We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas lunch”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Manor
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas lunch”
Reviewed 27 December 2012 via mobile

We decided to have Christmas lunch out this year, the first time ever and chose Weston Manor because it is close to where family live in Bicester. The entrance and grounds impressed us straightaway, a beautiful historic building in a wonderful setting. Once inside it is even more lovely, restored sympathetically and in keeping with the history of the building.

We decided to explore and Christian, the Manager, approached us and asked it it was our first visit and then took us on a tour through the rooms explaining the work undertaken so far. It was so interesting and we really appreciated the time he took on a very busy day. He also kept a close eye on the room and arranged for seating in the bar as soon as a table became available. A really lovely touch and made us all feel very welcome. As if we were guests in his home.

The lunch was £68 and worth every penny. There were 6 in our party and all agreed the food and service were excellent. We sat in the gallery in The Baron's Hall which was decorated beautifully. We really liked that there were a limited number of tables with staggered seating times which made it feel relaxed and without the usual rush of serving a large number of people.

We will not be cooking Christmas lunch again! A huge thank you to Christian and all his team who were outstanding.

Stayed December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank janc9014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for your kind review and I am pleased to inform you that we took all comments on-board to ensure our Christmas Package for 2013 will exceed all expectations. Our doors are always open for you and your honorable guests.

Christian Kaberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    171
    91
    41
    38
See reviews for
80
322
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

I was brought here for a birthday treat. The hotel is amazing. Not only maintaining history but maintaining it with style. It is very unusual to come across a hotel that gets so many things right. Staff were brilliant and extremely welcoming and attentive.. so much so that I am already thinking about booking another weekend. I loved the setting etc. Good romantic hotel. It was so good that I feel bad saything that the room we stayed in was just okay. It looks like they are doing up rooms and while there was nothing wrong with it (being v basic), it was not as special as some of the other rooms. We were upstairs in the main old building at the back - I cannot remember the room number but it was at the end of a corridor. There was a staff door opposite us and it led to a kitchen (I presume) - the noise was not appreciated. Particularly as staff kept leaving the door open!
That said - I was really impressed with this hotel. I very rarely want to return somewhere so soon. Breakfast etc. was great. We did not have dinner (great restaurants in the area) but had lunch and a drink or two.
Well done to everyone there (aside from the room we staying and the noise) you are doing an amazing job.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurb'd room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michealmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review and brilliant feedback. You will be pleased to know that we are just finalizing plans to refurbish our Master Suite and aim to have the room completed in April 2013. Meanwhile, we now have 6 rooms refurbished to a very high standard. The issue we had with noise has been dealt with, so thank you for bringing this to my attention.

Our doors are always open to you and your honorable guests.

Christian Kaberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

I think this place deserves a second review from me. We've used the Manor for quarterly business meetings for the last 3 years. Our delegates love it as this isn't a corporate place, it feels like home.
The hotel is being upgraded very tastefully and every time we go back it gets even better. The new management are friendly, attentive and clearly on the ball. Food is tip top and the staff at all points are professional, friendly and smart...
I'm so very pleased to see this grand old manor house being carefully and thoughtfully restored.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndrewCrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans
Level Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

A lovely boutique hotel. The main hotel is delightful with wonderful restaurant & bar. A wonderful experience. Service is first class. The only slight issue is that the rooms in the coach house need updating. Sadly they let down the first class boutique hotel. Despite this l thoroughly recommend hotel. It's a nice touch if class so different to modern chain hotels!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cookie1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I've only recently discovered this absolutely wonderful hotel and its restaurant. The approach down a tree lined avenue, glimpses of the exquisite grounds, sheep grazing contentedly in its meadow by the lake, set me anticipating pleasurably. The sensation continued when, on pushing open it's beautiful ancient studded front door one is led into a broad welcoming hall, with easy sofas and chairs, logs crackling and flaming in a beautiful fireplace, and a cosy bar off to the right. Given the choice of dining in the manificent Baron's Hall, complete with Minstrels' gallery and superb linen-folded panelling, we opted to dine in the beautiful Georgian Morning Room, overlooking the exquisite and extensive grounds, which we later enjoyed exploring. Our lunch was superb, the delightful staff welcoming and attentive to our every need and we lingered in the beautiful ambience reluctant to leave the comfort of our bay window table. However we stirred ourselves sufficiently to explore the rest of this beautiful old Manor House (it was originally an Abbey), parts of which are 900 years old We certainly plan to return, and have in fact booked a Christmas Day lunch there, and I cannot wait for what I know will be (upon opening that magical front door) a joyful and welcoming Christmas scene before our eyes!

