We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, great location, great service! ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Moorings Bistro

Moorings Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Welsh, British, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, View, Kids
Dining options: Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Overlooking the beautiful and tranquil bay of Borth-y-Gest, the Mooring's Bistro team welcomes you in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Offering an inventive menu, prepared with the freshest local ingredients available, the restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition to the cosy fireplace inside, our heated terrace allows you to make the most of the stunning views, even in the winter. . Please check opening hours. Bookings recommended but not necessary.
Wirral
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great location, great service! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

Ate here twice on our visit to Borth Y Gest, once for breakfast, once for lunch. Food was great both times, sat on the patio overlooking the beautiful beach/harbour on a warm day. Very personable and friendly staff.

Helpful?
Thank satis1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    235
    61
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely little gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful views of the harbour, tasty food and friendly service. I miss the evening dining as the food on the menu was stunning and it was a great place for dinner and a nice bottle of wine, but the lunch options are good and it's family friendly. Definitely worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank suziefrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely food, friendly staff but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We've had lunch here several times. The venue is great overlooking the harbour. The staff are welcoming and attentive. The food is generally pretty good. However, each time they make a small error. This time there was no bacon in the club sandwich and it took two goes to get the drinks. Recommend the experience all the same!

Helpful?
Thank NJEDB10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Lovely Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

We have visited this restaurant twice now in the past week. Once with my wife and once with 4 generations of our family. On both occasions the food was excellent, the service excellent and all very good value for money.

Both visits were at lunchtime. Nice friendly welcome from the staff . It can get crowded very , but they do take bookings . We sat on the terrace as we had the dog with us, but they turned on the overhead heaters both times, which really throw out heat. Even my 87 year old mum was warm enough.
Thank You

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dylan3spot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Been here twice now...!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

I have visited this restaurant twice now in the last week. Once with my wife and once with her and my 87 year old mother. On both occasions the food was excellent, the service exemplary and the value for money terrific.

Each time we visited was at lunchtime. The welcome from the staff was superb and on both occasions we were directed straight to a table. It can get crowded very quickly so be warned, but they do take bookings and I noticed one group happily accept a thirty minute wait.

The menu is varied and reasonably priced.

An excellent little gem of a restaurant.

Will definitely be visiting again soon. Seek it out, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoddardPN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorings Bistro also viewed

Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Tremadog, Gwynedd
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Moorings Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing