We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Lovely private cabin”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
86 reviews | other travellers have booked this property
Cabin 3 Bedrooms 2 Bathrooms Sleeps 6 Pets not allowed Save
Upstairs Balcony Off Master Bedroom
View from Upstairs Balcony
Front Porch with swinging chair
Covered Patio
Side view with wooded area to the front
Side View with covered patio area to the rear
Clover Cabin
Childrens play area
Childrens Tree House
Master Bedroom with Adjoining Balcony
Adjoining the Master Bedroom is a kids room 2 x 70cm x 160cm Beds
Double Room Downstairs
Fully Stocked Kitchen
Bathroom Adjoining the Kids Bedroom
Counter Bar and Log Fire
Living Area
Extendable Dining Table Sits 6
Large sand/beach area down at the pond
Winter At the Cabin
Cabin at night
Floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Reviews from our community

Reviews from our community

5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tanith201...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
Lovely private cabin

We had a lovely week at clover cabin with 3 kids under 7yrs
Scones and essentials on arrival. There was tea and coffee and a lovely bottle of local apple juice too.
The kitchen was well equipped, there were plenty of towels, the place was spotless.
The photos make the place look a lot smaller than it is!

We had fab weather for our week but managed to 'need' the log burner one night which was so cosy and all the fuel etc was provided. Even if it had rained the back patio area was fully covered and tiled floor which would have meant the kids could still go out and play.

The front porch with the swing and rocking chair were just like a scene from a movie :)
The place was quiet and the little village shop had anything we needed

We visited Kilkenny and Waterford City as well as Jerpoint Abbey, Kells Priory, Gowran Church, Kilkenny Castle, as well as the local Reptile Zoo. There were lots of places I would have visited if we had been there longer.

The kids loved the swings and play houses in the garden but one was a bit dangerous for my youngest two just because it was high with a firemans pole at the top, my girls needed supervision on this one but my son (7) was fine, he loved it.

The stairs in the cabin were steep for my youngest two (3 and 5-low muscle tone) there was a stair gate at the top but they could easily open it and both girls fell down the last few steps even with me coming behind them so I needed to make sure they were being very careful.
The door locks opened easily from the inside, and I have one child who wanders at night so I had to make sure they couldn't get access to the upstairs balcony or get downstairs at night time. There was no safety lock or key lock for my piece of mind.

That said, it was a fab cabin and if you are staying with older kids or none at all then it's not an issue.

We met both Fergal and Annette briefly on our visit and they were lovely people, their boys even called round one evening to play with my son.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
5 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jul 2014
Thank you very much for your kind informative review. These are very valid points about access outside small children may have as indeed the stairs. We embrace constructive remarks and shall address these immediately . Thanks again ,Fergal and Annette.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
you simply have to stay here!
2
people found this review helpful

My husband says I have 'high standards' after years of luxury hotel breaks so when he suggested a self catering family holiday in a log cabin for the two of us and our 2 & 4 year old boys, he was a little wary as to how it would pan out! Little did he know that he had just booked the holiday of our lives! I cannot fault Clover Cabin. We met both Fergal and Annette during our stay and they are such nice down to earth people. The cabin itself is simply amazing! It is unusual to find a place to stay that caters perectly for both adults and children but Clover Cabin does just that. Our boys didn't stop for a second during the days making use of the fantastic tree house, swings, slides etc not to mention the mini beach! When it came to bed time they were so exhausted that they slept like 'logs' in their perfectly laid out room complete with blackout blinds. This is when we put the feet up with a glass (or two!) of wine and I can safely say I have never felt more relaxed. The cabin is both rustic & luxurious at the same time. Fergal & Annette have thought of everything, just when you think 'I could do with a ..........' you open a drawer and there it is! The cabin is approx 10 minute drive to Kilkenny city which has so much to offer but there is also the local village of Gowran where you can pick up everything you need in the Quick Pick store where the lady even has the cúpla focal much to my Irish speaking husbands delight! I recommend Glasraí & Goodies, a gorgeous local shop selling delicious local artisan treats! We were very fortunate with the weather during our week long stay but I can imagine Clover Cabin being suitable for all weather conditions with indoor games provided and the tv/dvd to keep you entertained. I will definitely be returning again and I highly recommend it to anyone with or without children. Thank you Fergal & Annette.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2014
thanks you so much for your review
we are delighted you had such a great time at the cabin
looking forward to welcoming you back in the future
Fergal & Annette
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gkarberg
Warner Robins, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
The BEST place to stay in Ireland

We had a great stay, the place is beautiful and is perfect for families or a couple. Kilkenny has so much to do, but we traveled away from the cabin, you can be in Wicklow in 1 1/2 hours or Waterford in an hour. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. We usually ate breakfast and dinner in the cabin. The owners are wonderful people and take care of everything. If you want a peaceful, beautiful place to stay this is it. We will be back.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: We liked everything.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
We really are very flattered by your comment the best place in ireland , i,m sure your correct! Thank you so much and looking forward to greeting you and your pleasant family again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Channy201...
Ballymoney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Home from Home experience!

This place is so lovely! And we met Fergal who was so friendly and gave us milk and scones and wood for the fire! We stayed here 4 nights and went to Kilkenny for the day! It is truly unique and we will be back! Thank you :)

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
3 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Jun 2014
We are very pleased you felt at home in the cabin, it makes our work worthwhile . Thank you for your great review and hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susie C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
A tranquil get away.
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you Fergal & Annette for a relaxing weekend. We arrived on Friday evening with 2 very excited girls. The log fire was blazing away & a lovely basket of freshly baked scones were just waiting to be devoured . Fergal gave us the run down of how everything worked which was all very easy. We all got settled in, girls off to bed, wine open feet up. We even skyped some relation in Australia to show them round! Wifi a big plus. The girls were up early the next morning, listening to fantastic bird song, they then headed out to have great fun in the playground, tree house & sand pit, all within eyeshot of the cabin. 3 days of just pure bliss, highly recommend.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The peace
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2014
Thank you so much for a really kind review, it was a pleasure to have you and your family as guests.
Hope to see ye all again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olly K
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Beautiful comfortable cabin, great location
1
person found this review helpful

The cabin itself is just beautifully made and maintained. It's very comfortable inside, lovely fixtures & fittings. Was ideal for just a couple, but would be lovely with one or two kids also.

The kitchen is perfectly equipped. The wood burning stove is very simple to use and really does heat the whole cabin. Bathroom, shower etc are lovely. It is cosy inside, the dining table isn't that big, But it was perfect for the two of us.

The grounds are delightful. There are wonderful areas for kids and it seemed very safe. The pond is a good distance from the cabin and any other water is fenced off.

I can also recommend the Chinese takeaway in Gowran! There is tea, coffee, sugar and some other bits there when you arrive. But no milk/bread. So you'd be best to bring some. We arrived late (about 9pm), the shop in Gowran was closed so make sure you have a few essentials with you.

There is WiFi in the cabin, which was a lovely surprise.

We would certainly return.

Directions are grand, but could do with a sign when you get in the gate as it was dark and we weren't sure to go left or right in the gate - v. minor issue I know!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Comfort of the cabin
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a pleasure having you to stay.A sign is a great idea after coming in the entrance, we will have to take care of that. Looking forward to seeing you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gar_w
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
Great stay

We stayed in the Clover Cabin for 2 nights, March 20th-22nd. We found the cabin to be very comfortable and inviting. The stove was already lightening when we arrived and a basket of welcoming scones were on the counter top which was a very nice touch. As the weather was pretty poor during our stay we didn't get to enjoy much of the outdoor facilities which during the summer would be great for small kids, the playground, soccer goal, pond and the covered outdoor area for barbeques, complete with outdoor sound system and toilets. We travelled as a group of 5, my parents in law, our 1 year old daughter, my wife and myself and thoroughly enjoyed the stay. The only drawback I found and the reason for not giving the cabin the full 5 stars was that to access the toilet upstairs you have to go through the babies \ children's bedroom and for us it was not worth the risk of waking the baby during the night, so we had to use the toilet down stairs, other than that I could not fault the place and will without doubt return before the year is out.

4 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Apr 2014
Thank you for a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$172
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.