Room Tip: Did not actually stay there on this occasion, merely lunching in the exquisite dining room (in fact...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Skylark848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxfordshire
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We recently stayed at the hotel for a wedding. The wedding was well organised and the staff friendly and the food exceptional. However, the room we had was in the adjoining coach house was very average although the bed was comfortable
The bathroom was however freezing with a non-working radiator, cold tiled floor and no heated towel rail. For a charge of over £100 per night we felt this was very over charged. We also thought a bottle of water might have been supplied. Hospitality tray was hidden in the wardrobe!!! Breakfast was lovely and again the staff efficient and friendly but the room let it down. I gather re-furbishing is in progress - do hope they get a move on in the coach house!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beenthereOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments and constructive feedback. I am pleased to share with you that your comments have helped us to identify improvement areas. The coach house is undergoing final review and we have gone as far to find a date when our contractors can go in a spruce up the rooms with fresh carpets, fabrics and get the bathrooms up to a great standard. The negative part is though that the price will increase in line with the refurbishment.

Our doors are always open for you and your honorable guests and I look forward to welcome you back to The Manor, sharing with you the progress so far and future plans.

Christian Kaberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

After being invited to celebrate a wedding at the hotel, we decided to leave our daughter at home and make a night of it! On arriving, we were struck by the beauty of the old manor and greeted by a grand entrance hall. The front of house staff were friendly and made us feel welcome before directing us to our spotless but rather dated room. We were disappointed that we didn't get to stay in one of the newly refurbished rooms, which we would have even considered paying more for. It was a shame that this was not an option at the time of booking, leaving us feeling as though it was a bit of a lottery as to whether we would have a nicer room or not.

We enjoyed a short stroll around the well kept grounds and read the complimentary papers over a tasty coffee and fresh mint tea, served promptly and courteously by Viktor, the perfect barman. After enjoying the afternoon and retiring to our room to dress for dinner, we had a couple of requests of an ironing board and hairdryer. Although these were brought to use promptly, it would have been nice if the hair dryer had been of higher quality and the ironing board slightly less 'used' looking.

The five course taster menu at dinner was rather delicious and the crisp white wine that went with it was delightful. The service in the evening was also superb and Charles demonstrated that he really is an asset to your dining team. Having had our fill of food and drink, we slept well and awoke to a peaceful start and lovely garden view.

The breakfast was in pleasant surroundings and the staff were attentive if not a little disorganised, with us being asked multiple times if we had ordered our breakfast and tea/coffee. In addition, the full english was well presented but unfortunately lacked the culinary execution and attention to detail of the previous evening's meal. For example, the sausages seemed leathery as if re-heated and the bacon was rather tough. The selection of continental items however, was good and the wide selection of fruit was fresh and tasty.

Essentially, we enjoyed this short trip and we are sure that after the full renovations have taken place, it will be a beautifully restored manor for weekend escapes. However, we believe that an increased attention to detail would make this an even more high end experience. For example:
- There was no information in the rooms leaving us unsure of breakfast times, checkout and reception contact numbers.
- They asked if we wanted a paper in the morning, we said yes but it never arrived (since we were not charged, we didn't worry too much)
- The staff were all very friendly and personable but seemed to lack clear direction (such as knowing which tables they were serving at breakfast)

We would like to visit again once the renovations are complete and look forward to seeing the finished article. The manor really does deserve a new lease of life.

Room Tip: Ask for the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anneka F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 January 2013
Thank you for your fantastic comments and constructive feedback. Whilst we are still refurbishing rooms (one by one) and have just completed the 6th bedroom, the feedback you gave us was valid, informative and just. As it happens, all these points have been rectified although they were more complex than anticipated. The Manor will never make excuses for not delivering the Magic Touch and will constantly strive in listening and improving. Our bar of excellence is set very high and we will succeed.

We welcome the opportunity to open our doors for you and your honorable guests in the near future.

Christian Kaberg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,621 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,203 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing