We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A warm welcome beckons”
Review of Frondirion

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Frondirion
Ranked #1 of 2 Llanfair B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cardigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A warm welcome beckons”
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Bethan and Mike, who were good company and couldn't have been any more friendly. We were plied with home made biscuits and cake throughout our stay, couldn't remember having a better breakfast, the room was spot on, and we had our own lounge with roaring log fire. It was all good, and a lovely part of the world as well. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
41
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We really are echoing the views of the previous guests in the praise we have for the hosts and accomodation at Frondirion Bed and Breakfast. After a long journey the tea, cake and warming fire was extremely welcome! Mike and Bethan are excellent convivial hosts, finding a balance between being informative about the local area and providing a relaxed and very comfortable base, they suggested we walk to Harlech along the old road, visit the castle and then walk back to the B&B along the beach. This was a lovely suggestion and later the same day we visited the waterfalls at Llanbedr which are absolutely beautiful. Bethan and Mike's breakfasts will probably become legendary! So much choice, all perfectly presented; homemade bread and preserves, stewed fruit, porridge, full english cooked breakfast...definitely needed the walk afterwards. This was our two day retreat from a busy schedule and is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We had a lovely stay at Frondirion. The hosts were very welcoming and couldn't have done any more for us. We had tea and home made cake when we arrived. The breakfasts were delicious, with a variety of home made jams to sample. The room was spacious, with everything we needed. We hope to visit again soon.

Room Tip: There are only 2 rooms. The front room has a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CazCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

Frondirion couldn't be a better B&B, all the normal problems with B&B accommodation are not a problem here. Beth & Mike are lovely and make you feel very relaxed and at home, the bedrooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is delicious. On top of that there is a TV room for guests so you can relax during the day. I would def stay here next time I visit Harlech, no question.

Room Tip: There are two rooms, one double and one twin, both ensuite and both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PVB1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2012

A wonderful experience from start to finish. Our room was beautifully decorated and immaculate, the service was second to none and the homemade biscuits in the bedroom were delicious. We can't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hashbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My partner and I stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and had an amazing time.
From the time we arrived till we left, we truly felt at home. From the comfortable room, to the delicious home-cooked breakfast (with organic food and homemade jams) it was the best B&B I've stayed in.
Beth and Mike went out of their way to assist us in activities in the area, providing books and personal experience to give us some ideas on how to fill in the day and experience what the lovely countryside as to offer.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Callumvh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

This is this best B and B we have ever stayed in! Despite my husband being really ill we enjoyed our time here so much. Mike and Beth were so kind and helpful. It was more like staying with nice family friends than anything else. The bedrooms are comfortable and spacious, the bathrooms are clean and wonderful. The cooked breakfast was AMAZING!! Thank you Mike and Beth for such a wonderful experience!!! Will definitely be coming back... hopefully this time Jamie will be well!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nese D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanfair
0.9 mi away
Y Branwen Hotel
Y Branwen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Harlech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Portmeirion
Hotel Portmeirion
#1 of 1 in Penrhyndeudraeth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ty Mawr Hotel
Ty Mawr Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanbedr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Royal Sportsman Hotel
Royal Sportsman Hotel
#2 of 2 in Porthmadog
4.0 of 5 bubbles 667 reviews
7.2 mi away
Caerwylan Hotel
Caerwylan Hotel
#1 of 6 in Criccieth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.0 mi away
Maelgwyn House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frondirion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frondirion

Property: Frondirion
Address: Frondirion Ffordd Uwchglan, Llanfair, Snowdonia National Park, Harlech LL46 2RW, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Harlech > Llanfair
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Llanfair
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for comfortable rooms with sea views, good home cooking and a warm welcome then Frondirion, nestling between the mountains of Snowdonia and the beaches of Tremadog Bay, close to the historic town of Harlech, is the place for you. For many of our guests one of the delights of their visit has been the full Welsh breakfast complemented by jams, preserves, marmalade (all homemade by Beth), Fair Trade teas and coffees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Frondirion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frondirion Llanfair, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing