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ken M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and can assure you that your issues will be addressed immediately. Again, I wish to thank you for all your comments.

Regards,
Mickea Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    82
    87
    29
    33
See reviews for
97
48
13
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel was good and bad.

The good: The pool was fun and the hot tub was relaxing. When you first walk in, the decor is very modern and bright. The breakfast was yummy, with a wide variety. The breakfast was not free, but what they did offer was good and worth the price. Easy access to the highway, so location was good.

The bad: The worst part of our visit was the beds. I was there with my family and none of us could fall asleep. I stayed up all night tossing and turning. Our room was a little noisy, and it was hot. AC unit was not able to keep us comfortable.

I would recommend staying at a different hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rae s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We sincerly apologize you were unable to rest comfortably in our beds and your room temperature was uncomforable. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests as this matter will be checked immediately. We hope that you will give us another opportunity on your next visit to St. Louis.

Thank You,
MIckea Hicks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

went to this hotel. You could tell that they were doing some remodeling. When we walked in the concierge was very courteous and helpful. When we went to the room it looked nice and clean. Everything seemed to be in place. I loved the new décor in this hotel. It has a zen feel to it. The room seemed to be immaculate even for a picky person like me:) I must say that they is no complimentary breakfast here, but there is a breakfast café located on the main floor. You have to be seated and served. Nothing is free. A bottle of water cost me $1. Other than that I thought that this was a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: No spa or complimentary breakfast. Rooms have nice view of the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

First off, the booking agent did not tell me that the dang hotel was under construction. And by that I mean much of the parking lot was off limits because of resurfacing, jackhammers were going by 8 a.m., etc. Also, make sure that you don't get one of the first several rooms off the lobby because you have to contend with the yammering of the Avis agent during day hours and the nonstop crashing of the ice machine afterward. Oh, and if you are expecting a "fitness room," it consists of 4 treadmills, three of them marked "out of order."

As for the renovated rooms, they just miss the mark in small-but-important ways. Luckily I do a lot of yoga or I would never have been able to contort myself & reach the toilet paper holder.

And to top it all off: The hotel tested the fire alarms at 8:45 a.m. on Monday morning!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Dear Lily W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the common areas of the hotel prevented you from fully enjoying your visit. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sunset Hills hotels

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
136 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Most of the front desk people were friendly/helpful. Room was comfortable, very slight dog odor since they allow pets in some rooms, but we asked them to use extra air freshener and it was gone the next day.

Bathtub was one of those situations where the porcelain has turned gray so it looks dirty from the longtime use of a safety mat, but actually the entire bathroom was close to spotless. Saw the hotel workers removing some bathtubs so perhaps they are upgrading.

Hotel room was mostly quiet. Some bright lights from nearby shopping, but their curtains effectively blocked out most of the light. AC a little noisy, but awesome. Even if you don't need a room for disabled guests, you might think about asking for one since the toilet here seemed surprisingly low. Also, don't catch a cold because the Kleenex at the hotel seemed to made of something akin to sandpaper.

A number of affordable restaurants nearby (Steak 'n Shake in walking distance) and the hotel has room service from, believe it or not, a biker bar. (Lots of Harleys in the parking lot Sunday night, but still plenty of spaces for guests.) Didn't notice any noise from the bar at all in the hotel, but when we called for room service, the employee had to yell to be heard over the music. Food was expensive and only okay. Surprising options (salmon salad, I think) for a biker bar.

Staff did a good job staying on top of storm reports/tornado warnings our first night.

Location is about 20 minutes west of the Forest Park area where you might spend time seeing various museums and eating at tasty restaurants in the Central West End. It's farther from downtown and the Gateway Arch, but driving seemed easy every time. Right now take extra time to get to the Arch because of construction near the attraction.

For the price, this Holiday Inn seemed like a good choice.

Room Tip: This is weird, but if you're allergic to animals, lie down on your pillow right away and do a de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darshan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

They are renovating the place, which gives it another star, but they didn't bother to replace the bath tub. I'm glad we didn't pay full price or get stuck in a smoking room. The smoking hallway reeked horribly. The pool area appeared to be needing restoration badly. If you can find another room at another place, I'd go there.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Allen O,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, relaxing and superior accommodations. I am sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the refurbishment at the hotel in particular with bath tubs. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I made the mistake of staying here. This place is under construction. I thought it was a blessing to get a freshly redone room. Wrong! First there wasn't hot water. The craftsmanship in the remodeled room is awful. You can put lipstick on a pig but it's still a pig. That, and the attitude of the staff is off. I received the most inauthentic sorry possible. Platinum for IHG means nothing here, so again, avoid this place. Freshly remodeled rooms, shouldn't have worn sheets with snags.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superdrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mickeah, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
We appreciate your comments about your recent stay and I am very sorry that your experienced problems with the hot water. I can assure you we are looking into this matter immediately. By sharing your thoughts about your stay, you are helping us to deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope that you will offer us the opportunity to provide you with an improved level of product quality and customer service on your next visit to St. Louis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sunset Hills
0.3 mi away
Days Inn ST. Louis Lindbergh Boulevard
0.5 mi away
Best Western Kirkwood Inn
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Louis/Sunset Hills
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn St. Louis - South County Center
5.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites St. Louis/South I-55
6.8 mi away
Best Western St. Louis Inn
Best Western St. Louis Inn
#1 of 1 in Tesson Ferry
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66

Property: Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66
Address: 10709 Watson Rd, Sunset Hills, Saint Louis, MO 63127-1005
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Missouri > Saint Louis > Sunset Hills
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sunset Hills
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 3*
Number of rooms: 213
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in suburban St. Louis County, the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66 features 213 stylish and finely appointed newly renovated guest rooms, fitness center, whirlpool as well as indoor and outdoor pools. On property we have the T-Bird Cafe for breakfast & Twisted Tree for lunch and dinner or in-room dining. Surrounded by over thirty dining options available within short 3 mile radius you can satisfy any palate. We are pleased to offer complimentary WiFi & parking for your convenience. Guests that didn't arrive by car but want to explore the city, we offer Avis car rental on property. Our central location positioned at the intersections of Highway I-44 and I-270 offers an ideal location no matter what brings you to St. Louis. Sports fans take in a game at Busch Stadium home to eleven time World Series Champions, the St. Louis Cardinals. Adventurers visit the tallest man made monument in the US, the Gateway Arch soaring into the sky at an impressive 630 feet. Thrill seekers gear up for massive roller coasters at Six flags over Mid America & then cool down at Hurricane Harbor. Little explorers enjoy a full day of hands-on learning, creativity, experimentation & interactive play at the Magic House located just up the street. Nearby corporations include Liberty Mutual, ADP, Maritz, Lutheran Church Missouri Synod & General Electric. Whatever brings you to St. Louis you will find your tranquil home away from home in the center of it all at the Holiday Inn SW - Route 66. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn St. Louis SW Route 66 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn St. Louis - Southwest (Viking) Hotel Sunset Hills
Holiday Inn Saint Louis
Saint Louis Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Viking

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing