We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place you want to return, time and time again”
Review of Moorings Bistro

Moorings Bistro
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Overlooking the beautiful and tranquil bay of Borth-y-Gest, the Mooring's Bistro team welcomes you in a friendly and relaxed atmosphere. Offering an inventive menu, prepared with the freshest local ingredients available, the restaurant is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. In addition to the cosy fireplace inside, our heated terrace allows you to make the most of the stunning views, even in the winter. . Please check opening hours. Bookings recommended but not necessary. Lunch served from 11 am to 2pm. Dinner from 5.30 pm to 9pm. Breakfast 9.30 am to 11 am week-ends only
North Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A place you want to return, time and time again”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This chic restaurant is definitely worth a visit, it takes more than just good food to make a meal out a pleasant experience, smiling faces and a warm welcome as you enter, nothing too much trouble. Went on two occasions while visiting the area, sirloin steak for the evening meal on my first visit & full English breakfast on my second visit, both times having excellent food & service, can't wait to return.The Moorings is getting quite a reputation for the place to eat where you get quality food at reasonable prices, lets face it that is what we all want, therefore pre book otherwise you could be disappointed

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    64
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Went for dinner on my daughters birthday - had fantastic food with excellent service. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. A good menu with the right balance of choice inc the kids menu.
Enjoyed it so much we returned two days later for the full Welsh breakfast.
Definitely a place to return to.
Recommend booking your table in advance as it has become a very popular venue...

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a location.”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

What an absolutely cracking location. Right opposite the harbour with views over and beyond. Went here for lunch on our way home from Harlech, and given there are only two places to eat there, you could easily think they were competing with several eateries. The food was delicious and the service impeccable. The chicken Caesar salad I had was a decent size with plenty of chicken and some ham thrown in for good measure. The hand cut chips were a perfect accompaniment. A simple thing they do is offer table water that has obviously been chilled in the fridge for quite some time, and serve it out of sealable bottles. Simple idea but appreciated, especially on a hot day. All in all great a great little place.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Braintree, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Only got to enjoy late evening sun on the terrace with drinks after time on the beach and a coastal walk. Lovely atmosphere, serene, relaxed. Terrace is dog friendly. Pity we could not get an evening booking....dinner menu looked appetising. All in all, very "grown up" and stylish.

Helpful?
Thank AmeliaJSWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely restaurant overlooking the bay at Borth-y-gest where we had a great Sunday lunch with family and friends.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Chris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moorings Bistro also viewed

Tremadog, Porthmadog
 
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 
Borth-y-Gest, Gwynedd
Porthmadog, Gwynedd
 

Been to Moorings Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing