We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manor
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Came here to celebrate engagement weekend and for a bit of R&R. Beautiful manor, gorgeous grounds, really helpful (but not intrusive) service, and fantastic restaurant quality food. Our dog Max loved romping around the grounds - think it was his favorite vacation. 1 hour from London. This was a perfect weekend break - can't find any faults. Thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmax0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    264
    177
    93
    47
    40
See reviews for
85
331
10
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
oxfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Our friends had recently celebrated a family birthday at Weston Manor and were so impressed they suggested meeting up for Sunday lunch.
We parked in the grounds of this 'stately home' and our friends greeted us in the magnificent hall. At their suggestion we took a glass of wine and explored the superb gardens, outdoor pool and croquet lawn.
Lunch was served in the panelled dining room (complete with minstrels gallery) where we received superb service. Even more importantly, the food was excellent, turning the whole occasion into a fine dining experience.
The table d'hote Sunday lunch is £27.50 and two in our party explored the a la carte options, choosing roast grouse which they reported to be superb.
This is an ideal venue for a special occasion where one can relax and take one's time savouring each course.
We understand the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment (part of which is on-going).
We sincerely hope we will win the prize draw offering complimentary dinner for two!
Finally, dogs are allowed in bedrooms, all public rooms (with the obvious exception of the main dining room) and in the grounds.
We will certainly return shortly with our small dog and try the tempting bar snacks on offer.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OxfordshireDoglover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Global
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

I visited just as a new private hotelier was taking over this sadly rundown majestic Manor.
I am so happy that in a relatively short time and without hardly missing a beat the beautiful building is getting a lovely make over.
be prepared for some area's to be under renovation, these old places don't deserve quick plastic fixes. It has a clean and smart appearance where work has been completed. I have heard of weddings and business meeting have run smoothly and slowly but surely Weston Manor is being found by the curious and discerning clients. Its hard to explain the before and after but trust me its getting better and better.
I at in the bar as it was late , great Manor Club Sandwich ... squeaky fresh and Chip/fries whatever you call as good as I have had for quiet some time. Good expresso.. and a smile while being served. It is a old Manor .... I like the "slightly' serious approach but had a few laughs with the gardeners, also part of the staff.
Test it out , ask for your needs this is one to support. Great launch pad for one of the most visited areas in England . A great place to come "home" to after a busy day sightseeing.
Spa coming in about 6 months ... website 3 weeks away....
I bet I put an extra green button VERY soon...

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mbpolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

This has to be one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for many years. The drive upto the hotel is impressive, my partner was extremely impressed. The hotel has a wonderful feel to it, the oak panels, wooden floors, rustic charm, log fires, spacious rooms, etc... all add to the beauty. The gardens are impressive. But the one thing that really stood out for us was the service, helpfulness and welcome we recieved from the staff. Before the trip I wanted to arrange for a few extras to make the whole trip something special for my partner. The staff bent over backwards to not only help but went the extra mile to make it all perfect. The restaurant staff were outstanding, the food excellent, and the price quite reasonable.

A memorable weekend made even better by the Weston Manor Hotel and it's outstanding staff.

Room Tip: Rooms 9 and 10 are well worth the upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wynning_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the West Manor. We were placed in one of the top rooms, which had ample room, a large bathroom and a beautiful view on the gardens. Really stunning and well maintained.
We were received in a very friendly manner, had a wonderful dinner at the restaurant and danced the rest of the night (we were at a private function). The bartenders were really lovely, especially Emma! : )
I would definitely recommend the house for a visit in the country site, or just visit the restaurant. Just don't forget to stroll through the gardens!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the rooms on the top floor. It does mean very narrow steep stairs but it's worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Josta W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

The Weston Manor is a place I've stayed in a number of times now. A couple of year's ago it was a bit disorganised and my booking was forgotten a couple of times. However I now find the staff much more switched on and willing to both help and take responsibility for any issues.

The meeting room out in the old stable block is light, airy and ideal for meetings.
The bar is convivial and well organised with a wide selection of wiskys.
The restaurant is well run and the food for the most part good. Also look out for the restaurant manager, as she can make miracles happen if you ask nicely.
My only grumble was that the broadband in the bedrooms didnt work.
One other issue guests need to be aware of is that if you intend to get very very drunk, them some of the bedrooms may be tricky to get to as the stairs are very steep and the fire doors open outwards.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
My Office
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We chose this hotel restaurant for an anniversary dinner as it was within a short taxi ride of home. I `cased the joint` before booking and it was clear that the restaurant is mostly used by residents. The setting is beautiful and the internal decoration is excellent, particularly if you are not a fan of the plastic Hil*ton style of modern chain hotels. It even has a minstrels galleryl

On the Friday evening, the restaurant was nearly empty throughout with only one other cover dining. Nonetheless, the service was attentive and efficient without being overpowering. It seems the hotel was fully (and exclusively) booked for a wedding the following day, and we were perhaps lucky to have had a quiet evening

The food was all very good with my lady having the taster menu (good value at £35). I had sliced pigeon breast followed by monk-fish tail. As a side (and a special treat) I had triple fried Chips which were quite the nicest I have ever tasted. Well worth breaking a low carb diet for! The wines were very good.

Unfortunately, all the function rooms (Bar, lounge & restaurant) were quite cold - I think all the entrance doors were left open all the time - with Autumn fast approaching.

All in all a very pleasant anniversary dinner, in lovely surroundings, excellent food and good service. Ideal for that special occasion. Well done Weston Manor. - but can I suggest you make sure the doors are shut & the heating is on when the temperature drops!

Room Tip: We did not stay in the hotel - just used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oxford-Oldman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,634 reviews
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
433 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,279 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.2 mi away
The Dashwood Hotel
The Dashwood Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kirtlington
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing