We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern rooms and great bathrooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dashwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Dashwood Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirtlington
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Modern rooms and great bathrooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

I have stayed in a number of hotels in Oxford over the past 6 months for work.

I stayed for 1 night at the Dashwood, staying in an upstairs room in the barn. The room was large with a large double bed and a modern, recently renovated bathroom. The bed was comfortable and the wifi in the room was speedy enough to use Netflix without issues.

The bathroom was very clean, with a great selection of toiletries provided. The shower was powerful and hot, although the door of my shower had come off its runners slightly which made it a bit more difficult to use.

The room had the worlds smallest TV for the size of room, and could really have benefited from something a bit bigger than about 12 inches. Luckily, because the WiFi was fast, I just watched Netflix instead!

There was a selection of tea & coffee left, however there was a lack of biscuits - always my way of rating how good a hotel is!

I wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: If my room was to go by, then all the rooms should be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank samueltdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    59
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
22
115
10
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great room and good food. What more could you ask for. Staff very helpful. Loads of parking and the room was really light and airy and in a great state of repair. Large very clean bathroom with a great shower. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MatildasMum37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

This place is great. Renovated old buildings. Nice rooms. VERY friendly people. Really good food. Mobile phones do not work and wifi only in the public areas.
We are booked there for business, but can really enjoy our evenings mot working :-)

Room Tip: All rooms I stayed in are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linus36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

I have stayed here many times and it has always been a great experience, and the restaurant is a must! The only small quibble is the poor phone coverage, but with free wifi, this is not much of a problem, and certainly not the dashwoods fault, just something to be aware of.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hamish R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
180 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Stayed two nights here and found it to be clean and very friendly. Room is not the largest and the bed not the most comfortable but perfectly adequate. Tea & coffee facilites in room but no problem to get any more. Excellent shower and the only thing I missed was a bedside clock. There was a hair dryer tucked away in a drawer. There was a safe which was easy to use.

We had the evening meal the first night and it was excellent, hot and plentiful. A similar story in the morning for breakfast, plenty of choice and the full breakfast was freshly made and delicious. The bar was a little small but as the weather was sunny we were able to sit outside.

It is set in a lovely village and I have no hesitation in recommending the Dashwood.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanChris39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Stayed in the Dashwood on my daughter's rrecommendation while visiting Kirtlington to spend time with her and my grandchildren. Scott was very welcoming and the room was very much fit for purpose. Breakfast was excellent and next time we will have dinner there. Alll in all a good time and we would definitely stay here again .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Stayed here whilst on business in Oxford. Takes about 25 mins to get to Pear Tree Roundabout. Room spacious and comfortable. On the main road but not disturbed by traffic noise. Small bathroom with a shower even though in an executive room - rooms are well described on their website. Small bar area with few seats but not that busy whilst there. Enjoyed two interesting meals whilst staying - didn't opt for breakfast as not included in the room cost. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OldLanghoTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kirtlington
3.9 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
8.0 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
4.0 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
3.8 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
5.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dashwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dashwood Hotel

Property: The Dashwood Hotel
Address: Heyford Rd, South Green, Kirtlington OX5 3HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Kirtlington
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirtlington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Dashwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in the beautiful North Oxfordshire village of Kirtlington 0X5 3HJ near Bicester, The Dashwood Hotel is a historic grade II listed coaching house now serving as a restaurant and bar with hotel rooms. The surrounding area offers a wealth of sights, activities and heritage with Oxford, Woodstock's Blenheim Palace and the popular Bicester Village Designer Outlet Shopping Centre all on the doorstep. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dashwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dashwood Hotel Kirtlington, Oxfordshire
Dashwood Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing