We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic building - let down by accommodation...”
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Manor
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic building - let down by accommodation...”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

My mother and I have just returned from an overnight stay at this hotel, booked as a Mother's Day gift. I am afraid to say we were very disappointed - especially as we had paid for a superior room. The main building itself is absolutely beautiful, we were told the current owners purchased in 2012 and refurbished. Unfortunately where we were placed - in the Coach House - looked like it had not been touched in about 15 years. The carpets in the hallway was very worn and the place smelled damp and old. We were placed in a room right beside the cleaning cupboard, and the room itself was an orangey/peach colour with two single beds. In the bathroom was.....an avocado suite (I have not seen anything like that in about 20 years!) with a shower just as old. There was no hot water in the shower and the tv failed to work properly. We reported this all to the staff who did apologise, we decided not to push for a partial refund. We were entitled to as that certainly was not a superior rooms - I've stayed at better Holiday Inn's (and we dont frequent those often!!). The food is great and I think this could be a fantastic hotel, but they need to spend a bit of work modernising the Coach House. We were not impressed at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main building - these might be a little better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian K, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 12 March 2013
Dear Guest. Thank you for your kind comments and constructive feedback, all of them very valid and useful for further consideration. Whilst one will never make excuses for poor services, I am pleased to inform you that the entire Coach House is just weeks away from a much needed face lift. The room you stayed in is by category Superior, even though the decor of the room (including the Avocado coloured bathrooms) would possibly suggest that it was in its heyday.

We are truly grateful for your feedback and will use this in our journey in transforming The Manor to one of the most exclusive venues in the Cotswolds region. A destination where culinary experiences are matched with luxurious bedrooms.

And the coloured bathtubs will NOT be a part of the future here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    171
    91
    41
    39
See reviews for
80
323
10
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2013

Like a lot of the reviews this was also a Groupon deal.

The hotel is a gorgeous 14C rambling place in wonderful order and would make a splendid setting for a well healed wedding.

However, no doubt, because we were Goupon people we were given a bedroom absolutely up on the very top, v small but very clean with a lovely clean bathroom with a bath (not shower only) but no tea making or fridge facilities'. Because we had run so late we had to have our (tasting menu) dinner at 9pm One has two choices either 7pm or 9pm.

The first course was a half teacup of very hot mushroom soup with an inch square of parmesan tulle, eaten with a teaspoon and three tiny tiny slices of bread (think half a slice of a small loaf cut into 3). Fifteen minutes later we had a tiny portion of John Dory, a wee bit dry and roughly as big as a very small fish finger, that was served with some thinly sliced carrots (I think, the vegetable was in a dressing and we ate by candle light). After that another 20 minutes or so until the meat arrived, a small mountain (about the size of a small mince pie) of very tender feather steak, sitting under it was some kale and on top of it was about half a tablespoon of potato puree. This was eventually followed by a plate with a smear of fruit puree topped by one rosette of piped chocolate something - think a large button - again a hiatus before the pudding which was meant to be a smoked panne cotta surrounded by a tiny moat of something, was it passion fruit puree? Never mind, it was tasteless. Then 4 very petit fours. Put it this way, if you like bits on plates with smears and tiny mountains of food you would have loved it.

There is a condition called Prader Willy that prevents sufferers from it from ever feeling full up, however if you don't have that condition the brain says 'Oh I'm eating' and then if there is a long pause between courses it says 'Oh I'm full'. Is that what a tasting menu is all about? All the food was lovely and hot.

Had we paid the proper price £245, per night plus £45 per head for the meal I would have been not a happy birthday lady. It is indeed a lovely, lovely grand Manor house tho' I did spare a thought for people who lived there before central heating.

Outside is a splendid topiary garden, beyond the gardens is a lorry park and junk yard, but do remember that we were on the very top of the building, people on other floors would not have noticed it. Yes we could hear the endless noise of the A34 from our bedroom.

The staff were fine, reception was a bit off hand but otherwise efficient. The building is worth a visit if only for a cup of tea.

Room Tip: Pay more to upgrade to a better room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gribbly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

well worth groupan deal only couple there looked after well one thing was charged service charge would have given my own tip staff excellant the two staff that waited on us were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bonzo186460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton - England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Had an overnight stay 3rd March with the Groupon Deal. We upgraded and stayed in room 4. The room was beautiful with a four poster bed!!!, the bathroom was spotless with lovely fluffy white towels. Bath robes and towelling slippers were provided, but as only overnight stay did not bother to use them. The staff were very very polite and nothing was too much trouble for them. The taster menu was delicious, with some lovely touches with hand made chocolates with our coffee.
We opted for the cooked breakfast and was not disappointed. We understand that the hotel is being refurnished and everywhere was extremely clean and bright and would make a beautiful wedding venue. We would not hesitate to go again even without the Groupon deal. Thanks must go to the Manager who gave us a little talk about the history of The Manor as we found it really interesting.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsC402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

Had an overnight stay at The Manor. Very easy to get to, just a couple of miles from the M40 and A34. Driving up to the Manor, the driveway is beautiful, and the Manor itself is absolutely enchanting. Staff are all extremely professional and at the same time very friendly, and service was therefore spot on. The hotel is undergoing refurbishment. However all rooms that we accessed were stunning, really beautiful. Food was excellent. All in all - to be highly recommended, which we have done already.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandCW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Just had an overnight stay at The Manor - good staff, warm welcome, excellent food and a very nice, realxing atmosphere. We stayed on the Groupon deal with the really enjoyable tasting menu - would agree with earlier comments about the lovely mackerel and beetroot! - in all a well thought out and executed meal.
A couple of suggestions to the Manor - when it says bath robes are provided if would be nice if they were - and a tea/coffee tray in the room would really be expected for this level of hotel.
In response to earlier comments we stayed in the "wet room" (room 28 in the coach house) and had no problems with the bathroom at all (note to the Manor staff - the seal in the shower head needs replacing as you cannot switch from hand shower to overhead shower without them both being on at the same time.
Would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break with excellent food and service.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked for the valentines day meal this year. We had complimentary champagne on arrival, the set fine dining menu was perfect. Due to some food allergies I had to change one of the dishes, but this was no problem at all.

All in all, beautiful surroundings, great food, great service. We will definitely be going back.

I was even given a single rose as I left...nice touch

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hollie_Williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,622 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.7 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
3.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing