We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chalk and Cheese” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chalk and Cheese”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

A family dinner and stay for six people from 21 to 86. First the excellent Saturday night dinner was ranked very highly by everybody. The meal was first class (Michelin) restaurant standard and worth the trip and the £50 meal price.

Then there is the hotel itself with a number minor and easily fixed faults, they clearly struggle with systems and training of some of the staff. When we booked the hotel was shown as full all year both on their own website and on all the consolidators (booking.com etc;) My sister in law tried to make a booking by phone and ran into a very unhelpful receptionist who eventually asked for full payment then for 5 rooms and dinner three months in advance. I phoned and had a very helpful receptionist and did not even have to leave a cc number. On leaving neither of the cc machines was working leading to a struggle to pay and leave.

The rooms were warm and comfortable although one was missing a bath plug and the water pressure was so low the hand held shower dribbled.

Breakfast was un unmanned precooked on serving trays affair with no staff on hand to try and get gluten free bread, as the only people in breakfast the food was soon tired and not refreshed.

The big problem in all of this is that the cheapest single room is £215 which is much more expensive than almost all first class Oxfordshire hotels except Le Manoir which is in a different class.

If the price was £120 I could recommend the hotel but with so many faults that even a Holiday Inn can solve I say dine here but stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianBoruLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, and we were delighted to read that you enjoyed your dinner.

We have noted your further comments and apologise for any misunderstanding which may have arisen when your sister-in-law initially contacted us to book several bedrooms. Our normal practice as is common with many other hotels, is to request a deposit for rooms booked several weeks in advance. For rooms booked only a few days in advance, we require full payment. We are sorry for the delay you encountered on departure due to intermittant technical issues we have been experiencing over the last few days with our PDQ machines, and this is currently being attended to.

When the hotel is particularly busy, we offer our guests a hot breakfast buffet. Our Restaurant team are on duty for breakfast service from 06.30 hours, and we fail to understand your comment regarding there being no staff available. We have focussed the attention of the Food & Beverage Manager and the staff on duty last Sunday, as this is most unusual.

We do hope that you may visit us again in the future, when I would welcome you contacting me directly at brian.garside@themanorweston.co.uk so that I may personally oversee your reservation.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    248
    163
    89
    41
    36
See reviews for
79
313
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Serbian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel. The staff are excellent and very helpful. Larry the chef is fantastic. Our meal was superb. Couldn't fault this place - it's a must visit.
We stayed in the coach house which has recently been refurbished. Excellent. If you want to treat yourself I can definitely recommend this hotel. Look out for larry on the TV next year - he's going to be the next James Martin :-)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank dan n tina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
We enjoyed reading your comments and viewing your pictures of the kitchen brigade! Thank you very much for your positive feedback and we do hope that we may have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

I ate here thursday night with my family and the meal we had was absolutley fantastic. We've eaten at many nice restaurants before and I must say this was up there with the best of many Michelin star establishments. We had the tasting menu, always advisable at restaurants of this caliber and it was great. No faults what so ever. The staff were friendly and very helpful to.
We will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your very kind feedback which I was delighted to share with the team, and is much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor very soon.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Wow! Ok so we chose the sunniest day of the year but that only added to a fabulous afternoon with tea on the terrace. Great selection of tea (& coffee), some gorgeous sandwiches, but it was the cakes that stole the show! The lemon drizzle was amazing and the chocolate filled macaroon was the tastiest thing I've had in a long while. We just had to add champagne and that too was perfectly chilled and delicious. We honestly didn't want it to finish.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morganic64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review, and we were delighted that you enjoyed afternoon tea on the terrace in the Spring sunshine. Dan, our Pastry Chef, produces some magnificent cakes and pastries and your comments serve as a wonderful morale boost!

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

From the moment we entered The Manor we were made to feel at ease by Amy on reception. Our room, number 1, on the first floor, was bright and airy. All the linen was fresh and white and the bed very comfortable. Bottled water in the room is replenished daily. The service at dinner was excellent as were the breakfast waiting staff. I have to give 5*s to the breakfast chef who makes the mouth-watering Potato Rosti and the perfect poached eggs. What we were not so happy about was the tea-making set-up in our room. The equipment is on a tray in a cupboard nowhere near a suitable area to plug in the kettle and, although the room and bathroom are nicely decorated some attention needs to be given to the cupboard doors.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front overlooking the attractive entrance, the car park and, in the adjacent fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmaggieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Thank you for your kind comments which have been conveyed to all the team, and particularly highlighting Amy in Reception and the breakfast waiting staff.

We have noted the points you raise regarding the positioning of the hospitality tray and the cupboard doors, and our Head Housekeeper and Maintenance Manager have now focussed their attention on these. We very much appreciate your feedback in this regard.

We look forward to being of service to you again on another occasion.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We had a wonderful lunch at The Manor today. The staff were attentive and the food superb. The faclities and overall experience blended the period features of the manor with modern day requirements. This was a truely delightful experince rounded off with a walk in the beautiful gardens

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Philip H

We were delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent Birthday lunch, and we look forward to welcoming you back on a future date!

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nth yorkshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

We visited this beautiful hotel for afternoon tea to celebrate my sister's birthday. We were greeted politely by the waitress and shown to our table. We had booked for 3 and while she had believed the booking was for 2, she quickly and without fuss laid an extra place at our table.
The choice of teas was extensive, and arrived in a beautiful teapot, which we felt added to the decadence of afternoon tea. The bread of our sandwiches did appear a little thick, but the fillings were good.
The scones (1 fruit and 1 plain) were beautifully light, and arrived warm with jam and cream. Our cakes were excellent, we enjoyed a chocolate filled pistachio macaroon, a lovely moist orange cake with crystallised fruit on top and a choux with fresh cream and lime filling.
The restaurant staff were attentive but not intrusive and background music was added half way through our tea.
Overall, a very enjoyable, relaxed and special birthday treat.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrianGarside2013, General Manager at The Manor, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Sue W

Your kind comments are very much appreciated, and we are delighted that you enjoyed your recent afternoon tea at The Manor to celebrate your sister’s birthday.

Our team pride themselves on offering discreet, professional service in support of the highest quality freshly cooked food and positive feedback from our guests serves as a wonderful morale boost - thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Manor on future occasion.

Brian Garside
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Weston on the Green
5.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
10.3 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
9.4 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Premier Inn Bicester Hotel
7.5 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bignell Park Hotel
Bignell Park Hotel
#1 of 2 in Chesterton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor

Property: The Manor
Address: The Moat Northampton Road, Weston on the Green OX25 3QL, England (Formerly Weston Manor)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Weston on the Green
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Weston on the Green
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in 12 tranquil acres of Oxfordshire countryside on the edge of the Cotswolds, The Manor is the quintessential country house with award-winning cuisine, stunning bedrooms, outdoor swimming pool, tennis courts, meeting rooms and roaring fires. The Manor experience offers the perfect environment for an idyllic leisure break, a family stay, a business visit, as well as a variety of events, celebrations, weddings, private parties, residential meetings or team building. Located just 2 miles from Junction 9 of the M40 off the A34, close to Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace, discover your very own Oxfordshire escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Manor Hotel Weston On The Green
Weston Manor Oxford
Weston Manor Hotel Oxford
The Manor Weston On The Green, Oxfordshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing